Research Guides: PORT 332: Brazilian Cinema: Ethical Use of Information and Citing Sources

Ethical Use of Information

Ethical Use of Information
This guide is a primer on the ethical use of information -- or, how to integrate information from other sources into your own work, in a way that gives credit to the original ideas of others.

Citing Your Sources

Consult the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers or the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, left, for the most complete information on how to cite your sources. The web pages below may also provide helpful information and examples:

Annotated Bibliographies
OWL: Purdue Online Writing Lab guide to preparing annotated bibliographies
Evaluating Sources of Information
OWL: Purdue Online Writing Lab guide to evaluating sources of information.
Using MLA Style Format
A quick guide to the 2016, 8th edition of the MLA Handbook
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) MLA Style
Includes the MLA Formatting and Style Guide.

MLA Handbooks

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: McKeldin Reference Desk LB2369 .G53 2016 (Ask for book at the Library Services Desk)
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing by Modern Language Association
Call Number: Mckeldin Reference Desk PN147 .G444 2008 (Ask for book at the Library Services Desk)

Other helpful tools

Citation Management Tools
Online bibliographic management program that allows users to create a personal database of references and generate bibliographies in a variety of formats. Users must sign up for an individual account.
Organizing your research
Strategies and tools from the Reseach Commons that can help you keep track of high level research.