Research Guides: Art Education: Database & Journal Finder

Database and Journal Finder - Art Education

Why Use Databases?

Databases are subscription resources that bring articles from a variety of magazines and/or journals into one place with a sophisticated search engine. Many of the databases allow you to read the entire article online. All databases that UMD Libraries subscribe to can be accessed through Database Finder.

Library Databases vs Search Engines

Click on the video below to watch a tutorial on the differences between a subscription-based library database and a free search engine. It explains when and how to use each.

What if there is no full-text for the item I want? Try:

Request article from another library

Watch these short video tutorials to learn how to search the databases UMD offers.

EBSCO:	ProQuest
Introduction to Ebsco Basic Searching Advanced Searching Using the APA Thesaurus Ebooks in Ebsco Using your folder	Proquest Tutorials Youtube Basic Searching Advanced Searching Using the Thesaurus Ebrary (Ebooks) Search Results

You can also search multiple databases at once!

EBSCOhost and ProQuest are platforms that house approximately 60 to 75 databases. In order to get the best search results you should select the databases you need (i.e. if your subject is "education" you would limit your search to education databases) . To do this go to the top of the database homepage and look for the terms All databases, Change databases, or Choose databases. See examples below.

For ProQuest:

For EBSCOhost:

What if there is no full text?

Don't panic! You have a few options:

1st Option:
Use journal finder to search for the journal.
2nd Option: Request article from another library
Use Inter Library Loan to request the article using the instructions at this link.

Education in the News

Newspapers serve as important primary sources, providing opinions, summaries, and details regarding changes in education and education policy. UMD provides students with access to a number of newspaper archives that cover topics including No Child Left Behind, bilingual education, disability services in schools, integration/bussing, TESOL in the US and abroad, and many more.

How to Search Only News Sources with NexisUni

NexisUni is a fantastic research tool that lets you search a huge body of documents including news, legislation, and many other materials dealing with legal processes. If you are specifically searching for news sources, you have the option to filter NexisUni's results by type of document. You do this by visiting NexisUni, and selecting the News option before you search.

To the right is a guide to selecting source type
when you search on NexisUni, and you can find
many more tutorials here:

Tools to Aggregate and Compare Viewpoints

CQ Researcher
Full-text database that provides comprehensive analysis of each topic, including history and background information, relevant pro & con arguments, current status, bibliographies, contact information, and outlooks on upcoming "hot topics" in current events. Covers news topics in a wide range of subject fields, from social issues to the environment, health, education, politics, and science and technology. Online access to issues dating back to 1923
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Fulltext database covering social issues with topic overviews and pro/con viewpoints. Sources include news, journal articles, magazines, media, maps, websites and statistics.

Historical Newspaper Archives

Find all pre-1990 newspapers accessible through UMD's Database Finder right here.

Historical Black Newspapers
Once in ProQuest click on Databases link at top; click on Select all to de-select the entire list of databases; scroll down to ProQquest Historical Newspapers and select the titles of interest; return to top and click on Use selected databases.

Online full-text of: Chicago Defender (1909-1975); New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002); Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005); Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991); Norfolk Journal & Guide (1921-2003); Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001).
Historical newspapers
Searchable full-text of the Los Angeles Times (1881-1986); Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945); Chicago Tribune (1849-1986); Chicago Defender (1909-1975); Boston Globe (1872-1979); Christian Science Monitor (1908-2001); Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991); Detroit Free Press (1831-1922); St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-1922); Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005); Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002); San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922); New York Tribune (1841-1922); New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993); Hartford Courant (1764-1984); Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003); Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988); Baltimore Sun (1837-1989); San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922); Wall Street Journal (1889-1997); Washington Post (1877-1998)
Independent Voices
Independent Voices is a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
New York Tribune (1841-1922)
The New York Tribune (1841-1922) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922)
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Nation Digital Archive
The Nation is America's oldest weekly magazine and one if its premier journals of opinion since its inception in 1865. The Nation has long bee regarded as one of the country's definitive journalistic voices of writing on politics, culture, books and the arts and continues to stand as the independent voice in American journalism. This database contains indexing & abstracting and full text for the complete archive of The Nation beginning with its first issue in 1865 through to the present.
Times Digital Archive
The Times Digital Archive provides convenient access to an extraordinary library of back issues of this renowned newspaper online. By taking the microfilm collection of The Times (London) and producing a high-resolution digital format with searchable images, The Times Digital Archive represents unprecedented access to one of the most highly regarded resources for the study of 18th century history and onward.

