Research Guides: HIST 208E Resistance in History, 17th to 19th Century (JP Fetherston): Amistad

Contemporary Books and Pamphlets

To find contemporary books and pamphlets about the Amistad, including reports on court cases and congressional documents, use the advanced search in UMDiscover and limit publication dates to 1839 to 1842. Many of these documents have been digitized and are available online.

Contemporary Periodicals and Newspapers with articles about the Amistad

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1-5
This collection includes digitized images of over 6,500 American magazines and journals published between 1691 and 1877. The collection is available in five series: Series 1 (1691-1820); Series 2 (1821-1837) Series 3 (1838-1852)' Series 4 (1853-1865) and Series 5 (1866-1877). The series can be searched separately or in combination.
American Periodicals Series
Full text images of over 1,100 colonial and early American magazines and periodicals spanning from colonial times to the mid 20th century. Titles range from America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository, to popular magazines like Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal. Useful for the study of American history, literature, culture, sciences and social sciences. Time span: 1740-1900
African American Newspapers
This collection of African-American newspapers contains information about the cultural life and history during the 1800s, and contains first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day pertaining to African Americans.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
Digitized and fully searchable collections of more than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.
America's Historical Newspapers
Digitized and fully searchable collections of early American newspapers. Includes five databases, Early American Newspapers Series 1 - 3 and African American Newspapers which can be searched together or separately, as well as select Maryland newspapers including the Maryland Gazette (1728-1832) and Baltimore American (1861-1870, 1903-1922). Early American Newspapers includes more than 1,000 U.S. newspapers published between 1690 and 1922. African American Newspaper includes more than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Provides access to a collection of 400 U.S. newspapers, with over 1.7 million pages of content. Coverage includes a cross-section of publications from political party papers, illustrated papers, as well as major papers and African American, Native American, women's rights and labor group publications.