Research Guides: Sustainability: Databases

Databases

There are many databases providing information on all aspects of sustainability.
For additional databases, see the following subjects listed in Database Finder:
Environmental Sciences
Agriculture
Business
Public Policy

Academic Search Ultimate
Multi-disciplinary database providing information for nearly every area of academic study. Includes an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, as well as additional journals, magazines, newspapers and books. Multidisciplinary subjects including: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medicine, ethnic studies. 1965- present.
Web of Science Core Collection
The Web of Science Core Collection provides comprehensive coverage of the sciences, social sciences, and arts, and humanities across journals, books and conference proceedings. It indexes more than 5,700 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines. The best database for finding what papers have cited other papers. Cited references can be traced forward in time. Web of Science Training Materials available here: http://wokinfo.com/training_support/training/web-of-science
Greenwire
Comprehensive, daily coverage of environmental and energy politics and policy, includes summaries of important energy and environmental policy coverage from hundreds of print, broadcast and online sources, including editorials. Greenwire's archive of key documents provides direct links to reports, analyses, memos, court cases and over 30,000 Greenwire stories. Includes new video and transcripts. State, national, and international coverage of environmental and energy-related politics, news, policy, and markets. 1996 to the present. Updated daily.
Environmental Studies In Video
At completion, Environmental Studies in Video will contain 500 hours of film covering all realms of environmental studies, particularly ethics, policy, economics, sociology, planning and environmental science. Films were produced from 1970 to the present, and address specific topics including alternative energy, pollution control, eco-design, sustainability, farming and agriculture, the food industry, LEED certification, waste issues and climate change. 2 free perpetual access titles per CIC, no charge to us. Selections should be emailed to Mary Siegel at siegel@alexanderstreet.com
Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index
Access to articles in the subject areas of Horticulture, Botany, Garden and Landscape Design, Ecology, Plant and Garden Conservation, Horticultural Therapy, and Sustainable Horticultural Design Practices.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Ecology
Online bibliographic guide to current scholarship, containing original commentary and annotations. Gathers together a large collection of articles addressing themes and topics within Ecology.

Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides fulltext to news, business and legal information. Newspapers date back to the 1970's. Please Note: The Washington Post is no longer included in Nexis Uni.The National Newspapers Core database includes the Washington Post.
National Newspapers Core
Full text articles from the Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, The New York Times, The Sun (Baltimore), and The Washington Post. Covers national, international and local news. The NYT provides text of important speeches and documents; WSJ reports on international finance; and WP offers strong political reporting, editorials and columnists.

Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides fulltext to news, business and legal information. Newspapers date back to the 1970's. Please Note: The Washington Post is no longer included in Nexis Uni.The National Newspapers Core database includes the Washington Post.
Westlaw Campus Research
Westlaw Campus Research is a collection of thousands of law, news, and business publications

Law: The heart of Westlaw Campus Research is the full text of all federal and state U.S. cases. The collection also includes other legal primary sources and many secondary sources, including over 800 law reviews and journals.

News: The collection contains the full text of hundreds of newspapers, newswires, newsletters, broadcast transcripts, magazines, and trade journals from the US and around the globe.

Business: The collection contains company information from a variety of sources, including Westlaw’s Company Investigator system.
HeinOnline Law Journal Library
Full-text images of over 1,100 journals back to issue 1 of volume 1 of the each title. The goal of the Hein company is eventually to scan every law review title ever published. To see the current holdings of HeinOnline, click the "Collection Index" link on the top left-hand side of the screen.