Modern Newspapers (current coverage and recent history archives)

Find all newspapers from 1990 forward accessible through UMD's Database Finder right here.

Baltimore Sun (1990 to present)
Provides citations, abstracts and full-text articles from the newspaper. Coverage of local and state news for Baltimore and Maryland. Full-text: September, 1990--present
Christian Science Monitor
Provides citations, abstracts and full-text articles from the newspaper. A source of national and international news and analysis, particularly news of developing countries. Sep 30, 1988 (Volume 80, Issue 215) - current. Not Available: Nov 7, 1990 - Mar 20, 1992. Full-text: Sep 30, 1988 (Volume 80, Issue 215) - current.
CQ Magazine
Weekly congressional news and analysis. Full text available from 1983 -- present. All the major policy issues confronting the U.S. Congress: Defense, Economy & Taxes, the Environment, Foreign Policy, Health, Education, and Welfare, Crime, etc.
Independent Voices
Independent Voices is a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
New York Times 1980 - (ProQuest)
Comprehensive digital coverage back to 1980.
Wall Street Journal
Provides citations, abstracts and full-text articles from the newspaper. A financial newspaper with in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as political news. Full-text: January, 1984--present

Education and the Law

Education research often involves legal and governmental documents, including Supreme Court cases like Brown v. Board of Education, educational policy decisions like No Child Left Behind, congressional debates over public school curricula, and more. UMD students are provided access to many databases that house legislation, court rulings, and other governmental documents.

For a handy overview of how to do legal research, please see the Legal Research guide provided by Celina McDonald, subject specialist in Law for the UMD libraries.

HeinOnline Legal
Full-text access to over 1100 law journals; U.S. treaties; the Federal Register and Code of Federal Regulations; U.S. Reports; U.S. Code; U.S. Statutes at Large; U.S. Attorney General Opinions; Public Papers of the President and Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents; and hundred of books considered to be legal classics.
HeinOnline U.S. Supreme Court Library
Full-text access to cases published in /U.S. Reports/ volumes 1 to 540 (1754 to 2003), as well as more recent slip opinions. Includes /U.S. Reports Preliminary Prints/ volumes 535 to 543 (2002-2005), /U.S. Reports Slip Opinions /(2002 - ), several historical texts on the Supreme Court, plus the periodicals /Supreme Court Economic Review /(1982-2000) and /Supreme Court Review /(1960-2000) PDF printing requires Adobe Acrobat Reader 5.0 or later.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides fulltext to news, business and legal information. Newspapers date back to the 1970's. Please Note: The Washington Post is no longer included in Nexis Uni.The National Newspapers Core database includes the Washington Post.
Congressional Publications
Access to the full text of congressional publications. Includes: hearings, legislative histories, committee prints and reports, House and Senate documents, Congressional Record, Serial Set, CRS Reports, bills, public laws, regulations...
Congressional hearings, public issues, legislation, history, and legal research.
ProQuest Legislative Insight
Federal legislative history service providing access to full text publications created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of U.S. Public Laws. Documents include bills (all versions), legislative reports, documents, CRS reports, committee prints, speeches in the Congressional Record and presidential signing statements. Currently, Parts A, C, and D are available which include legislative histories from 1929-2014.
Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978
A comprehensive online collection of records and briefs brought before the nation's highest court by leading legal practitioners. Includes transcripts, applications for review, motions, petitions, supplements and other official papers of the most-studied and talked-about cases.

Further Resources

Google Scholar - Case Law
Another Google Scholar page, this time allowing you to research case law, i.e. previous legal decisions from cases that required a court to rule on the intention or execution of an ambiguous law. Case law is also called precedent.
Google Scholar - U.S. Courts
Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print archives, and university institutional repositories. This link takes you to a page within GS where you can search for items related to specific U.S. courts of law.
Legal Information Institute (Cornell)
Not-for-profit group that offers resources on how to read and understand their country's laws, free of any charge.
SupremeCourt.gov
The official website of the Supreme Court of the United States (SCOTUS), offering information about legal process in the U.S. and documents relevant to all SCOTUS cases.
US Courts
Official website of the United States court system, offering numerous resources for reading, interpreting, and researching legal cases and their impact on society.

Video Resources for Education

Some databases provide access to film or other media rather than articles. The videos in the databases listed below include documentaries on education, primary sources (film taken in a classroom setting), and more.

