Religious Studies

17th and 18th Century Nichols Collection Newspapers Part of the British Library Newspapers collection, 17th and 18th Century Nichols Collection Newspapers is full text, fully searchable digital archive of newspapers and news pamphlets from the United Kingdom.

Part of the British Library Newspapers collection, 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers is a full-text, fully searchable digital archive of nearly 1,270 newspapers and news pamphlets from the United Kingdom.

Covers North American (U.S. and Canadian) scholarship on East-Central Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union. It contains bibliographic records for journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, online resources, and selected government publications. Anthropology, Ethnology, and Archaeology; Culture and the Arts; Economics and Foreign Trade; Education and Scholarship; Geography and Demography; Government, Law, and Politics; History; International Relations; Language and Linguistics; Literature; Military Affairs; Philosophy, Political Theory, and Ideology; Psychology; Religion; Science and Technology; Sociology; Women's Studies. 1990-present.

Core American history database now includes unique full-text coverage of nearly 200 journals and 100 books. Information on articles, books, book reviews, and dissertations on U.S. and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Covers more than 2000 international worldwide. All aspects of historical research. Time span: 1964-present.

A collection of nearly 14,000 letters by Presbyterian missionaries to American Indians. The missionaries served among many different tribal groups and their letters describe many aspects of Native American society and culture.

This collection of digitized manuscripts, works of art, recent American Indian newspapers, rare books, photographs, and maps, drawn from the Edward E. Ayer Collection at the Newberry Library, Chicago, documents American Indian life over four centuries.

Full text images of over 1,100 colonial and early American magazines and periodicals spanning from colonial times to the mid 20th century. Titles range from America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository, to popular magazines like Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal. Useful for the study of American history, literature, culture, sciences and social sciences. Time span: 1740-1900

Derived from the archives of the Central Intelligence Agency. Searchable digital archive of primary source documents covering foreign perspectives of American racial issues in the mid-20th century. Also covers race relations in Latin America, Europe, Africa and Asia.

Index to journal articles, books, articles in collections, and conference papers on multiple aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilization. Publications in European and other languages on multiple aspects of Greek and Roman antiquity, including literature and linguistics, history, philosophy, art, religion, music, and science, from the second millennium B.C.E. to the early Middle Ages (ca. 500-800 C.E.). Indexing from 1924-2015

Indexes entries at least two pages long in nearly 900 journals and monographic series held in Harvard University's Tozzer Library. These include articles, reports, commentaries, and obituaries. Comprehensive international resource for the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. Covers articles published from the late 19th century to the present.

Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource brings 100 years of anthropological material online to scholars and the public. Coverage includes a complete electronic archive of all AAA journals through 2003 plus current issues for 15 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications.

A catalog of reviews of current books and Newcomers and New Media (CD-ROMs/DVDs) around the world of archaeology. Resources are by category.

A Comprehensive Resource for Art Information featuring indexing and abstracts from an international array of publications, this database is a comprehensive resource covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture and much more. Over 600 periodicals dating back to 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals Indexing and abstracts of over 13,000 art dissertations Indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions. Time span: 1984-present.

Gale Primary Sources is a research platform that allows for cross searching amongst multiple Gale collections. It provides a seamless research experience that enables scholars to search across millions of pages of primary sources in the humanities from the 15th to the 20th centuries. Databases in Artemis include: 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, 19th Century British Newspapers, 19th Century UK Periodicals, The Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2011, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, The Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2010, The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003, The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926, The Making of the Modern World, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Sabin Americana, 1500-1926, and The Times Digital Archive

Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information and cited references found in nearly 1,130 of the world's leading arts & humanities journals. Also, covers individually selected, relevant items from approximately 7,000 of the world's leading science and social sciences journals. 1975 to present; weekly updates.

Repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images, from across many periods and cultures. Architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and other forms of visual culture are represented. Provides tools to actively use images for scholarship, teaching, and learning.

