D.C. punk and indie fanzine collection, 1977-2024 (bulk 1981-1998)
The D.C. punk and indie fanzine collection (DCPIFC) seeks to document the variety of publications that were created by fans of and participants in the punk and indie music scenes that have thrived in the Washington, D.C.-area since the late 1970s. The DCPIFC contains fanzines created by members of the D.C. punk and indie music communities, as well as fanzines from outside of D.C. that include coverage of D.C. punk and indie music. The collection includes primarily paper fanzines, but it also includes born digital fanzines and digitized files of some paper fanzine materials.
Amy Heneveld collection of punk fliers and zines, 1992-2001 (bulk 1992-1996)
Amy Heneveld (b. 1978) was a participant in the Washington, D.C. punk scene of the 1990s and the riot grrrl punk feminist movement, as well as a member of the bands Meltdown and the Danaides. The Amy Heneveld collection of punk fliers and zines was collected by Heneveld throughout the 1990s. The collection includes fliers for punk concerts, as well as feminist and riot grrrl zines
Ian MacKaye digital collection of punk fanzines, 1978-2020 (bulk 1986-2003)
Ian MacKaye (b. 1962) is an American musician, record producer, and co-owner of Dischord Records. The Ian MacKaye digital collection of punk fanzines contains material from 1978 to 2020, and remains ongoing; the bulk of the material dates from 1986 to 2003, when MacKaye was a member of the punk band Fugazi. This collection contains digitized versions of print fanzines that MacKaye collected pertaining to punk music, culture, and communities both domestic and international. Many of the items contained in this collection feature interviews with MacKaye or other members of associated bands.
Daisy Rooks collection, 1992-1994
Daisy Rooks (b. September 11, 1975) is a scholar and an educator who was also a participant in the Washington, D.C. hardcore punk music and fanzine scene as a teenager and young adult in the 1990s. Rooks was involved in the production of numerous zines, most notably Not Even. Along with her sister and friends, she was also a part of the Chicks Up Front Posse, an informal group that fought against sexism in the hardcore punk scene. The Daisy Rooks collection consists of zine production boards, photocopies, ephemera, and published zines.
Kurt Sayenga collection, 1985-1989 (bulk 1986-1987)
Kurt Sayenga (b. 1961) is a director, writer, producer, artist, and graphic designer who was also the editor and publisher of Greed fanzine from 1985 to 1989. This collection contains materials created by Sayenga related to the production and promotion of Greed.
Zines in UMD's general library collections
Some zines can also be found in the Irving and Margery Morgan Lowens Special Collections Room at the Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library. These items do not circulate and can only be access in the Lowens Room. Select zines that can be found there include:
Chihuahua (No. 11), (call number ML3533.8.C454)
Circumspect (No. 3), (ML3533.8 C5738)
Hardcore Architecture (2015), (ML3534.3.F572)
Macaroni & Cheese (No. 1), (ML3533.8.M337)
Outpunk (No.5), (ML3533.8.O98)
Shredding Paper (No.3), (ML3533.8 .S574)
The DC Punk Archive Zine Library is a virtual zine collection at the DC Public Library. Items in the collection cover the DC music scene and include interviews, comics, reviews, photos, and other content. Additional zines are available for viewing at the DCPL People's Archive located at the Martin Luther King Junior Library in downtown DC.
The Coslet-Sapienza Collection of Fanzines, University of Maryland, Baltimore County
The Coslet-Sapienza Collection of fanzines is comprised of over 15,000 science fiction fanzines. Fanzines can be accessed onsite at UMBC.
A unique collection of around 200 zines created by Russian youth between 1977-1998, mostly covering rock music and youth culture. The collection can be accessed onsite at the GW Special Collections Research Center.
QZAP (Queer Zine Archive Project)
The Queer Zine Archive Project, first launched in 2003, is an online archive dedicated to preserving zines created by Queer people. The site also runs a blog.
POC Zine Project is an online repository of zines made by people of color which seeks to provide access to diverse zines and independent publications.
Papercut Zine Library is a free browsing library where users can view thousands of zines. Though PZL has a physical location in Cambridge, Massachusetts, there are hundreds of zines digitized in their online collection.
The Black Zine Archive is an online archive of Black zines and independent small press works.