Education in Video
Online streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. More than 1,000 video titles totaling 750+ hours of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms give education students a way to observe the intricacies of behavior, tone, facial expression, and body language that define effective teaching styles.
Films on Demand Master Academic Collection
Streaming video service of almost 12,000 full length videos of high-quality educational titles. Subject sets featured are: business & economics, humanities & social sciences, science & mathematics, health & medicine. This collection also includes thousands of video clips and a collection of archival films & newsreels. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists; most videos available with closed-captioning and interactive transcripts; may be viewed through most mobile devices.
Filmakers Library Online
Filmakers Library Online is a multidisciplinary collection of well known documentaries already heavily used in humanities and social science classrooms. The coverage is topical, contemporary, and cross-disciplinary, specializing in studies of race and gender, human rights, globalization, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, and the environment. The collection includes bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. Additionally, titles in Filmakers Library Online present international points of view of both historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.

Film@UM (Education)
Films@UM consists of over 800 digital videos on a wide variety of subjects which can be used in the classroom or independently. These films are available to University of Maryland (College Park) students, faculty, and staff for viewing, either from one's computer or classroom on campus, or at home via a virtual private network (VPN). Spanning documentaries, public television programming, taped performances, and feature films, Films@UM covers many areas of interest, including Education.

Sources on Middle/High School Education

Database Finder and Journal Finder are your portals to research databases and electronic journals. Consult Database Finder for the full list of available subject databases.

Citation Finder is an additional resource to help find specific articles

Databases are subscription resources that bring articles from a variety of magazines and/or journals into one place with a sophisticated search engine. Many of the databases allow you to read the entire article online. The UMD Libraries subscribe to over 300 databases!!! The ones listed on this page are excellent for middle and high school resources.

Children's Core Collection
Children's Core Collection provides titles chosen specifically for readers from preschool through grade five. Containing over 30,000 titles, this collection covers all genres.
Fiction Core Collection
Fiction Core Collection features classic and contemporary works and provides titles for a general adult audience. The best authors and their most widely-read works in literary and popular fiction old and new are listed.

ISBNs are not part of a searchable field in this database. Do not attempt to search on authors by truncating the first name. Last, F? will often result in zero hits. Try searching on Last or Last, First..
MAS Ultra School Edition
This database contians full text for nearly 500 popular high school magazines. MAS Ultra also provides more than 350 full text reference books, 84,774 biographies, 100, 544 primary source documents and an image collection of 235, 186 photos, maps and flags. Updated daily. ISBNs are not part of a searchable field in this database. Do not attempt to search on authors by truncating the first name. Last, F? will often result in zero hits. Try searching on Last or Last, First
Middle and Junior High Core Collection
Middle and Junior High Core Collection is ideal for libraries serving readers in grades five through nine. This collection contains over 19,000 entries for nonfiction and fiction works recommended for children and adolescents.
ISBNs are not part of a searchable field in this database.
Do not attempt to search on authors by truncating the first name. Last, F? will often result in zero hits. Try searching on Last or Last, First
Senior High Core Collection
Senior High Core Collection is a selective list of fiction and non-fiction titles recommended for high school students (grades 9 through 12), along with review sources and other professional aids for librarians and school media specialists.

ISBNs are not part of a searchable field in this database.
Do not attempt to search on authors by truncating the first name. Last, F? will often result in zero hits. Try searching on Last or Last, First

Research Guides for Specific Subjects

Art Education Databases and Journals

Database Finder and Journal Finder are your portals to research databases and electronic journals.

Databases are subscription resources that bring articles from a variety of magazines and/or journals into one place with a sophisticated search engine. Many of the databases allow you to read the entire article online. Consult Database Finder for the full list of available subject databases. Remember also that with EBSCOhost and ProQuest, you can choose from a list of databases and search all of them at once.

Citation Finder is an additional resource to help find specific articles.

The UM Libraries subscribe to over 300 databases!!! The ones listed here are most useful education databases where you'll be able to find information on Art Education topics. See the Supplemental Databases tab for a fuller list of related subject databases, and visit the main Education guide for more resources.