Asia-Studies.com brings together thousands of full-text reports covering 53 countries on a multitude of business, government, economic, and social issues. Examples of specific subject coverage include finance, trade, environment, human resources development, best practices in government, fisheries, tourism, education and women's studies to name a few. The average study is 50 pages long, and contains statistics, research, analysis, and forecasts. Most contain statistical tables, charts, and/or graphs. Country coverage includes all of Asia, Australia/New Zealand, the Americas Pacific Rim countries, and Pacific islands. Users can browse by country to find country specific annual statistical overviews. Multi-country and Asia-wide comparisons are also available. Time span: 1999-present.

The world's largest electronic collection of Jewish texts in Hebrew ever recorded, which embody thousands of years of Jewish learning. 5 simultaneous users. Responsa Literature - rabbinic case-law rulings which represent the historical-sociological milieu of real-life situations; the Bible, the Talmud and their principal commentaries; works about Jewish law and customs; codes of Jewish law, such as Maimonides' Mishneh Torah and the Shulchan Aruch with its principal commentaries; midrashim, Zohar, etc.

Contains the content of selected journals and books published by the Biblical Archaeology Society. Includes each issue of the magazines Biblical archaeology review, Bible review, and Archaeology odyssey, and the content of five books. The site allows users to browse the entire corpus of material and perform Boolean searches by title, author, subject, word, issue, or date range in any combination.

References Western-language books, journal articles, and conference proceedings, including citations to all articles from the 100 most-used journals in Asian Studies. Covers a wide range of subject areas in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences on all parts of Asia. Time span: 1971- present.

The Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) contains abstracts and indexes of current publications in the history of art, including scholarly journals, conferences, book, exhibition reviews, and exhibition catalogues. The records consist of bibliographic citations, abstracts, and indexing; abstracts may be in English or in French, index terms (descriptors) are in both English and French. Major areas of coverage include European art from late antiquity (4th c. A.d.) to present, American art from European discoveries to present, traditional fine arts, decorative and applied arts, prints, drawing, and sculpture, folk and industrial art, archaeology, architecture and design, theater and festivals, painting and photography, performance art, aspects of material culture of interest to art historians, art reflecting western tradition in Asia, Africa, and Australia. 1975-2009; continued by International Bibliography of Art

Online full-text primary source collection is the first to comprehensively detail the extensive work of African Americans to abolish slavery in the United States prior to the Civil War.

The British Library Newspapers collection feature London national newspapers, English regional papers, and newspapers from Scotland, Northern Ireland, and Wales. It includes the following six collections which can be searched separately or together: Part I: 47 publications from 1800-1900; Part II: 22 publications from 1800-1900; Part III: 35 publications from 1741-1950; Part IV: 23 publications from 1732-1950; Part V: 1746-1950 and Part VI: Ireland, 1783-1950..

British Periodicals provides access to the searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images.

Cambridge Histories Online offers online accessibility to full text titles for any type of historical research or study of a subject that has a historical element. Includes all the latest editions of the print series with automatic updates.Coverage: complete set through 2024

CRL is a consortium of North American academic and independent research libraries. The consortium acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, archives, and other traditional and digital resources for research and teaching and makes them available to member institutions through ILL. CRL holds over four million newspapers, journals, dissertations, archives, government publications, and other traditional and digital resources for research and teaching. Holdings include such diverse materials as 800,000 doctoral dissertations (including those of Albert Einstein, Dag Hammarskjold and other Nobel laureates); some of the earliest African-American newspapers; and the 100,000-plus-page archive of Cambodia's Khmer Rouge security force. Emphasis is on materials produced outside the United States, and the Center has special strength in publications and archives from many developing nations. These holdings are available for use by students, scholars and other researchers affiliated with CRL member institutions. For more information see https://www.crl.edu/?l1=5 All, although majority of materials emphasise early modern and modern periods.

Containing publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, legislative histories on landmark legislation, briefs from relevant U.S. Supreme Court cases, and more, this database covers civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans.

