Skip to Main Content
University of Maryland Libraries Logo
RESEARCH GUIDES

New York Times - Access Pass

Guide with instructions on how to activate the New York Times All Access Pass

NYT Archive Collections

The University of Maryland College Park Libraries' subscription to The New York Times website provides access to breaking news as well as blogs and other online content not included in the UMD Libraries' databases that cover the paper. On the other hand, the databases allow access to the paper’s content and more powerful searching capabilities. Students, faculty, and staff who wish to use The New York Times for research purposes should access the paper via the following means:

  • New York Times (1851-2016)

    • The New York Times Historical (1851-2016 ) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

  • ProQuest Recent Newspapers: New York Times
    • The full-page images of the digitized New York Times newspaper provide genealogists, researchers and scholars with cover-to-cover access to recent newspaper content. Every page is full-text searchable. Coverage: 2008 - recent (some content may be embargoed).
  • New York Times 1980 - (Nexis Uni)
    • Comprehensive digital coverage back to 1980. On the Nexis Uni homepage, select "A Publication" under the What are you interested in? heading. Then enter The New York Times (or any publication title) in the Find Publication space, and click SEARCH
  • New York Times 1980 - (ProQuest)

    • Comprehensive digital coverage back to 1980.

  • National Newspapers Core
    • Full text articles from the Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, The New York Times, The Sun (Baltimore), and The Washington Post. Covers national, international and local news. The NYT provides text of important speeches and documents; WSJ reports on international finance; and WP offers strong political reporting, editorials and columnists.
  • Historical newspapers
    • Searchable full-text of the Los Angeles Times (1881-1986); Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945); Chicago Tribune (1849-1986); Chicago Defender (1909-1975); Boston Globe (1872-1979); Christian Science Monitor (1908-2001); Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991); Detroit Free Press (1831-1922); St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-1922); Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005); Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002); San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922); New York Tribune (1841-1922); New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993); Hartford Courant (1764-1984); Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003); Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988); Baltimore Sun (1837-1989); San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922); Wall Street Journal (1889-1997); Washington Post (1877-1998)