What is microfilm? Microfilm is reproduction of an original document on a roll of film. It looks very much like the film in an analog camera. It is made so that it is easy to preserve documents, such as old newsprint, that may be in danger of deterioration.
How do I use microfilm? Microfilm is inserted into a reader, which then projects a full-size image of the original onto a screen so that the user can view it. Please visit us and ask a librarian to provide a quick tutorial on how to use microfilm readers.
JACAR is a digital archive of Asian historical records.Japan Center for Asian Historical Records (JACAR) is a digital archive of Asian historical records.
JACAR has built and operates an online database for releasing Asian historical records, that are historical documents of Japan concerning to the modern Japanese relations with other countries, particularly those in Asia. The documents of the archive are provided by the National Archives of Japan, the Diplomatic Archives of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan, and the National Institute for Defense Studies of the Ministry of Defense of Japan.
Primary Source Microforms
Visit the Periodicals section of McKeldin Library to view these microfilmed newspapers. Click on a title to view the full catalog record.
Each part accompanied by a printed guide containing a bibliography of documents, indexes by subjects, names, and document numbers, and a chronological listing of documents, plus a separate list containing accession numbers.
Pt. 1 reels numbered 1A and 1B; pt. 2 reels numbered 38A and 38B, 39A and 39B; pt. 3 reels numbers 49A and 49B.
Accompanied by three copies of a printed guide with subtitle: A listing and guide covering all 4 parts of the microfilm collection (108 p. ; 21 cm.)
The collection consist of 1034 rolls with information on the War with Japan, World War II, Korean War, the allied occupation of Japan and General Douglas MacArthur’s interaction with presidents, prime ministers, bishops and generals. It includes correspondence, official files, periodicals, newspapers, news clippings, articles, speeches, scrapbooks, photographs, memorabilia, reports, books, drawings and sketches.
pt. 1. Complete files for 1952-1953 (reel 1-39) -- pt. 2. Complete files for 1954-1956 (reel 40-77) -- pt. 3. Complete files for 1957-1959 (reel 78-93) -- pt. 4. Complete files for 1960-1962 (reel 94-118) -- pt. 5. Complete files for 1963-1965 (reel 119-136) -- pt. 6. Complete files for 1966-1968 (reel 137-147) -- pt. 7. Complete files for 1969-1971 (reel 148-162).