Finding and Managing Scientific Information and Research Data

You must first create an account using your @umd.edu email address to use the web version. Unlimited simultaneous users. To use off-campus, sign into the GlobalProtect VPN and change the gateway setting to TunnelAll. SciFinder-n is published by the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) and gives you access to current high-quality scientific information in chemistry and related sciences. Content at a Glance: searching MEDLINE and Chemical Abstracts (CAPLUS) individually or at the same time; more than 15 million reactions; more than 1 billion predicted property values; more than 2 million experimental properties; the CAS REGISTRY database is updated daily; patent records from the major patent offices are available online within 2 days of the patents' issuance; sequences combined from CAS and GenBank databases, which are indexed and linked to scientific journal and patent literature.

PubChem is a database with information on the chemical properties and biological activities of small molecules. It is organized as three linked databases within the NCBI's Entrez information retrieval system. These are PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool. Links from PubChem's chemical structure records to other Entrez databases provide information on biological properties. These include links to PubMed scientific literature and NCBI's protein 3D structure resource. Links to PubChem's bioassay database present the results of biological screening. Links to depositor web sites provide further information.

The National Library of Medicine's Medline database that provides abstracts and indexing for about 4,600 biomedical journals published in the U.S. and 70 foreign countries, and includes additional older citations and out of scope citations from Medline journals. Medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychiatry, pre-clinical sciences, medical education, public health, health care planning and administration of services. Also includes additional life science journals. mid-1960s - present

Reaxys is a web-based platform based on three chemical information databases: (Former) CrossFire Beilstein, (Former) CrossFire Gmelin and the Patent Chemistry Database (PCD). In addition, Reaxys is an extensive repository of experimentally validated data, including structures, reactions (including multi-step reactions) and physical properties. It also contains pharmacological, eco-toxicological and toxicological data, specific bioassay results, logPs, toxicity values, and other valuable data. Reaxys allows searching for substances by chemical name or by structure, as well as for single and multi-step reactions. Searches can also be performed for citations, which are indexed from the primary organic, inorganic and organometallic chemistry journal literature going back to 1772, as well as from the patent literature.

The Web of Science Core Collection provides comprehensive coverage of the sciences, social sciences, and arts, and humanities across journals, books and conference proceedings. It indexes more than 5,700 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines. The best database for finding what papers have cited other papers. Cited references can be traced forward in time. Web of Science Training Materials available here: http://wokinfo.com/training_support/training/web-of-science

Knovel's collection includes over 2,000 leading reference works and databases from over 70 leading technical publishers and professional societies including AIAA, AIChE, ASME and NACE. Content collection includes material properties, process and design information, best practices, equations and formulations for specific industries and engineering disciplines.

The Merck Index is a major reference work for scientists and professionals looking for authoritative information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals. The Merck index Online is an online platform featuring text and structure search functionality and a user-friendly interface.