Research Guides: Humanities Ebook Collections: Ebook collections

How to Download

The following are some of the large ebook collections to which the UMD Libraries subscribe. Some, like EBSCO, Proquest, and Springer, are subscription collections, others like the Open Textbook Library and WAC Clearinghouse are open access.

Most of the titles in these collections will also appear in Worldcat searches, with links to the ebooks. If you prefer you can choose to search for materials directly through the collections.

EBSCO eBook Collection
NUMBER OF SIMULTANEOUS USERS VARIES TITLE BY TITLE.
A collection of E-texts covering topics specifically chosen by Maryland Academic Libraries.
EBSCO eBook Academic Comprehensive Collection
UNLIMITED ACCESS AVAILABLE FOR ALL TITLES
A multidisciplinary collection that includes over 200,000 e-books covering a large selection of academic subjects and features e-books from leading publishers and university presses.

Internet Archive Open Library
Provide access to 1.7 million scanned versions of books. Once logged in you can register for a free account.
Open Textbook Library
Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost.

ProQuest Ebook Central
NUMBER OF SIMULTANEOUS USERS VARIES TITLE BY TITLE.
Ebrary is a collection of thousands of online full text books and other materials in a variety of subject areas.

Sage Research Methods
Designed to teach research methods, design research projects, understand or identify new methods, conduct research, and write up findings. Includes books, reference works, journal articles, instructional videos and datasets.

Springer eBooks (2005-2011)
UNLIMITED ACCESS AVAILABLE FOR ALL TITLES.
UMD SUBSCRIBES TO ONLY TITLES PUBLISHED 2005-2011,
Reproductions of over 30,000 Springer print book publications, with search capabilities and bookmarks.

UC Press Ebook Collection
SOME TITLES ARE OPEN ACCESS;
UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004, includes almost 2,000 books from academic presses on a range of topics, including art, science, history, music, religion, and fiction. Access to the entire collection of electronic books is open to all University of California faculty, staff, and students, while more than 700 of the titles are available to the public.
Writing Across the Curriculum (WAC) Clearinghouse
WAC Clearinghouse provides a wide range of open-access resources pertaining to writing and speaking across the curriculum.

Ebook access details

Many of the ebook collections to which the UMD Libraries subscribe have restrictions on how many users can access them at one time. Many also include digital rights management (DRM) software, which is embedded coding that limits the amount of copying and downloading allowed, and the amount of time during which a user can access the book. Once you are logged into the ebook you can often determine what these restrictions are by reading the introductory information which typically appears after the information about the book (title, auther, abstract, etc.)

Here ia an example from a Proquest Ebook Central title which explains that there is unlimited access, you can download up to 183 pages, you can check out the book for 21 days, etc.

undefined