Government documents - HIST 208D – Historical Research and Methods Seminar: Nationalism, Conflict, and Sectarianism: 20th Century Middle East History - Research Guides at University of Maryland Libraries

Background

The University of Maryland Libraries contains many U.S. government publications (generally called government documents) in its Government Documents collection, located on the fourth floor of McKeldin Library. Government documents from the mid-1990's on are listed in the Catalog.

Evaluating Sources

When using ANY resource, it is essential to perform an evaluation of its verity and use. Use the resource below from Purdue OWL to guide your evaluation process.

Evaluating Sources
Guidelines for evaluating the verity of sources and the sources use in your research process.

Government Resources

Congressional Record
Offical record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress, published daily when Congress is in session. 1995-present.

Department of State Bulletin (1939-1989)
Government Documents SU Docs S 1.3
Weekly Department of State publication on foreign policy. Use the index at the end of each volume to locate material by year.
Foreign Relations of the United States (1861-1960)
Government Documents Reference S 1.1
Department of State publication containing documents relating to U.S. foreign policy, including items from the President, Departments of State and Defense, CIA, and other foreign affairs agencies. Organized by year through 1932, then by area of the world for a range of years (e.g. The Soviet Union 1933-1939) or by specific event (e.g. The Conference at Malta and Yalta)
Foreign Relations of the United States (1945 - 1972)
Government Documents Reference S 1.1
Department of State publication containing documents relating to U.S. foreign policy, including items from the President, Departments of State and Defense, CIA, and other foreign affairs agencies. Organized by year through 1932, then by area of the world for a range of years (e.g. The Soviet Union 1933-1939) or by specific event (e.g. The Conference at Malta and Yalta)

Congressional Publications
Access to the full text of congressional publications. Includes: hearings, legislative histories, committee prints and reports, House and Senate documents, Congressional Record, Serial Set, CRS Reports, bills, public laws, regulations...
Full-text and older documents on microfiche located in the Government Documents Computer Room in McKeldin using the CIS numer (CIS-No) listed in the database record.

Public Papers of the President
Government Documents Reference GS 4.113 and E 806.R749 (for FDR)
Select papers and speeches of the President of the United States.
Library of Congress Microform Reading Room
Books, pamphlets, periodicals, manuscripts, dissertations, dramatic works, government documents, etc.-- but also in date, place of publication, language, and subject matter. A number of these items duplicate items in the Library's print collections; however most are available only in microform. A portion of the microform holdings are located off-site and may require a day or more to be available for use in the reading room.
Government Documents & SU Docs
Search GovDocs Microfiche and SUDocs using the following call number: PREX 7.10
For GovDocs Microfilm use call number: Government Documents AS36.U

Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) Reports, 1957-1995
Translations of foreign news broadcast. Available digitally through Readex.
World News Connection
Translations of foreign news from non-US media sources. Coverage is from November 1995 - December 31, 2013. Coverage: 2006 - current

Government Documents Collection at UMD
UMD is a Federal Depository of U.S. Government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law. (Title 44 United States Code).
FBIS & JPRS Indexes
Search call number range: Government Documents Reference AS 36.R49-DT 348.D353
U.S. government translations of foreign broadcasts, news agency transmissions, and some periodical and newspaper articles. JPRS's early years concentrate on scientific and technical material. FBIS and JPRS joined as World News Collection in 1995. No FBIS indexes exist prior to 1974, earlier years must be searched by area of the world and then by date.
Foreign Broadcasting Information Service (FBIS) (1941- present)
Translation of foreign news broadcasts.