Sponsored Programs Information Network (SPIN) database features information on over 40,000 funding opportunities from more than 10,000 sponsors worldwide. SPINPlus data is obtained directly from the sponsoring agencies to ensure its accuracy. (As a UMD student you may request an account. Please contact Patti Cossard, pcossard@umd.edu)
Foundation Directory Online is the leading resource in the world of philanthropy. It provides everything about U.S. foundations and their millions of grants around the world. Search up to nine databases at once: grantmakers, companies, grants, 990s, RFPs, philanthropy news, foundation-sponsored publications, nonprofit literature, and jobs. Includes descriptions of more than 100,000 Community Foundations; Corporate Giving Programs, Operating Foundations, Private Grantmaking Foundations (independent and company-sponsored foundations); and Grantmaking Public Charities. This is a paid resource but many public libraries may have access.
Chronicle of Philanthropy The Chronicle provides news and information for tax-exempt organizations. In addition, it offers lists of grants, fundraising ideas and techniques, statistics, reports on tax and court rulings, summaries of books, and a calendar of events.
Grants.gov A government-funded site that provides you with ways to search for and locate grants and RFPs.
Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) Supports all types of museums, from art and history to science and zoos, and all types of libraries and archives, from public and academic to research and schools. IMLS also distributes federal funding to State Library under the LSTA Technology Grant program. Also of particular interest, National Leadership Grants for Libraries, among others.
National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) Our work extends into communities of all sizes across America through a vast network that includes artists, arts workers, audiences, learners, and organizations at the local, state-wide, regional, and national levels.
National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) As the largest federal funder of the humanities, NEH offers 47 grant programs to support museums, historic sites, colleges, universities, K-12 teachers, libraries, public television and radio stations, research institutions, independent scholars, and nonprofits nationwide. You can search for particular grants of interest their grants search page..
National Historical Publications & Records Commission (NHPRC) The National Historical Publications and Records Commission (NHPRC), a statutory body affiliated with the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), supports a wide range of activities to preserve, publish, and encourage the use of documentary sources, created in every medium ranging from quill pen to computer, relating to the history of the United States.
U.S. Department of Health and Human Resources - Grants & Funding Search across a wide array of HHS bureaus and agencies. Includes a Grants and Funding page with links to Funding, Grants, Research, and Partners/Training.
U.S. Department of Education The site has links to other grants and aid websites and information.
1772 Foundation seeks to preserve and enhance American historical entities for future generations to enjoy with particular interest in farming, industrial development, transportation and unusual historical buildings.
Americana Corner To support organizations dedicated to telling the incredible story of America –– from its founding era through its first century –– we have established the Preserving America Grant program.
Andrew K. Mellon Foundation Grants Of particular interest the grants to support community-based archives that document and preserve the histories of underrepresented communities. Funding can be used for staff, space, collections care, programming, and public engagement efforts.
Arcadia Fund offer grants for projects that record cultural heritage, to conserve and restore nature, and to promote open access to knowledge. We want future generations to enjoy the diversity of human culture and the natural world.
ATLA Digitization Grant Program this grant program supports ATLA’s member institutions in their efforts to digitize and describe their special collections and archives for wider access and use.
Council on Library and Information Resources (CLIR) An independent, nonprofit organization that forges strategies to enhance research, teaching, and learning environments in collaboration with libraries, cultural institutions, and communities of higher learning. Specific programs of interest to preservation; CLIR Digitizing Hidden Special Collections and Archives and CLIR Recordings at Risk.
Daughters of the American Revolution Historic Preservation Grants In tens of thousands of locations around the world, we have saved historic properties, conserved historic artifacts, digitized historic documents and helped to preserve the American story in thousands of meaningful ways.
Foundation for the American Institute for Conservation (FAIC) offers several grants and scholarships to promote access to professional development, outreach to the public, and support research and publications. Explore the variety of funding opportunities to find support for your project.
Getty Foundation a cultural and philanthropic institution dedicated to the presentation, conservation, and interpretation of the worldʼs artistic legacy. They fund projects related to art history, museums, archival collections, and art conservation.
Government Documents Round Table of the American Library Association (GODORT) Preservation Grant Program, a new funding opportunity for library projects focused on the preservation of government information.
Lilly Foundation Grants causes of community development, education and religion, which remain at the center of their grantmaking today.
Luce Foundation Grants empowers knowledge makers and supports dynamic community leaders through seven grantmaking areas and two leadership programs. Although not specifically geared toward library digitization, there may be a program for which funding could be acquired if the proposed digitization project falls into one of their program areas.
National Film Preservation Foundation Nonprofit organization created by the U.S. Congress to preserve America's film heritage. Supports activities nationwide that preserve films and improve film access for study, education, and exhibition.
Nora Roberts Foundation supporting literacy organizations our highest priority. In order to create a beautiful, equitable, and safe world, we also support organizations focused on the arts, children, social justice, and the environment.
Governor's Grants Office assists state and local governments and community-based organizations in identifying federal grant opportunities while ensuring these groups are aware of assistance that may be available through state or private foundation grants.
Grantsmanship Center You can search grant funding resources by state and the Grantsmanship Center also offers training for groups/people to be able to compete for available grant opportunities.
Maryland Center for History and Culture has the Miller History Fund, provides support for projects at museums, historical societies, libraries, and other repositories throughout the state of Maryland.
Maryland Community Foundations Association (MCFA) Maryland is home to 13 community foundations, each serving a region of Maryland in unique ways. Together, they speak with one voice across the state, empowering people, businesses, and community organizations by promoting and facilitating local philanthropy.
Maryland Humanities Grants Maryland Humanities’ grants program funds general operating support to nonprofits conducting work in the humanities throughout Maryland.
Maryland InfoPortal a database of financial and non-financial assistance offered by Maryland state government agencies and contains information on more than 700 programs providing financial assistance and technical services to governmental entities, civic and private organizations, and individuals.
