Get your research questions answered through chat, email, phone, drop in at the Information desk or make an appointment.
Reference sources are a great way to start your research. They will help you define key terms, identify important themes and individuals in the field, and find keywords for further searching in catalogs and databases. Reference sources also include bibliographies that will help you identify important primary and secondary works in your subject area. Select one of the reference source types below to get started.
Two recommended places to start your research are Gale Virtual Reference and Credo (see the "Credo, Gale, & Online Encyclopedias" tab).
References sources of UMCP can be either in print or electronic. In the area of education, the print Reference Stacks are usually located on the first floor of McKeldin Library; unless the catalog record gives a different location.
UMCP Online Resource is available to UMCP faculty, staff and students only.
Two recommended places to start your research are Gale Virtual Reference and Credo (search below). Additional online encyclopedias are listed below to help you continue your research.
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Use this box to search hundreds of full-text reference titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos. It may take a moment to load the results of your search.
Click the button above to visit UMD's portal to the Gale Virtual Reference Library. Once you're there, click the Name link (highlighted in yellow), and then log in with your school ID to access the whole Gale collection.
Below is a selection of general reference sources. If the title is blue, you can click on the link to view the item online. Some items require a UMD Directory ID to access. Otherwise, go to the holding library to use a paper copy.
500 Tips for TESOL Teachers by
There has been a growth in the number of teachers involved in teaching English as a foreign or second language. This handbook contains practical suggestions for EFL teachers, and aims to lead to ideas which can be tried out at once. Lists of useful resources and pro-formas are included.
The Cambridge Handbook of Language Learning by
Providing a comprehensive survey of cutting-edge work on second language learning, this Handbook, written by a team of leading experts, surveys the nature of second language learning and its implications for teaching. Prominent theories and methods from linguistics, psycholinguistics, processing-based, and cognitive approaches are covered and organised thematically across sections dealing with skill development, individual differences, pedagogical interventions and approaches, and context and environment.
Changing Methodologies in TESOL by
Covering core topics from vocabulary and grammar to teaching, writing speaking and listening, this textbook shows you how to link research to practice in TESOL methodology. It emphasises how current understandings have impacted on the language classroom worldwide and investigates the meaning of 'methods' and 'methodology' and the importance of these for the teacher: as well as the underlying assumptions and beliefs teachers bring to bear in their practice. By introducing you to language teaching approaches, you will explore the way these are influenced by developments in our understanding of language, learning technologies, learners, and their socio-cultural world. Three main areas in TESOL methods are covered: the impact of learner needs, context and culture on language, learning and teaching approaches; knowledge of language and its impact on methods, from the word to whole texts; and multiple literacies and competences for the modern world, including academic literacy and web literacy, socio-cultural and intercultural competence. The impact on teacher choices and methods of World Englishes, approaches to grammar, and learner development is also discussed. Each chapter illustrates core principles in practice using case studies of English teaching worldwide. Guided tasks, including article critique, case study analysis, and small-scale classroom research, prepare you to engage critically with research literature and use this analysis to inform your own practice. Key features* Written specifically for those studying TESOL teaching* First book to teach methods and practice in a global context, including links to the latest developments in the field* Encourages students to adopt a reflective approach to their teaching* Concepts and research are presented in an accessible way, regardless of the student's level of teaching experience or linguistic study* Provides task-based activities.
Dictionary of Language Teaching and Applied Linguistics by
A tool for students of applied linguistics, language teaching, TEFL, and introductory courses in general linguistics. It explains those difficult theoretical terms which students may encounter across these fields.
Handbook of Research in Second Language Teaching and Learning
This landmark volume provides a broad-based, state-of-the-art overview of current knowledge and research into second language teaching and learning.
The Handbook of TESOL in K-12 by
The first handbook to explore the field of Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages in elementary and secondary education (K-12) The number of students being educated in English has grown significantly in modern times -- globalization, immigration, and evolving educational policies have prompted an increased need for English language learner (ELL) education. The Handbook of TESOL in K-12 combines contemporary research and current practices to provide a comprehensive overview of the origins, evolution, and future direction of Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages at the elementary and secondary levels (K-12). Exploring the latest disciplinary and interdisciplinary issues in the field, this is a first-of-its-kind Handbook and contributions are offered from a team of internationally-renowned scholars. Comprehensive in scope, this essential Handbook covers topics ranging from bilingual language development and technology-enhanced language learning, to ESOL preparation methods for specialist and mainstream teachers and school administrators. Three sections organize the content to cover Key Issues in Teaching ESOL students in K-12, Pedagogical Issues and Practices in TESOL in K-12 Education, and School Personnel Preparation for TESOL in K-12. Satisfies a need for inclusive and in-depth research on TESOL in K-12 classrooms Presents a timely and interesting selection of topics that are highly relevant to working teachers and support staff Applies state-of-the-art research to real-world TESOL classroom settings Offers a balanced assessment of diverse theoretical foundations, concepts, and findings The Handbook of TESOL in K-12 is an indispensable resource for undergraduate and graduate students, researchers and scholars, and educators in the field of Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages in elementary and secondary education.
