Search for an important book or article about your research topic in Google Scholar and use the "Cited by" and "Related articles" to locate additional related sources.
Doing research off-campus? Try out the UMD Libraries reload button! Add the button to your browser's bookmark toolbar (see instructions below), and whenever you come across a journal you think you should be able to access, click the button to reload the page through the UMD Libraries proxy.
Firefox:
Drag the button to the bookmarks toolbar or right click and select the "Bookmark This Link" option.
Chrome or Safari:
Drag the button to the bookmarks toolbar. If the bookmarks toolbar isn't visible, press Ctrl + Shift + B (in Chrome).
Microsoft Edge:
Drag the reload button to the Favorites Bar.
Important: Make sure to turn on the Favorites Bar, following the instructions below:
1. In the menu bar, select Settings and more, then select Settings.
2. Select Appearance.
3. Under Customize toolbar, for Show favorites bar turn on the favorites bar, select Always.
Internet Explorer:
Right click the button and choose the "Add to favorites..." option. You may get a warning about adding unsafe links. While it's good practice to be wary, we believe this link is safe.
*Note: Reloading the page through the proxy still won't give you access if it's a resource we don't subscribe to. To verify access, look up the journal or database in the A to Z list.
When you find an article you like in any of the Libraries' databases, just click on the "Find@UMD" button to locate the electronic version. You can also use "Find@UMD" to request items not owned by the UMD Libraries through interlibrary loan.
Be aware that the "Find@UMD" links mainly to electronic resources. Print books and some print journals cannot be identified through "Find@UMD". Use the 
link to identify print books, book chapters, and journal articles that are held in the UMD Libraries. The "Find in WorldcatUMD" link will help you locate a record for these items in Worldcat, along with the library location and call number.
Any items you cannot locate in electronic form or in the UMD Libraries, can be requested through the Libraries' Interlibrary Loan Services.
Start by searching these databases. Consider adding additional EBSCO databases.
Multi-disciplinary database providing information for nearly every area of academic study. Includes an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, as well as additional journals, magazines, newspapers and books. Multidisciplinary subjects including: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medicine, ethnic studies. 1965- present.
Once you are logged into an EBSCO database, you can select to search additional databases that are part of the EBSCO platform. Click on "Choose Databases."
Check all the databases you want to search and then click on OK.
