Where can I find reputable private collectors and consultants on issues related to preserving broadcast history?
Of the many individuals who maintain private collections pertaining to broadcast history, the collectors and consultants listed below have the most robust websites and highest levels of expertise. Some are willing to take on materials to add to their collections, while others can offer advice or guidance on how to appraise and manage personal collections.
Collectors
The California Historical Radio Society The goal of the California Historical Radio Society (CHRS) is “to provide a forum for exchanging ideas and information on the history of radio and broadcasting, particularly in the West, with the emphasis on collecting, restoring and displaying vintage equipment, and related materials.”
Rick Burnett’s Twin Cities Radio Airchecks This site preserves Twin Cities area airchecks from the 1960s and 70s, representing a variety of stations, formats, and DJs. The purpose of this site is to provide radio history and encourage archival preservation and research. Site owner Rick Burnett welcomes related donations.
World Radio History A treasure trove of digitized publications related to television and radio history, this site contains scans of magazines, journals, books, programs, yearbooks, reports, surveys, catalogs, logs and manuals that are indexed by date. Site owner David Gleason also states that “offers of donation or loan of publications will get near-instant response.” They do not accept or manage AV materials.
Consultants
ARSC Audio Preservation and Restoration Directory This 13-page pdf directory includes Association for Recorded Sound Collections (ARSC) members around the country who offer services for audio preservation and restoration, as well as ARSC members and non-members who offer equipment and supplies for audio preservation and restoration.
Old Time Radio Researchers A group of collectors and enthusiasts with a mission to “accurately preserve classic old time radio series from the past in order for future generations to enjoy them.” The OTRR site contains program logs, scripts, audio recordings, articles, and scanned images of publications. They welcome volunteers and fellow enthusiasts, and will accept donations of digitized materials that predate 1964.
RadioGOLDINdex: The Definitive Database of Old-Time Radio Programs. This site, now hosted by University of Missouri-Kansas City, was created by former radio broadcaster, collector, and historian J. David Goldin. His impressive knowledge of broadcast history as well as the existence and availability of archived programs can help other collectors contextualize and manage their own materials.