Qualitative Inquiry in TESOL by
Graduate and professional TESOL students will welcome this research methods textbook for undertaking qualitative, naturalistic and action research projects. Uniquely, the book offers a three-level structured progression, suited both to novice and intermediate students with a focus on development as classroom teachers of English, and to advanced students engaged in academic research work in applied linguistics. Every chapter is structured to develop the important skills for undertaking QI in a rigorous and serious way, at whatever level is appropriate for the reader's purpose. The book is both scholarly in approach and written in an engagingly direct and clear style.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Language Teaching and Learning by
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Language Teaching and Learning is an authoritative handbook dealing with all aspects of this increasingly important field of study. It has been produced specifically for language teaching professionals, but can also be used as a reference work for academic studies at postgraduate level. It offers a comprehensive range of articles on contemporary language teaching and its history. Themes covered include: methods and materials assessment and testing contexts and concepts influential figures related disciplines, such as psychology, anthropology and sociolinguistics. It covers the teaching of languages, in particular Japanese, Chinese and Arabic, as well as English, French, German and Spanish. There arenbsp;thirty-five overview articles dealing with issues such as communicative language teaching, early language learning, teacher education and syllabus and curriculum design. A further 160 entries focus on topics such as bilingualism, language laboratories and study abroad. Numerous shorter items look at language and cultural institutions, professional associations and acronyms. Multiple cross-references enable the user to browse from one entry to another, and there are suggestions for further reading. Written by an international team of specialists, the Routledge Encyclopedia of Language Teaching and Learning is an invaluable resource and reference manual for anyone with a professional or academic interest in the subject.
The Routledge Handbook of Language Learning and Technology by
The exponential growth and development of modern technologies in all sectors has made it increasingly difficult for students, teachers and teacher educators to know which technologies to employ and how best to take advantage of them. The Routledge Handbook of Language Learning and Technology brings together experts in a number of key areas of development and change, and opens the field of language learning by exploring the pedagogical importance of technological innovation. The handbook is structured around six themes: historical and conceptual contexts core issues interactive and collaborative technologies for language learning corpora and data driven learning gaming and language learning purpose designed language learning resources. Led by fundamental concepts, theories and frameworks from language learning and teaching research rather than by specific technologies, this handbook is the essential reference for all students, teachers and researchers of Language Learning and TESOL. Those working in the areas of Applied Linguistics, Education and Media Studies will also find this a valuable book. 　
The TESOL Encyclopedia of English Language Teaching, 8 Volume Set by
2019 PROSE Award Subject Category Winner - Multivolume Reference/Humanities. Honorable Mention for RUSA's 2019 Dartmouth Medal. The definitive reference in the field of English language teaching The TESOL Encyclopedia of English Language Teaching explores the theoretical and practical aspects of English language instruction by providing an essential, go-to reference resource for educators, professionals, researchers, and students world-wide. Over 750 entries written by leading practitioners and scholars from around the globe reflect the collaborative efforts of a truly international team of editors and advisory board members. The Encyclopedia is arranged thematically and entries are ordered A-Z within each of these themes. Fifteen key topic areas are covered: Approaches & Methods Assessment English as an International Language NNESTs Organizational Issues Sociocultural Aspects Teaching Grammar Teaching Listening Teaching Reading Teaching Speaking Teaching Vocabulary Teaching Writing Technology Training & Development Current Trends and Future Directions in English Language Teaching (online only) Each entry is organized into three sections: "Framing the Issue," "Making the Case," and "Pedagogical Implications," in which the Author presents proven applications and recommendations that may be immediately employed. Unparalleled in scope, The TESOL Encyclopedia of English Language Teaching is an indispensable professional resource for all ELT/ESL practitioners everywhere. This work is also available as an online resource at www.tesolencyclopedia.com. NEW THEME: 27 newly published articles covering Current Trends and Future Directions in English Language Teaching, edited by John I. Liontas - now published online only!
Working with Words by
This is a practical guide for teachers on how to select, organise and teach vocabulary to all levels of students. It discusses the linguistic and psychological theories relevant to vocabulary learning, describes with clear examples traditional and current methods of presentation and practice, and suggests ways of assessing and supplementing the vocabulary component of coursebooks. Working with Words is an ideal resource for practising teachers and teachers in training.
