Children's Literature

Compiled by two experienced librarians, Across Cultures introduces more than 400 recent fiction and nonfiction multicultural resources for preschool through grade 6 and encourages readers to make literature about diversity an integral part of their program of instruction. Arranged in thematic groupings (Identity and Self-Image, Family and Friends, Traditions, Exploring the Past in Diverse Communities, for example), this lively volume links diverse peoples, themes, and issues. It presents both annotations and practical advice on programming strategies. Connections are made to projects, graphic organizers, and activities.

This annotated list of over three hundred multicultural children's books is a comprehensive list of books from diverse cultures. Children from different cultures as well as children for whom English is not their first language will see themselves represented in authentic ways. Children from mainstream America will also have the opportunity to learn about different cultures. While there is a plethora of multicultural literature for children, there is an absence of tools to connect the literature to activities. In this book there are several activities which are connected to and support the stories discussed. These activities, along with the "A Suggestion to Broaden Cultural Awareness" section, allow adults and children to view literature and cultural diversity from different perspectives. Children considered different will feel validated as they begin to learn that being different is not a deficit. Early childhood and elementary teachers will find this annotated list of books a good resource for connecting children to books. The variety of books will also help children to understand and appreciate the positive aspects of diversity.

Looking for books guaranteed to grab the attention and interest of boys? Dip into this guide for a wealth of ideas. This book is designed to help librarians, teachers, and parents find fiction and nonfiction titles that will be both interesting and motivating for young male readers. The 500 entries are organized by genre, each with a brief plot summary, indication of reading level, and complete bibliographic information. This volume will help adults sift through the plethora of titles published for children each year and identify suitable titles for individual boys. Grades 3-10.

Bring your children's collection up to date with this supplement to the eighth edition of the classic guide that includes nearly 4,500 new titles that helps you to identify the right books for your patrons and to create theme- and genre-based reading lists. The thematic organization, concise annotations, and complete bibliographic data plus review citations make this volume equally useful for reader's advisory, research, and collection development. Books in series and award winners are noted.

This supplement to the 8th edition (2006) of the classic guide to children's books incluldes nearly 4,500 new in-print titles recommended for children in grades PreK-6. The thematic organization, concise annotations, and complete bibliographic data plus review citations make this volume equally useful for reader's advisory, research, and collection development. Books in series and award winners are noted.

"Gain easy access to more than 25,000 in-print titles recommended for children in grades K-6 with this classic guide to children's books. More than 5,000 entries are new to this volume, which updates both Best Books for Children, 7th Edition (2002), and the Supplement to that volume (2003). The thematic organization, concise annotations, and complete bibliographic data plus review citations make this volume an invaluable guide for evaluating and updating your collection, identifying just the right book for your patron, and creating theme- and genre-based reading lists. Books in series and award winners are noted."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

Covering some 12,000 titles published from 2001 to 2003, most of which have been recommended in at least two sources, this thematic work offers you a state of the art reading guide and selection tool for teen reading material, both fiction and nonfiction.

This highly affordable and authoritative guide enables you to thoroughly evaluate your teen literature collection and to create thematic and genre-oriented reading lists for curriculum-related and recreational reading. The entries provide annotations with lively, succinct plot summaries and indications of ISBNs, price, reading level, and review citations. Award-winning and series titles are noted. If you work with teens and teen literature, this guide is a must-purchase. Grades 9-12.

Best Books for Young Adults is back and better than ever! The new third edition continues to be the most comprehensive and effective reference for great seeding for young adults, including 40 years of best YA books plus - Background on the history, committee procedures, and current issues facing the BBYA Committee - A recap of the current trends in teen literature as reflected in the past decease of BBYA lists - Twenty-seven themed and annotated reproducible booklist, perfect for readers' advisory with teens, parents, teachers--even for collection development - Indexed annotated lists extending back to 1966 Teen service librarians in public and school libraries, along with parents and middle and high school English teachers, will welcome this fully updated third edition, featuring a thought-provoking foreword from Betty Carter. YA service luminary and editor of the first two editions of BBYA.

Following the successful formula of the acclaimed Best Books for Children, this new guide will help you confidently select the books that best suit the needs of today's teen readers. Perfect for grades 7-10, the book also includes adult books suitable for young adult readers. Providing an evaluative listing of thousands of titles that have received two or more recommendations from leading journals, Best Books for Teen Readers will enhance the curriculum, encourage recreational reading, and assist in preparing general and specific reading lists. And, as with all of the "Best Books," you're assured of getting the most value for your book buying budget.

"With a user-friendly, subject-based organization like its companion guide to picture books, A to Zoo, this annotated volume profiles some 3,600 of the best books for emerging readers. First readers feature lively interaction between text and illustration, and cover topics with true kid-appeal." "Entries cover titles published mostly within the past decade (a few classic and benchmark titles are included, as well). Each entry offers bibliographic information, a brief plot summary, and description of illustrations and other features to help you make informed selection and programming decisions." "A list of outstanding first readers, chosen for their exceptional language and treatment of subject, makes collection development easy, and four indexes - title, illustrator, series, and reading level - provide additional access points. Lexile levels are given where available, making this volume particularly valuable for reading teachers as well as for librarians and parents."--BOOK JACKET.

