Sustainability

The Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology (ESST) addresses the grand challenge for science and engineering today. It provides unprecedented, peer-reviewed coverage of sustainability science and technology with contributions from nearly 1,000 of the world's leading scientists and engineers, who write on more than 600 separate topics in 42 sections. ESST establishes a foundation for the many sustainability and policy evaluations being performed in institutions worldwide. An indispensable resource for scientists and engineers in developing new technologies and for applying existing technologies to sustainability

This handbook is based on the premise that in order for sustainability to be sustainable, a profound psychological transformation has to take place at the individual and collective level. Focusing on the practice of environmental sustainability, this handbook will explore the application of sustainability in a wide variety of contemporary contexts-from economics of consumption and growth to government policy, sustainable cities, and sustainable planet. The editors believe that the way to achieve sustainable, harmonious living in all spheres is through lived or engaged sustainability at the personal, team, and organizational levels. It is impossible to separate economic development issues from environment issues. In its most practical aspect, sustainability is about understanding the interconnections among environment, society, and economy. This book aims to provide a comprehensive overview of current theories and approaches in the area of engaged sustainability for academics, researchers and practitioners

The Routledge Handbook of the History of Sustainability is a far-reaching survey of the deep and contemporary history of sustainability. This innovative resource will help to define the history of sustainability as an identifiable field. It provides a unique resource for advanced undergraduates, graduate students, and scholars, and delivers essential context for understanding the current state and future path of the sustainability movement.

Situating Sustainability reframes our understanding of sustainability through an emerging international terrain of concepts and case studies. These approaches include material practices, such as extraction and disaster recovery, and extend into the domains of human rights and education. This volume addresses the need in sustainability science to recognize the deep and diverse cultural histories that define environmental politics. It brings together scholars from cultural studies, anthropology, literature, law, behavioral science, urban studies, design, and development to argue that it is no longer possible to talk about sustainability in general without thinking through the contexts of research and action.

This newly updated Water Sustainability volume of the Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology (ESST) takes a holistic view of full water cycle and integrates the water themes into sustainability science and technology. With the increasing pressures of population growth, water scarcity, flooding, water pollution, climate impacts and competition of water uses among municipal, agricultural, industrial sectors and ecosystem, there is a growing trend in promoting Integrated Water Management and “One Water” concept worldwide. This reference volume covers multi-disciplinary sustainability topics from the perspective of integrated water management, which includes drinking water, wastewater, stormwater, reclaimed water and groundwater.