Research Guides: Persian Studies: Databases, Internet Resources & News Sources

Electronic Resources - Persian Studies

JSTOR
Explore many areas of studies, including Middle East Studies, Religion, Peace & Conflict Studies, Linguistics, history, and more, or search across all of JSTOR.

ATLA Religion Database
Provides abstracts and indexing for articles, essays, and book reviews in over 1550 journals and multi-author works dealing with religious and theological scholarship. International in scope and language coverage. Covers all types of religions. ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index online content is now included in the ATLA Religion Covers a wide range of academic areas including anthropology, philosophy, business, psychology, history, religion, law, sociology, medicine, and theology. 1949 to present. Selected records going back to 1818.
Historical Abstracts with Full-Text
Core international history database now includes unique full-text coverage of nearly 200 journals and 100 books. It also provides indexing for over 1700 journals from 1964 to the present.
Index Islamicus
An international bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. It covers their history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages and literatures. It includes material published by Western orientalists, social scientists and Muslims writing in European languages. The file contains indexing for 3,470 titles with coverage dating back to 1906. ISBNs are not part of a searchable field in this database. Do not attempt to search on authors by truncating the first name. Last, F? will often result in zero hits. Try searching on Last or Last, First
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Indexes journals, books, essay collections, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies published worldwide in the areas of literary criticism, language, linguistics, rhetoric, and folklore of all countries. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) the database contains millions of citations as well as full text for over 1,000 journals.
Mideastwire.com
Mideastwire.com is an Internet-based news service. It offers a daily email newsletter of concise. Translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing via the print, radio and television media of the 22 Arab countries.
Records Of The Persian Gulf War
Contains materials related to the diplomatic and military response by the United states (as part of a multi-national force) to the Iraqi invasion of Kuwait in August 1990.
America: History & Life with Full-Text
Core American history database now includes unique full-text coverage of nearly 200 journals and 100 books. Information on articles, books, book reviews, and dissertations on U.S. and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Covers more than 2000 international worldwide. All aspects of historical research. Time span: 1964-present.
Associated Press Collection: Middle East Bureaus
Provides access to the records fromAssociated Press bureau in Jerusalem, Ankara, Beruit, and surrounding areas. Include news stories in the form of typescript carbons or wire copy . Provides exclusive coverage between 1967 and 2008.
Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies
Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies (MECAS) is a systematic and non-evaluative bibliographic index of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. This database contains more than 475,000 records. Over 15,000 records of recently published and grey literature are added annually. Subject coverage includes: political affairs & law, international relations, economic affairs - business & industry, cultural heritage, arts & humanities, society & social welfare, ethnic diversity & anthropology, significant religious events & movements and recent history (1900 - present) & archaeology. MECAS includes the following: Middle East Bibliography (1946 - 2001), Middle East Book Bibliographies, Theses & Dissertations, MECAS Citations Database and School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAS) Library Catalogue (1900 - present). Do not attempt to search on authors by truncating the first name. Last, F? will often result in zero hits. Try searching on Last or Last, First.
GenderWatch
Full text database comprised of 175 titles, primarily of the many ongoing periodicals that deal with gender issues, including academic and scholarly journals, regional publications, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, booklets and reports. Subject areas covered include: government, history and politics, lesbian and gay studies, women's studies, and other humanities and social sciences disciplines. Dates of coverage of some publications are 1970 to the present.
International Political Science Abstracts
This database produced by the International Political Science Association, provides coverage of articles from the world's leading journals in political science. Only 4 simultaneous users allowed. This database contains over 110,000 records from nearly 900 journals published from 1989 to the present. Approximately 8,000 new records are added to the database every year.
NINES: Networked Infrastructure for Nineteenth-century Electronic Scholarship
Includes various kinds of contents: traditional texts and document, editions, bibliographic entries, and critical works of all kinds, as well as 'born-digital' materials relating to all aspects of nineteenth-century culture. Some but not all of the content is open access.
SocIndex with Full Text
The index features more than 1,300,000 records with subject headings from a 15,600 term sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. This product also contains informative abstracts for more than 620 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 500 "priority" coverage journals as well as over 1,390 "selective" coverage journals. Further, extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is included. Contains full text for 242 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 72 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for 547 books and monographs, and full text for 6,711 conference papers.
Literature Online
LION contains 500,000 primary literary texts spanning the eighth century to the present day. It also contains up-to-date, fully searchable criticism and reference resources. Contemporary criticism is available through the full text of over 425 literature journals. The literary index, the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL), is fully integrated and provides researchers one of the most important bibliographic sources for literature studies. Helpful companions and reference resources from key publishers such as Routledge, Oxford University Press, and Cambridge University Press help provide context to authors and works. Works of English and American literature, literary criticism and biographies. 8th century to the present. Only 25 simultaneous users allowed.
Gale Literature Criticism
Electronic version of 12 titles in Gale's popular Literature Criticism reference series, including Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Drama Criticism.
EIU ViewPoint
EIU ViewPoint (formerly: EIU ViewsWire) is the world's most comprehensive source of global forecasts, market trends, data and analysis, in over 200 countries. The service is relied upon by analysts and strategists across business, government, finance and academia to provide unrivaled insight into how the world's political, economic and policy landscape is changing. Covers different disciplines: Economics, Business, Political Science and Law.

Dissertations & Theses Global
This database is the an authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities. Full text is available from 1997 to the present. It also contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. It offers access to more than 90 percent of the doctoral dissertations accepted each year in North America. The database also covers thousands of dissertations and theses from around the globe. Time Span: 1861 to present.
Center for Research Libraries Catalog
CRL is a consortium of North American academic and independent research libraries. The consortium acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, archives, and other traditional and digital resources for research and teaching and makes them available to member institutions through ILL. CRL holds over four million newspapers, journals, dissertations, archives, government publications, and other traditional and digital resources for research and teaching. Holdings include such diverse materials as 800,000 doctoral dissertations (including those of Albert Einstein, Dag Hammarskjold and other Nobel laureates); some of the earliest African-American newspapers; and the 100,000-plus-page archive of Cambodia's Khmer Rouge security force. Emphasis is on materials produced outside the United States, and the Center has special strength in publications and archives from many developing nations. These holdings are available for use by students, scholars and other researchers affiliated with CRL member institutions. For more information see https://www.crl.edu/?l1=5 All, although majority of materials emphasise early modern and modern periods.
Dissertations & Theses Global
This database is the an authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities. Full text is available from 1997 to the present. It also contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. It offers access to more than 90 percent of the doctoral dissertations accepted each year in North America. The database also covers thousands of dissertations and theses from around the globe. Time Span: 1861 to present.
Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology Online
An international database of bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology. Contains more than 13,500 records, including the corrected and updated contents of the earlier printed editions of Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology.
DRUM: Digital Repository at the University of Maryland
DRUM provides digital repository services for the University of Maryland. Currently there are three types of materials in our collections: faculty deposited documents, a Library managed collection of UM doctoral dissertations, and a collection of technical reports. New submissions to the thesis/dissertation collections are added automatically as they are received from the Graduate School. Currently, the Graduate School deposits all theses and dissertations from a given semester after the official graduation date. This means that there may be up to a 4 month delay in the appearance of a given thesis/dissertation in DRUM. 2003- present.
UM Theses and Dissertations are found under UM Community-managed Collections.

World Development Indicators Online
World Bank database provides direct access to more than 550 development indicators, with time series for 200 countries and 18 country groups from 1960, where data are available. Data export options in Excel or ASCII.