A collection of thousands of scanned documents and bibliographic records relating to English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the 16th and 18th centuries. The earliest English settlements in North America, encounters with Native Americans, piracy in the Atlantic and Caribbean, the trade in slaves and English conflicts with the Spanish and French are all covered in this database.

The digital Loeb Classical Library extends the founding mission of James Loeb with an interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature.

This is an Open Access database. The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) contains over 15,000 peer-reviewed open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities. Open access journals from all countries and in all languages are included.

This digital collection contains virtually every books, pamphlet and broadside published in America over a 160-year period. American History. Contains books, pamphlets, games, periodicals, etc. 17th and 18th Century

Based on the noted American Bibliography, 1801-1819, provides a comprehensive set of American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the early part of the 19th century.

Database of most imprints (books, pamphlets, and broadsides) published in English anywhere or published in any language in English-speaking countries, appearing from 1473 to 1700. One can search the full ASCII text of selected* documents and view both the text and the corresponding original page images. Useful for research in all subject areas during the early modern period. Also helpful to study the history of books and printing.

Fully-searchable database of full-text primary resources dating from 1492 to 1969. Includes Exploration journals and logs, correspondence, diaries; official government papers; missionary papers; travel writing; slave papers; maps; marketing posters; photographs; and Illustrations, with many in color.

Enslaved.org is an open-source growing database which contains information on hundreds of thousands of individuals involved in the historical slave trade including enslaved people, slave owners, and slave traders.

Some 170 German-language books and pamphlets, dating mostly from the 1930s. The collection also includes tracts against other groups, including Jehovaha's Witnesses, Jesuits, and Freemasons.

Provides insight into German folklore on literature and popular culture through a collection of texts,chapbooks, folklore, popular superstition and fairy tales of the German Renaissance.

Primary source documents derived from reports gathered between the early 1940s and 1996 by a U.S. government organization that became part of the CIA, including translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals and government documents. Provides local perspectives and global insight on immigration in the mid-to-late 20th century. Covers issues such as ethnic friction and xenophobia, religious movements, border issues, the treatment of refugees and more.

An international bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. It covers their history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages and literatures. It includes material published by Western orientalists, social scientists and Muslims writing in European languages. The file contains indexing for 3,470 titles with coverage dating back to 1906. ISBNs are not part of a searchable field in this database. Do not attempt to search on authors by truncating the first name. Last, F? will often result in zero hits. Try searching on Last or Last, First

Index to Jewish Periodicals is the definitive index on Jewish history, activity and thought. This database provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs.

An index to core journals, monographs, exhibition catalogs, conference proceedings, and other materials covering European Art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945; includes visual arts in all media, decorative and applied arts, architecture, archaeology and many related fields. Continues Bibliography of the History of Art. 2009-presnet.

The International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) is one of three databases that is bundled together in the Brepolis Medieval and Early Modern Bibliographies database. The Library subscribes only to the IMB, which includes information about articles, conference proceedings, and Festschriften on all aspects of medieval studies in the period of 450 to 1500 for Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa.

Includes JITSU (Chinese character dictionary), NIKKOKU (Shogakkan Japanese language dictionary online), NIHON REKISHI CHIMEI TAIKEI Encyclopedia of Japanese historical and geographical names), KOKUSHI DAIJITEN WEB (Encyclopedia of Japanese history), WEB NIHON KINDAI BUNGAKKAN (WEB apanese modern literature), along with all the contents of the Japan Knowledge Classic, and can be searched with a single click making research easy.

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

An Indispensable resource for all those interested in understanding and exploring the history of Jewish communities in America from their first arrival in New York in 1654 to the integral part that they pay today It makes available to scholars some of the American Jewish Historical Society's most important and valuable archival collections.

This encyclopedia seeks to make available to all who are interested in Jewish history and culture the varied accomplishments of Jewish women and their many contributions to the Jewish historical experience over the course of the past three millennia.

Electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published from volume 1, issue 1. Please note, most journals have a “moving wall” (time lag) of three to five years between the most current issue published and content available on JSTOR. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.

LION contains 500,000 primary literary texts spanning the eighth century to the present day. It also contains up-to-date, fully searchable criticism and reference resources. Contemporary criticism is available through the full text of over 425 literature journals. The literary index, the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL), is fully integrated and provides researchers one of the most important bibliographic sources for literature studies. Helpful companions and reference resources from key publishers such as Routledge, Oxford University Press, and Cambridge University Press help provide context to authors and works. Works of English and American literature, literary criticism and biographies. 8th century to the present. Only 25 simultaneous users allowed.

The Maryland History and Culture Bibliography consists of citations to articles books and doctoral dissertations about various aspects of Marylands history and culture, divided into a set standard subject categories. The citations are gathered from scholarly journals, local and state history-related newsletters and magazines.

Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies (MECAS) is a systematic and non-evaluative bibliographic index of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. This database contains more than 475,000 records. Over 15,000 records of recently published and grey literature are added annually. Subject coverage includes: political affairs & law, international relations, economic affairs - business & industry, cultural heritage, arts & humanities, society & social welfare, ethnic diversity & anthropology, significant religious events & movements and recent history (1900 - present) & archaeology. MECAS includes the following: Middle East Bibliography (1946 - 2001), Middle East Book Bibliographies, Theses & Dissertations, MECAS Citations Database and School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAS) Library Catalogue (1900 - present). Do not attempt to search on authors by truncating the first name. Last, F? will often result in zero hits. Try searching on Last or Last, First.

Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies (MECAS) is a systematic and non-evaluative bibliographic index of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. This database contains more than 475,000 records. Over 15,000 records of recently published and grey literature are added annually. Subject coverage includes: political affairs & law, international relations, economic affairs - business & industry, cultural heritage, arts & humanities, society & social welfare, ethnic diversity & anthropology, significant religious events & movements and recent history (1900 - present) & archaeology. MECAS includes the following: Middle East Bibliography (1946 - 2001), Middle East Book Bibliographies, Theses & Dissertations, MECAS Citations Database and School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAS) Library Catalogue (1900 - present). Do not attempt to search on authors by truncating the first name. Last, F? will often result in zero hits. Try searching on Last or Last, First.

Iraq 1914-1974, offers a broad range of original source material from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers covering the period from the Anglo-Indian landing in Basra in 1914 through the British Mandate in Iraq of 1920-32 to the rise of Saddam Hussein in 1974, including photographs, colour maps and contemporary film.

Over 200,000 pages of primary source documents from the British Foreign Office, Prime Minister's Office, and the War Office.

Indexes journals, books, essay collections, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies published worldwide in the areas of literary criticism, language, linguistics, rhetoric, and folklore of all countries. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) the database contains millions of citations as well as full text for over 1,000 journals.

A full-text database that provides comprehensive coverage of the African American experience. Updated quarterly, the online collection contains scholarly articles, biographies, commentaries, primary sources, subject entries, film clips, images, maps, charts, tables, web sites, and timelines. The core content of the electronic file consists of reference works including Africana; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present; Black Women in America, Second Edition; and African American National Biography. Additional reference titles include the Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature; Oxford Companion to Black British History; and selected articles from other major reference titles.

UMD has access, no need to Sign In once on the Oxford page. Accessing remotely? Follow regular remote sign in procedures for databases. Oxford Art Online provides Web access to the entire text of The Grove Dictionary of Art with quarterly additions of new material and updates to the text, plus extensive image links and all the sophisticated search advantages possible with an online reference source.

Online bibliographic guide to current scholarship, containing original commentary and annotations. Gathers together a large collection of articles addressing themes and topics within Anthropology.

Online bibliographic guide to current scholarship, containing original commentary and annotations. Gathers together a large collection of articles addressing themes and topics within Biblical Studies,

Online bibliographic guide to current scholarship, containing original commentary and annotations. Gathers together a large collection of articles addressing themes and topics within Islamic Studies.

