Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Researching Women's Studies in Special Collections and University Archives

A guide to the variety of primary and secondary source material available from Special Collections and University Archives at the University of Maryland Libraries to help you research topics related to women's studies.

Women's Studies in Special Collections and University Archives

Welcome to the Guide to Women's Studies Resources in Special Collections and University Archives

 

The Special Collections and University Archives at Univerity of Maryland Libraries hold a wide variety of primary and secondary source material to help you research women's studies topics. Prized collections relate to the study of female artists, authors, political leaders and organizations, and notable women affiliated with the University of Maryland.

 

        

To get started, use the tabs at the top of the page, or the links below to view:

Creating a Research Account

To request materials from Special Collections and University Archives, all researchers must create an special collections account

It is reccomended you create your special collections account prior to your visit to the Maryland Room. To create an account, register online.

With a special collections research account, you will be able to request materials from Special Collections and University Archives, the Gordon W. Prange Collection, and Special Collections in Performing Arts.  

The first time you visit the Maryland Room, you will be asked to show a valid university or government-issued photo ID.

Why do I need a special collections account?

To place a request, log into your account and use the ‘Library Resources’ link in the left-side menu to locate materials from our online catalog and finding aids.  Select ‘Request from Special Collections’ to initiate a request. If you are requesting materials from an archival collection, please select the boxes you would like to view. You will also be required to schedule the date you plan to visit the Maryland Room. 

If you would like to request a scan or photocopy of the materials instead, click the ‘Switch to Photoduplication Order’ and complete the form.  If you have any questions about the process, please contact Special Collections and University staff at askhornbake@umd.edu