Linguistics Guide for the Major

LLBA indexes and summarizes journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, selected conference proceedings, and book reviews on linguistics and its subdisciplines. Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Provides abstracts and indexing from 1973 to the present. Note that ISBNs are not a searchable field in this database.

Indexes journals, books, essay collections, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies published worldwide in the areas of literary criticism, language, linguistics, rhetoric, and folklore of all countries. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) the database contains millions of citations as well as full text for over 1,000 journals.

Extremely useful reference source providing coverage of major topics in linguistics and second language acquisition, written by the world's leading scholars. The Libraries have purchased the Foundation Collection and 2012-2022. Click on the unlocked availability option on the left hand side to access the available essays

PsycINFO is the most comprehensive index in psychology and related fields, with more than 1.7 million citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters and books, technical reports, and dissertations. Its holdings include material from 1,700 periodicals in over 30 languages. Covering the entire range of psychology disciplines, PsycINFO also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as psychiatry, neuroscience, medicine, sociology, education, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. PsycINFO spans 1887 to the present. PsycINFO has links to the full-text articles in PsycARTICLES and the Psychology and in the Behavioral Sciences Collection (thus the user does not have to search each of these databases separately).

Indexes entries at least two pages long in nearly 900 journals and monographic series held in Harvard University's Tozzer Library. These include articles, reports, commentaries, and obituaries. Comprehensive international resource for the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. Covers articles published from the late 19th century to the present.

Provides abstracts and indexing for articles, essays, and book reviews in over 1550 journals and multi-author works dealing with religious and theological scholarship. International in scope and language coverage. Covers all types of religions. ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index online content is now included in the ATLA Religion Covers a wide range of academic areas including anthropology, philosophy, business, psychology, history, religion, law, sociology, medicine, and theology. 1949 to present. Selected records going back to 1818.

Useful for: Topics related to communication. This includes literature related to sociolinguistics, pragmatics, and intercultural communication. It contains the full-text of the journals published by the National Communication Association and is the premier database for the field of Communication.
The following databases in other subject areas may also contain materials of interest for Linguistics research. Note that you may need to adjust your search terms for each database. Many databases have a thesaurus, which can help you determine the best search terms.

This database is the an authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities. Full text is available from 1997 to the present. It also contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. It offers access to more than 90 percent of the doctoral dissertations accepted each year in North America. The database also covers thousands of dissertations and theses from around the globe. Time Span: 1861 to present.

Useful For: Topics related to education, applied linguistics, language teaching and learning, testing, evaluation, etc. Education Research Complete is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education.

Useful For: Topics related to education, applied linguistics, language teaching and learning, testing, evaluation, etc. ERIC provides access to information from over 1,000 education and education-related journals as well as a variety of non-journal materials (ERIC documents). It also provides the full text of more than 2,200 ERIC Digests (short reports on topics of current interest in education.)

Indexes journals, books, essay collections, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies published worldwide in the areas of literary criticism, language, linguistics, rhetoric, and folklore of all countries. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) the database contains millions of citations as well as full text for over 1,000 journals.

Useful For: Topics related to semantics, philosophy of language. Philosopher's Index is a current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. Features author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals and books, including contributions to anthologies and book reviews. Covers material published since 1940.

Useful For: Topics related to psycholinguistics, cognitive linguistics. PsycINFO is the most comprehensive index in psychology and related fields, with more than 1.7 million citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters and books, technical reports, and dissertations. Its holdings include material from 1,700 periodicals in over 30 languages.

Useful For: Topics related to sociolinguistics. The index features more than 1,300,000 records with subject headings from a sociology-specific thesaurus. Also contains abstracts for more than 620 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, in addition to information for 1,890 "priority" and "selective coverage" journals. Extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is included.

Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print archives, and university institutional repositories.