Baroque Music History

As well as being an authoritative and convenient resource for scholars, students, and performers, the Oxford Composer Companion to Bach provides the ordinary Bach/Baroque music enthusiast with information not usually found in programme or sleeve notes, exploring the life and works of Bach andthe historical context in which he lived. Topics covered include: genres (eg chorales), structures (eg fugue), individual works (eg St John Passion), compositional practices and techniques, people and places, institutinos, instruments, performing practice, festivals and performers, reception ofBach's music, stylistic influence and parodies, and Bach scholarship. The main alphabetical text is supplemented by useful endmatter, including a family tree, chronology, list of works, openings of vocal works, and a glossary of specialist terms.

America possesses more autograph manuscripts and other primary Bach sources than any other country outside Germany. Dispersed in 30 different places are at least nineteen autograph manuscripts, fifty-five original performing parts and other autograph writings, a portrait of the composer from life, and Bach's own Bible. Of the 130 autograph scores of Church cantatas that survive, fourteen plus a cantata fragment are in the United States.

This volume is a guide to the resources and materials of Bach scholarship, both for the non specialist wondering where to begin in the enormous literature on J. S. Bach, and for the Bach specialist looking for a convenient and up to date survey of the field. It describes the tools of Bachresearch and how to use them, and suggests how to get started in Bach research by describing the principal areas of research and citing the essential literature on each piece and topic. The authors emphasize the issues that have engaged Bach scholars for generations, focusing on particularly important writings; on recent literature; on overviews, collections of essays and handbooks; and on writings in English. Subjects covered include bibliographic tools of Bach research andsources of literature; Bach's family; Bach biographies; places Bach lived and worked; Bach's teaching; the liturgy; Bach source studies and the transmission of his music; repertory and editions; genres and individual vocal and instrumental works; performance practice; the reception and analysis ofBach's music; and many others. The book also offers explanations of important and potentially confusing topics in Bach research, such as the organization of the annual cantata cycles, pitch standards, the history of the Berlin libraries, the structure of the critical commentary volumes in the NeueBach Ausgabe, and so on. This book opens up the rich world of Bach scholarship to students, teachers, performers, and listeners.

Thematic catalog outlining the Bach-Werke-Verzeichnis (BWV) cataloging system. Indexes Bach complete editions, provides information on sources and editions and bibliographies. Ray Reeder's Bach English-title index (ML134.B1R43) is keyed to this index

A multi-volume set divided into three parts providing an overview of all of Bach's works in their authentic versions. Also provides information in sketches, drafts, lost and spurious works.

Papers of a conference organized by the Handel Institute and held at King's College, London, Nov. 24-26, 1990.

First Published in 2005. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.

The standard thematic catalog for Handel's works.

Appearing over time; volume two in library.

First Published in 1993. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.

The most current (and probably best) of numerous Vivaldi thematic catalogs. A second volume is projected covering Vivaldi's vocal music.