Research Guides: JAPN 438A: Topics in Japanese Pragmatics -- Stylistic Variation in the Films of Miyazaki Hayao and Studio Ghibi: Databases

Core Journal Article Databases

Databases are subscription resources that bring articles from a variety of journals into one place with a sophisticated search engine. Use the databases below to find journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, and more related to your topic. Consult Database Finder for the full list of available subject databases.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Indexes and summarizes journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, selected conference proceedings, and book reviews on linguistics and its sub-disciplines. Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Indexes journals, books, essay collections, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies published worldwide in the areas of literary criticism, language, linguistics, rhetoric, and folklore of all countries. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) the database contains millions of citations as well as full text for over 1,000 journals.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
References Western-language books, journal articles, and conference proceedings, including citations to all articles from the 100 most-used journals in Asian Studies. Covers a wide range of subject areas in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences on all parts of Asia. Time span: 1971- present.
SocIndex with Full Text
The index features more than 1,300,000 records with subject headings from a 15,600 term sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. This product also contains informative abstracts for more than 620 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 500 "priority" coverage journals as well as over 1,390 "selective" coverage journals. Further, extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is included. Contains full text for 242 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 72 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for 547 books and monographs, and full text for 6,711 conference papers.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print archives, and university institutional repositories. HINT: Search for an important book or article about your research topic in Google Scholar and use the "Cited by" and "Related articles" to locate additional related sources.

How to Select Multiple EBSCO Databases

Once you are logged into an EBSCO database, you can select to search additional databases that are part of the EBSCO platform. Click on "Choose Databases."