Research Guides: Performer and Scholar Collections at Special Collections in Performing Arts: Scholar Collections

Scholar Collections at Special Collections in Performing Arts

Here is a list of collections of scholars' papers found in Special Collections in Performing Arts. To access these collections, please contact the curator.

George Bryan papers
Professional files of a late professor of theatre at the University of Vermont.
Jacob Coopersmith Collection of Handelania
A personal research collection on the life and works of George Frideric Handel (1685-1759). The collection comprises books about Handel; 18th-, 19th-, and 20th-century published scores; manuscripts; librettos; photocopies of Handel documents; and hundreds of articles related to Handel and his music.
James Felton Collection
Notes and research results from work on a biography of Leopold Stokowski.
Charles Fowler papers
Charles B. Fowler (1931-1995), American writer and consultant in the arts, was noted for his activity and commentary in the field of arts education.
Marcia Herndon papers
Papers of the late notable UM ethnomusicologist.
Howe Collection of Musical Instrument Literature
A collection of papers and memorabilia pertaining to the history of mechanical musical instruments.
Keesing Collection on Popular Music and Culture
3000+ cataloged books; 175 linear feet of papers and serials concerning popular music and popular culture; 50 linear feet of uncataloged recordings and sheet music.
Irving Lowens papers
Contains the papers of Irving Lowens, music critic for the Washington Star and American musicologist. Included are correspondence, article and clipping files, subject files, and research notes for Mr. Lowens's publications.
Leon Major papers
Leon Major (b. 1933) is a Canadian-born theater and opera director, who has directed and taught internationally. Major was the first Artistic Director of The Maryland Opera Studio at the University of Maryland, College Park, where he worked from 1987 to 2013. The materials in this collection, which include production files, book materials, and programs, date from 1860 through 2016.
Personal Papers of Music Educators
The MENC Historical Center LibGuide already has a comprehensive list of music educators whose collections SCPA holds, listed on the Personal Papers page.
Howard Serwer papers
Papers of the late UM School of Music musicologist and Handel scholar.
Madeleine Bartfeld Sigel Collection of Performing Arts Autographs and Memorabilia
Historic Viennese theatre programs, memorabilia, and autographs, spanning 1900-1930s, and theatre programs mainly from from the DC area from the 1950s forward, chronicling performances attended by the donor.
John Owen Ward papers
Papers of a prominent music editor.
Asher Zlotnik papers
Papers of the late Baltimore private teacher of music theory and composition.

Keesing Collection on Popular Music and Culture

The Hugo Keesing collection on popular music and culture

The collection on popular music and culture contains printed, recorded, and ephemeral materials related to twentieth-century American popular music, and to rock and roll music in particular.

After a globe-spanning career as a professor in multiple subjects, Dr. Hugo Keesing donated the popular culture memorabilia and papers he and his brother Wouter had collected. Their material comprises 11 collections held in SCPA on topics from the Vietnam War to Hayley Mills.

Charles Fowler Papers

Charles B. Fowler papers

Dr. Charles B. Fowler (1931-1995) was an eminent American arts advocate, educator, editor, writer and philosopher. His collection at SCPA has research, papers, correspondence, recordings, speeches, photos, memorabilia, and so much more.