Music Education Collections in SCPA

Elizabeth V. Beach (1882-1951) was a pioneer member of the Eastern Conference of the Music Educators National Conference. Her papers are held under NAfME Record Group 25-2: Personal Papers of Individuals.

Dr. Britton (1914-2003) was an American music educator who served as a professor of Music at the University of Michigan, and eventually the Dean of the School of Music. Britton was the founding editor of the Journal of Research in Music Education and American Music, and served on the Board of Directors and Trustees of numerous musical societies, and President of the MENC, as well as the Sonneck Society for American Music.

Henry L. Cady co-authored the Schneider-Cady USOE Project E-016, Evaluation and Synthesis of Research Studies Relating to Music Education, funded by the U.S. Department of Health, Education and Welfare (1965). The project is a compilation of a majority of the theses, dissertations, and articles written between 1930 and 1962 on studies relating to music education. His papers are held under NAfME Record Group 25-2.

Frances Elliott Clark (1860-1958) was a founding member of NAfME and the organization's first president. Her papers are held under NAfME Record Group 25-1: Presidential Papers.

Will Earhart (1871-1960) was a music educator and administrator, and served as NAfME president from 1915-16. His papers are held under NAfME Record Group 25-1: Presidential Papers.

Rose Marie Grentzer (1914-1985) was a choral music educator, member of NAfME, University of Maryland faculty member, and director of the University of Maryland Madrigal Singers. Her papers are held under NAfME Record Group 25-2: Personal Papers of Individuals.

From 1980-1982, Hoffman served as NAfME President and helped plan the 75th Anniversary Convention in San Antonio, Texas. The collection contains Hoffman's professional papers from her term as NAfME President. Her papers are held under NAfME Record Group 25-1: Presidential Papers.

Michael Mark (1936-2018) was an American music educator and author. He received his degrees in music from Catholic University (BM 1958 and DMA 1969), George Washington University (MA 1960), and the University of Michigan (MM 1962). During his career, Mark was employed by public school systems and universities in Maryland, Washington, D.C., and New York. As an author, he published numerous books and articles on music education, frequently on the history of that topic. This collection consists of educational materials, correspondence, writings, newspaper clippings, photographs, books, recordings, and scores related to his career as an educator and author.

Luther W. Mason (1818-1896) was an American music educator and editor of school songbooks. A student of Lowell Mason, and a pioneer of primary school music instruction, he spent two years in Japan introducing Western music to the imperial court.

Music educator and Wife of Russell V. Morgan. Her papers are held under NAfME Record Group 25-2: Personal Papers of Individuals.

President, 1930-32. His papers are held under NAfME Record Group 25-1: Presidential Papers.

Jerry Pierce (1937-1994) was an American clarinetist, saxophonist, teacher, writer, avid collector, and President of the International Clarinet Association (1980-1986). (Non-NAfME collection)

Lilla Belle Pitts (1884-1970) was a prominent music educator known for her advocacy of "child-centered" music education, the promotion of diverse cultural experiences through music, the use of folk and popular music for children, and the integration of music into the wider public school curriculum. She served as NAfME president from 1942-44. Her papers are held under NAfME Record Group 25-1: Presidential Papers.

Donald Pond (1906-1983) was a music educator, composer, and performer and is noted for his work at the Pillsbury Foundation School in Santa Barbara, CA. His papers are held under NAfME Record Group 25-2: Personal Papers of Individuals.

Bennett Reimer (1932 - 2013), a wind player, music educator and noted author, held the John W. Beattie Endowed Chair in Music position at Northwestern University where he was Chair of Music Education Department, Director of the Ph.D Program in Music Education, and founder and Director of the Center for the Study of Education and the Musical Experience. The collection consists of published books and accompanying materials, unpublished works, journal articles, guest lecture materials and drafts of speeches given by Reimer, and materials related to books Reimer published for Silver-Burdett Music. (Non-NAfME collection)

Ernest S. Williams (1881-1947) was a cornetist, educator, bandmaster, and member of the American Bandmasters Association. He founded both the Ernest Williams School of Music and the Ernest Williams Band and Orchestra Camp. (Non-NAfME collection).

Dr. Asher G. Zlotnik (1915-1997) was a music scholar and teacher who spent most of his career teaching music theory and sight singing to practicing musicians, including members of the Glen Miller and Tommy Dorsey bands, and members of the radio network orchestras at ABS, CBS, NBC and the WOR radio orchestra. (Non-NAfME collection)

Lowell Mason (1792-1872) is known as the founder of American school music education and co-founder of the Boston Academy of Music. In addition to establishing curricular music in American public schools and teacher training in music, he is also known for the success of his compositions and arrangements of hymn tunes and tune books. The collection is part of the NAfME Archives.

John Curwen (1816-1880) was an English congregational minister who, later in life, devoted himself to developing and promulgating the Tonic Sol-fa pedagogical method. The John Curwen Manuscripts, part of the NAfME Historical Center, contains six volumes written by Curwen that date from 1863 to 1868.

Charles B. Fowler (1931-1995), American writer and consultant in the arts, was noted for his activity and commentary in the field of arts education.

Vanett Lawler was a prominent figure in NAfME (then MENC) in the mid-20th century. She served as both the Associate Executive Secretary (1930-55) and as the Executive Secretary (1955-68) for the organization. Lawler was also active with UNESCO and the International Society for Music Education.

ISME Finding Aid
UNESCO Finding Aid