The Katherine Anne Porter Library contains Porter's personal library, numbering 3,800 titles. It includes copies of first editions of all her works, as well as variant and foreign language editions. There are also copies of works inscribed to her by friends and fellow writers. Most of the library was donated to the University of Maryland by Miss Porter between 1966 and 1969, along with a large portion of her personal papers and items of memorabilia. Porter's library is primarily housed in the Katherine Anne Porter Room of Hornbake Library
Katherine Anne Porter Library is especially valuable because of the extensive annotations in the books by Katherine Anne Porter. In them, Porter often underlined passages and wrote candid and revealing comments that document influences on her work as well as her opinions on literary and other topics.
A listing of items in the Katherine Anne Porter Library can be seen by visiting the University of Maryland Libraries' online catalog, clicking the "Advanced Search" link, and then limiting a search by "Marylandia and Rare Books --KA Porter" from the "Location" pull-down menu. Click on "Search" to get the listing.
Items in the Katherine Anne Porter Library are non-circulating. Researchers may view books from the collection in the Maryland Room on the first floor of Hornbake Library North. Email Special Collections for more information or visit the Maryland Room to speak with a librarian.
Use the University of Maryland classic catalog to search for titles in the rare book collection by date of publication, author, or keyword. Select Advanced Search and select Marylandia and Rare Books to search for works housed in Special Collections and University Archives.
Contact us with any questions about locating books in Special Collections and University Archives at the University of Maryland.
All rare books can be requested online and viewed in the Maryland Room, located in Hornbake Library at the University of Maryland College Park.