Online bibliographic guide to current scholarship, containing original commentary and annotations. Gathers together a large collection of articles addressing themes and topics within Jewish Studies.

Online bibliographic guide to current scholarship, containing original commentary and annotations. Gathers together a large collection of articles addressing themes and topics within Latin American Studies.

Online bibliographic guide to current scholarship, containing original commentary and annotations. Gathers together a large collection of articles addressing themes and topics within Latino Studies.

Online bibliographic guide to current scholarship, containing original commentary and annotations. Gathers together a large collection of articles addressing themes and topics within Medieval Studies.

Online bibliographic guide to current scholarship, containing original commentary and annotations. Gathers together a large collection of articles addressing themes and topics within Philosophy.

Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the period of the Renaissance and Reformation, which spans roughly from the 14th through 17th centuries. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.

The Jerusalem Post was founded on December 1, 1932 as the Palestine Post. In 1950 it change its name to Jerusalem Post.

An interactive multi-media database for the study of the history, archaeology, art, and literature of archaic and classical Greece. Includes images of art and architecture, primary texts in Greek with English translation, a Greek-English lexicon, a world atlas, histories, articles and essays, and an extensive bibliography.

PERSEE, the website for scientific journals in social and human sciences, established by the Ministry of State Education, Higher Education and Research. The PERSEE website has as its mission the digitisation and online distribution of back collections of a vast corpus of periodicals. Wider availability of this rich scientific heritage will benefit French research by making it freely and publicly accessible.
Coverage:
- Annales. Histoire, Sciences sociales (éditions de l’EHESS),
- L’Homme (éditions de l’EHESS),
- Revue économique (Presses de sciences Po),
- Revue française de science politique (Presses de sciences Po)
- Bibliothèque de l’école des chartes (Société de l’écoledes chartes)
Revue de l’art (CNRS-périodiques),
Matériaux pour l’histoire de notre temps (Association des amis de la BDIC et du Musée).

Full text of recent issues of over 240 journals from 40 scholarly publishers. Covers the fields of literary studies, history, the visual & performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many other arts and humanities and social science disciplines. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many other arts and humanities and social science disciplines. Time span: Varies by journal. Some back to 1993, the majority from 1997 to the present.

Bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Material listed in Rambi iscompiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages. 1966-present.

Contains over 660,000 pages of materials that follow the development of religions and religious movements born in the U.S. from 1820 to 1990. Includes the American Religions Collection, the Shaker Collection, the FBI Files on Jonestown, Moorish Science Temple of America and the Branch Davidians, the Hall-Hoag Collection of Dissenting and Extremist Printed Propaganda and Utah and the Mormons. Traces the history and unique characteristics of movements through manuscripts, pamphlets, newsletters, ephemera, and visuals.

Schillers Werke comprises the whole of the Nationalausgabe, the finest and most complete critical edition of his works, letters, and conversations, including all illustrations, notes, variants, and indexes. It currently includes 46 volumes, with further volumes added to the Web edition, and includes notes on sources as well as on the genesis of the works and their subsequent influence on German literature.

Four-part full-text resource consisting of more than five million pages from books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, court records, and maps covering slavery and abolition issues from multiple perspectives. In four parts. Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition - focuses on the abolitionist movement. Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World - focuses on the rise of slavery in Africa and its impact on the United States, Caribbean, and Latin America. Part III: The Institution of Slavery - Focuses on slavery from 1492 to 1888, including the Shong Massacre and the Dememara insurrection. Part IV: Age of Emancipation - Focusing on emancipation efforts in the United States, Latin America, and the Caribbean.

The index features more than 1,300,000 records with subject headings from a 15,600 term sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. This product also contains informative abstracts for more than 620 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 500 "priority" coverage journals as well as over 1,390 "selective" coverage journals. Further, extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is included. Contains full text for 242 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 72 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for 547 books and monographs, and full text for 6,711 conference papers.