Performer and Scholar Collections at Special Collections in Performing Arts

In addition to official ABA Archives, as the ABA Research Center, SCPA holds collections of concert programs, publications, recordings, scores, manuscripts, and personal papers relating to the ABA.

The American Composers Alliance was founded in 1937 as an independent licensing association with the purpose of representing and promoting American contemporary classical music.The Official Records of the American Composers Alliance comprises composers' correspondence, photographs, news clippings, biographies and resumes, brochures and concert programs, published recordings, legal forms and contracts, and applications. The collection spans the history of the ACA since its inception in 1937.

The American Handel Society seeks to foster study of the life, works, and times of George Frideric Handel, and to encourage and support the performance of his music. The Society was founded in 1986 by University of Maryland music professors Howard Serwer and Paul Traver, with Princeton music professor J. Merrill Knapp. The American Handel Society Archives span the years of 1981-2006, with the bulk of the material dating from 1985-1994. The collection includes member information, financial reports, Board of Directors meeting minutes, newsletters, correspondence, grant applications, and information relating to the Maryland Handel Festival. Also included are the notes and files for the Bibliographic Database and Discography projects, including printouts of both databases.

The International Clarinet Association (ICA) was founded to "support projects that will benefit clarinet performance; provide opportunities for the exchange of ideas, materials, and information among its members; foster the composition, publication, recording, and distribution of music for the clarinet; and encourages and promotes the performance and teaching of a wide variety of repertoire for the clarinet."

ITEA is a non-profit organization comprised of performers, educators, students, and amateurs who promote the advancement of the tuba and euphonium.

In addition to official ABA Archives, as the ABA Research Center, SCPA holds collections of concert programs, publications, recordings, scores, manuscripts, and personal papers relating to the ABA.

American String Teachers Association with National School Orchestra Association (ASTA with NSOA) is the professional organization for music educators who teach string instruments and conduct school orchestras. Included in the archives are administrative records, periodicals, and related collections.

Contact the Curator for more information.

The College Band Directors National Association (CBDNA) is affiliated with the Music Educators National Conference and addresses the concerns and goals of college band directors. The CBDNA Archives has a rich variety of materials related to college bands. Included in the collection are administrative papers, recordings and scores.

The College Music Society is a consortium of college, conservatory, university and independent musicians and scholars interested in all disciplines of music. Its mission is to promote music teaching and learning, musical creativity and expression, research and dialogue, and diversity and interdisciplinary interaction.

The international companion to the National Association for Music Education, the International Society for Music Education (ISME) is concerned with those issues that affect music education on an international scale. The ISME Archives contains administrative records, and publications, as well as the papers of distinguished international music educators such as Vanett Lawler and Henning Bro Rasmussen.

Founded in 1947, the Midwest International Band and Orchestra Clinic has been the showcase for many performers and organizations, as well as a valuable tool in instructing today's musicians. The Midwest Archives includes administrative records, photographs, scrapbooks, audio recordings and other materials.

The National Association of College Wind and Percussion Instructors (NACWPI) address the needs and concerns of instrumental instructors on college and university campuses and play a key role in the education of today's young wind and percussion musicians. In the Research Center there is a vast collection of scores and recordings. The Research Center also contains the papers of composer and former percussion instructor, Geary Larrick.

Founded in 1944, NATS encourages the highest standards of singing through excellence in teaching and the promotion of vocal education and research. Organizational goals include the professional advancement of the talented and the enrichment of the general public.

The Organization of American Kodály Educators (OAKE) is dedicated to the educational innovations developed by Zoltán Kodály. The OAKE Archives consist primarily of administrative papers.

The Kodaly Music Training Institute (KMTI) and the Kodaly Center of America (KCA) were established by Denise Bacon in order to adapt the Kodaly Method to American music education. The archives contain mostly administrative records.

The records of the Major Orchestra Librarians’ Association (MOLA) include organization records, including officer, committee, and membership records, reference materials regarding music libraries, conference files, projects files, publications about and by MOLA and its members, and a small collection of ephemera and audio recordings.