Academic Search Ultimate Multi-disciplinary database providing information for nearly every area of academic study. Includes an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, as well as additional journals, magazines, newspapers and books. Multidisciplinary subjects including: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medicine, ethnic studies. 1965- present.
Art Abstracts A Comprehensive Resource for Art Information featuring indexing and abstracts from an international array of publications, this database is a comprehensive resource covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture and much more. Over 600 periodicals dating back to 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals Indexing and abstracts of over 13,000 art dissertations Indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions. Time span: 1984-present.
Art and Architecture Complete Provides indexing, abstracting, and/or full-text of the content, including images, of hundreds of periodicals and books in the areas of art, art history, architecture and architectural history including: archaeology, interior and landscape design, painting, sculpture, printmaking, photography, graphic arts, decorative arts, costume design and antiques. Replaces Art Abstracts (1984-present).
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) Premier source of information on modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards, and including photography. Includes citations and abstracts to English and foreign-language journal articles, books, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and reviews of books and exhibitions. Covers all aspects of modern and contemporary art from the late 19th century to the present including painting, drawing, sculpture, graphic arts, photography, performance and installation art, computer and electronic art, conservation and crafts. 1974 to the present, with some entries dating to the late 1960s.
Education Index Retrospective A bibliographic database of more than half a century of indexing from an international range of English-language periodicals. Subjects Covered: Adult Education, Arts, Athletics, Comparative Education, Continuing Education, Distance Learning, Elementary Education, Government Funding, Higher Education, Language Arts, Library Science, Literacy Standards, Multicultural/Ethnic Education, Parent-Teacher Relations, Preschool Education, Religious Education, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, Secondary Education , Special Education, Student Counseling, Teacher Education, Teacher Evaluation, Teaching Methods, Vocational Education.
Education Source Around 1,800 journals (full-text) and over 550 books and monographs in the field of Education. Access to conference papers and indexing and abstracts from thousands of journals. Book reviews and article citations (roughly 5 million).
ERIC Provides access to information from over 1000 education and education-related journals as well as a variety of non journal materials, or ERIC documents. All aspects and levels of education. 1966- present. Non-journal documents are available via microfiche; they are also online from 1993-present. The database includes an online thesaurus.
Google Scholar Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print archives, and university institutional repositories.
JSTOR Electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published from volume 1, issue 1. Please note, most journals have a “moving wall” (time lag) of three to five years between the most current issue published and content available on JSTOR. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text Indexes journals, books, essay collections, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies published worldwide in the areas of literary criticism, language, linguistics, rhetoric, and folklore of all countries. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) the database contains millions of citations as well as full text for over 1,000 journals.
Professional Development Collection The database provides a highly specialized collection of electronic information especially for professional educators. This collection offers information on everything from children's health and development to cutting-edge pedagogical theory and practice. This database contains author names with and without full first names. To find all authors with the last name 'Smith' and the first name 'Richard', you may want to search on 'Smith, Richard' OR 'Smith, R' in the Author field.
Project Muse Full text of recent issues of over 240 journals from 40 scholarly publishers. Covers the fields of literary studies, history, the visual & performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many other arts and humanities and social science disciplines. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many other arts and humanities and social science disciplines. Time span: Varies by journal. Some back to 1993, the majority from 1997 to the present.
Teacher's Reference Center The Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for over 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals to assist professional educators.

Database Finder and Journal Finder are your portals to research databases and electronic journals.

Databases are subscription resources that bring articles from a variety of magazines and/or journals into one place with a sophisticated search engine. Many of the databases allow you to read the entire article online. Consult Database Finder for the full list of available subject databases. Remember also that with EBSCOhost and ProQuest, you can choose from a list of databases and search all of them at once.

Citation Finder is an additional resource to help find specific articles.

The UMD Libraries subscribe to over 300 databases!!! Those listed here relevant to general education (but may have a broader focus) or offer art and art history resources.

Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984) An index to English and foreign-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins; indexes selected book reviews and reproductions of works of art; includes citations only. Covers all styles and periods of the fine arts, archaeology, architecture, decorative arts, advertising art, city planning, design, motion pictures, museum studies, and photography. Time span: 1929-1984.
ARTstor Repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images, from across many periods and cultures. Architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and other forms of visual culture are represented. Provides tools to actively use images for scholarship, teaching, and learning.
Bibliography of the History of Art The Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) contains abstracts and indexes of current publications in the history of art, including scholarly journals, conferences, book, exhibition reviews, and exhibition catalogues. The records consist of bibliographic citations, abstracts, and indexing; abstracts may be in English or in French, index terms (descriptors) are in both English and French. Major areas of coverage include European art from late antiquity (4th c. A.d.) to present, American art from European discoveries to present, traditional fine arts, decorative and applied arts, prints, drawing, and sculpture, folk and industrial art, archaeology, architecture and design, theater and festivals, painting and photography, performance art, aspects of material culture of interest to art historians, art reflecting western tradition in Asia, Africa, and Australia. 1975-2009; continued by International Bibliography of Art
Chicano Database An index to books and journal articles on Mexican-Americans. Records added since 1992 include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. Covers materials on Mexican-Americans. Records added since 1992 have expanded its scope to include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. The Chicano Database also includes the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, covering psychological, sociological, and educational literature. Art, bilingual education, education, health, labor, language, literature, mental health, politics and more. Coverage from the 1960s to the present, with selective coverage dating back to the early 1900s.
Chronicle of Higher Education Description: Provides news, information, advice, and job listings for college and university faculty members and administrators.
Dissertations & Theses Global This database is the an authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities. Full text is available from 1997 to the present. It also contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. It offers access to more than 90 percent of the doctoral dissertations accepted each year in North America. The database also covers thousands of dissertations and theses from around the globe. Time Span: 1861 to present.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide A primary family studies resource, Family & Society Studies Worldwide provides more than one million citations and abstracts to professional journals, books, book chapters, conference papers, theses & dissertations, websites & internet documents, selected popular literature, government reports, statistical documents, working papers, and unpublished material. This database is a compilation of 4 database files: Family & Society Studies; Australian Family & Society Abstracts; National Clearinghouse on Family Violence, Health Canada; and U.S. Military Family Resource Center Documents Database. Dates of coverage are 1970 to the present.
HathiTrust Digital Library NOTE: Download of full book PDF files may require login with University ID. A shared, growing digital repository of millions of books and periodical volumes scanned from major research libraries, including those digitized by institutional effort and by both Google and the Internet Archive. Offers full-text searching and advanced bibliographic search capabilities (such as author, title, publisher, language, etc.), and full PDF downloading of works in the public domain. One feature includes the ability to select and place items from the database into a tailor made collection that may be kept private to the user or shared publicly with others. Items that are saved to collections can be searched independently of the rest of the repository, allowing users to perform focused searches on subsets of HathiTrust materials.
ProQuest Ebook Central Ebrary is a collection of thousands of online full text books and other materials in a variety of subject areas. In order to view, copy, or print you will need to install the ebrary Reader software. Links to download the reader are available from the main page after you connect. Truncation is not supported. Searches in ISSN, ISBN, and Year are done as Text searches. All searches report 'Hits were found' rather than the number of hits. Boolean NOT and OR searches are not supported.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database with nearly 470 full text titles. This database covers information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry + psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
PsycINFO PsycINFO is the most comprehensive index in psychology and related fields, with more than 1.7 million citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters and books, technical reports, and dissertations. Its holdings include material from 1,700 periodicals in over 30 languages. Covering the entire range of psychology disciplines, PsycINFO also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as psychiatry, neuroscience, medicine, sociology, education, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. PsycINFO spans 1887 to the present. PsycINFO has links to the full-text articles in PsycARTICLES and the Psychology and in the Behavioral Sciences Collection (thus the user does not have to search each of these databases separately).
Race Relations Abstracts Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Race, Ethnicity & Education and Ethnic & Racial Studies. This resource does not contain ISBNs.
Urban Studies Abstracts Urban Studies Abstracts covers urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of relevance to the discipline of urban studies. The index contains 40,000 records from a variety of key sources, with coverage back to 1973.
Women's Studies International Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Includes journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites & Web documents, and grey literature. Coverage: Covers issues in women's studies including feminist theory and history, family, mental & physical health, prejudice & gender discrimination, law & legislation, employment etc. Time Span:1972 to present; quarterly updates.

eBook Comprehensive Academic Collection (EBSCO) Search and view the whole text of eBooks chosen specifically for academic researchers.
EBSCO eClassics Collection Search and view the whole text of eBooks from a collection of classic literature.
OpenDissertations
A&A ePortal A database of important art and architectural history scholarship from some of the world's finest publishers and museums. Users can search, read, cite, and further interact with resources found here.

Open Access Journals

In contrast to the databases and journals that the UMD libraries subscribe to, there are many academic journals who offer the full text of all or some articles for free. This pages has a few key open access journals in education. For a more comprehensive directory of open access journals visit the Directory of Open Access Journals, which provides free, full text and scholarly journals.

Nineteenth Century Art Worldwide
Peregrinations
Electronic Melbourne Art Journal (EMAJ)
Tate Papers
Review of Artistic Education

Art Education

Subject Guide

Need Help Now?

Database and Journal Finder - Art Education

Education in the News

How to Search Only News Sources with NexisUni

Tools to Aggregate and Compare Viewpoints

Historical Newspaper Archives

Modern Newspapers (current coverage and recent history archives)

Education and the Law

Further Resources

Video Resources for Education

Sources on Middle/High School Education

Research Guides for Specific Subjects

Art Education Databases and Journals

Open Access Journals