It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
If you would like more information about any of the collections featured here, please contact
John Davis Interim Curator for Special Collections in Performing Arts (SCPA) email@example.com 301.405.9220
For the Record...
In celebration of the 2003 ABA Convention in Baltimore/College Park, MD, the ABA Research Center produced a CD featuring highlights of the ABA recordings collections entitled For the Record...
In addition to its large document holdings, the American Bandmasters
Association Research Center contains thousands of recordings, ranging
from Edison cylinders to compact discs.
The American Bandmasters Association Collection of Recordings
With over 2,600 cassette tapes, records, and compact discs, this collection acts as a catch all for band recordings. Especially well represented are military service bands and university bands, as well as most of the march recordings distributed by Robert Hoe under the title "Heritage of the March."
Only portions of the recordings collection are indexed, and patrons should consult with the Special Collections in Performing Arts Curator to determine the availability of recordings.
The ABA recordings collection also contains more than 400 reel-to-reel tapes of ABA conventions, university bands, historic performances, and broadcasts.
More than 150 taped performances make up a portion of the Herbert Hazelman Collection. These are mostly performances of Hazelman's own high school band from Greensboro, North Carolina.
George Howard Air Force Band Transcription Disks
Some 750 sixteen-inch 78 rpm acetate radio transcription disks made by the United States Air Force Band make up a portion of the George Howard Collection. Many of these recordings are in extremely fragile condition, but most of them have been transfered to tape and are available for listening. A partial inventory is available in the repository.
Some 410 historic 78 rpm recordings make up a portion of the Frank McGrann Collection. These include performances by the bands of Arthur Pryor, Patrick Conway, John Philip Sousa, Edwin Franko Goldman, and many others. Because of the fragile nature of these recordings, access is limited. An inventory of recordings is available upon request.
The Robert Hoe Collection contains 189 LP recordings (plus duplicates) of American and European band marches, including the Heritage of the March series and a set of Sousa’s works recorded by the United States Marine Band. The collection also contains 18 of Robert Hoe’s newsletters. A full inventory is available by contacting the curator.