Research Guides: GVPT 449G: Seminar in Political Philosophy; Global Justice: Databases

Databases: Journals

Academic Search Ultimate
Multi-disciplinary database providing information for nearly every area of academic study. Includes an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, as well as additional journals, magazines, newspapers and books. Multidisciplinary subjects including: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medicine, ethnic studies. 1965- present.
International Political Science Abstracts
This database produced by the International Political Science Association, provides coverage of articles from the world's leading journals in political science. Only 4 simultaneous users allowed. This database contains over 110,000 records from nearly 900 journals published from 1989 to the present. Approximately 8,000 new records are added to the database every year.
MasterFILE Premier
Provides abstracts and indexing for 2,650 general periodicals. Full text of articles for nearly 2,000 periodicals, and 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews. Multidisciplinary subjects including general reference, business, education, health, general science, multi-cultural issues, biography, and travel. 1975- present.
Philosophers Index with Full Text
The Philosophers Index with Full Text is the largest and most targeted database for research in philosophy. It provides indexing and full text for more than 200 peer reviewed journals in all fields of philosophy.
SocIndex with Full Text
The index features more than 1,300,000 records with subject headings from a 15,600 term sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. This product also contains informative abstracts for more than 620 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 500 "priority" coverage journals as well as over 1,390 "selective" coverage journals. Further, extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is included. Contains full text for 242 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 72 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for 547 books and monographs, and full text for 6,711 conference papers.

EbscoHost:
Many of the databases you will use are from the EbscoHost publisher and it is best to search them together to remove duplicate documents.
Academic Search Ultimate, Philosophers Index, International Political Science Abstracts, SocINDEX and PsycINFO are just a few of the databases to use.
Get into one database and then click on - Choose Databases - to add additional databases.

EbscoHost choose databases

Ebscohost Adding databases

Since you are searching multiple databases at once, it is best to filter/limit once within results
Limit Date
Limit to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals or Academic Journals
Language (if needed)
Geography
Click on a title, read the abstract, find the fulltext by clicking on the pdf or html link.

Too Many Results? In addition to the above limits:
Change Select a Field to AB Abstract

Ebsco databases Too many Results change to AB Abstract

Ebsco databases Too Many results change to AB Abstract

Business Source Complete
All aspects of business.
EconLit
EconLit is a reliable source of citations and abstracts to economic research in over 400 books, journals, dissertations, and working papers. Provides comprehensive information on accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics. 1969 - present.

Criminal Justice Abstracts
Covers essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in Criminal Justice Abstracts' coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts (EBSCO)
Provides summaries of more than 190,000 resources in criminal justice, juvenile justice and substance abuse. Includes journal articles, government reports, books, research reports and unpublished research.

Education Source
All aspects of Education.

GreenFile
Collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Business Source Complete
Covers all aspects of business.

Health Source: Consumer Edition
Large range of consumer health information/topics. This full-text database covers a wide variety of subjects, including information on specific diseases as well as overall health topics. Subjects include fitness, nutrition, diabetes, aging, women's health, children's health and more.
MEDLINE
MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals. Covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychiatry, pre-clinical sciences, medical education and health care planning and administration of services. 1966- present

PAIS Index
From 1915 - Covers the world's public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, and world politics. Includes the policy oriented literature such as economics, finance, law, education, the military, political science, public administration, international law and relations, the environment, demography, public health and science and technology.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Provides coverage of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. International coverage of political science, international relations, law, and public administration and policy. 1975 to the present.
GenderWatch
Full text database comprised of 175 titles, primarily of the many ongoing periodicals that deal with gender issues, including academic and scholarly journals, regional publications, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, booklets and reports. Subject areas covered include: government, history and politics, lesbian and gay studies, women's studies, and other humanities and social sciences disciplines. Dates of coverage of some publications are 1970 to the present.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full-text bilingual (English/Spanish) database of 200 publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. 1990 to the present. Multidisciplinary - news, culture, and history.
Public Health
Public Health Database provides access to the core literature in the field of public health. Coverage also includes a wide variety of disciplines ranging from social sciences to business to biological sciences

Similar to the EbscoHost databases, search databases together.

Get into one database, click on Change Databases and add.

ProQuest change databases

Search tips:
Change search field from Anywhere to either
Anywhere except full text
or
Abstract
ProQuest change search field from Anywehre to either NOFT or AB

JSTOR
Electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published from volume 1, issue 1. Please note, most journals have a “moving wall” (time lag) of three to five years between the most current issue published and content available on JSTOR. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Project Muse
Full text of recent issues of over 240 journals from 40 scholarly publishers. Covers the fields of literary studies, history, the visual & performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many other arts and humanities and social science disciplines. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many other arts and humanities and social science disciplines. Time span: Varies by journal. Some back to 1993, the majority from 1997 to the present.