Literature written for young adults is a fairly recent phenomenon. The history of this genre is considerably shorter than the history of children's literature, of which it is part. But it is no less exciting. Young adult, or YA, literature did not exist as a field of study until the late 1960s. The defining line between children's literature and adult literature is primarily marked by the age and interest of readers. Librarians, teachers, editors, parents, and literary critics took their cues from `the consumers': young people between the ages of twelve and eighteen. This encyclopedia is the first of its kind. It covers in hundreds of signed biographical-critical articles, by some one-hundred experts, the vital field of YA literature. Among the authors covered are some of the most popular in world literature as well as today's best-sellers: Doug Adams, Judy Blume, Samuel Clemens (Mark Twain), Lemony Snicket, Karl May, J. K. Rowling, J. D. Salinger, J. R. R. Tolkien and many others. Like its predecessor, The Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature, The Continuum Encyclopedia of Young Adult Literature includes some fifty topical entries to cover the work of authors who, because of constraints of space, do not receive their own entry. These substantive articles include: Asian American Literature, Audio Books, Canadian Books for YA, Crossover from Tween to Teen, Fairy Tale Retellings, The Graphic Novel, Multicultural Literature, Picture Books for YA, Superheroes and the Comics of the 1960s, as well as much more. An appendix lists all winners of major awards in the YA field. The Continuum Encyclopedia of Young Adult Literature is that most unusual reference book: one that will impact the shape of the work it describes.

Covering nearly 6,000 titles in such popular genres as crime, adventure, romance, western, science fiction, fantasy, and horror, Herald's best-selling reference defines each, describes its characteristics and subgenres, and groups authors and books according to type or subject. You'll also learn about some of the latest subgenres that have emerged.

Enhance your historical fiction collection - and its popularity with readers and value in the classroom - with this wide-ranging guide. After discussion of various aspects of the genre (its importance, history, criteria for evaluation, and methods of presentation), the author takes an in-depth look at 80 of the best historical fiction novels published for this age group in the last 10 to 15 years. For each title there is a brief introduction discussing setting, historical background, and point of view; a list of characters; a detailed plot summary; and ways to introduce the book to students, including important passages for reading or retelling. This versatile tool, written by a recognized expert in children's literature, can be used for readers' advisory, curricular support, title selection, and collection development. Grades 4-8.

"Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone, A Wrinkle in Time, Blubber, Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark - these are some of the most beloved, and most challenged, books. Leaving controversial titles such as these out of your collection or limiting their access is not the answer to challenges. The best-selling Hit List series gives you the information you need to defend challenged books with an informed response, all the while ensuring free access to young book lovers." "Featuring more than three dozen "hot button" books, Hit List for Children 2 presents a who's who of children's literature writers including Dahl, Allard, Blume, Rowling, Stine, L'Engle, Lowry, and Naylor. With a profile of each book that includes its plot, characters, published reviews, awards and prizes, and author resources, you will be prepared to answer even the toughest attacks. The most recent and compelling challenges are also discussed so that you will be prepared to address specific points."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

Find quality books for young readers the easy way. This guide arranges classic titles and contemporary favorites by genre and theme so users can find books similar to the ones they love. Chapters include contemporary life, fantasy, animals, historical fiction, and mystery. This book helps you smoothly answer the question, "What else can I read?"

"With this handy new reference tool, you'll be equipped to answer questions for young people who know exactly what they want as well as for those who have no idea but just know that they want something "good."" "To prepare this must-have collection full of expert picks, seasoned librarians Deeds ad Chastain canvassed children's librarians from around the country, bringing together the wisdom and experiences of librarians from both school and public library settings. Organized around 44 topics identified by the panel as "the most frequently requested by kids," the end result is chock full of more than 500 annotated book recommendations." "For all librarians serving young readers, this is an essential reference packed with clear, concise, and kid-friendly annotations."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

Whether used for the development and support of an existing collection or for the creation of a new collection serving Spanish-speaking youngsters, this outstanding resource is an essential tool. Following the same format as the highly praised 1994-1995 edition, Schon presents critical annotations for 941 books, including reference, nonfiction, and fiction.

Stay abreast of the latest children's picture books with this update of your favorite reference tool. This supplement offers you current information on more than 2,000 fiction and nonfiction picture books for children published 2005-2007. Following the pattern of previous volumes, it consists of a subject guide, a bibliographic guide, and title and illustrator indexes. This is an indispensable guide to children's literature, used both in reader's advisory and collection building.

This best-selling standard reference resource offers you up-to-date information on fiction and nonfiction picture books for children. Comprehensive and easy to use, it consists of a subject guide, a bibliographic guide, and title and illustrator indexes. This 7th edition adds more than 4,000 titles published since 2001. An introduction discusses the history and amazing growth of English-language picture books. A to Zoo is used both in reader's advisory and collection building.

"This new edition with all new content is packed with resources for inspiring children with the rich textures, traditions, stories, pictures, and music from around the world. Featuring African, Caribbean, Indian, Jewish-American, Korean, Latin American, Middle Eastern, Native American, and Russian craft and program ideas, each chapter features a short essay and recommended children's books (grade levels included), websites, videos, audiotapes, and directions for programming materials."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

The World through Children's Books is a valuable and easy-to-use tool for librarians, teachers and others who seek to promote international understanding through children's literature. The annotated bibliography, organized geographically by world region and country, contains nearly 700 books representing 73 countries. Sponsored by the United States Board on Books for Young People (USBBY).