Skip to main content

Djuna Barnes Collection

Learn about resources for Djuna Barnes @ University of Maryland Libraries

Saxon Barnes Papers

Photographic reproduction of silverpoint showing bushbuck among bamboo trees -- (8 3/4" x 6 1/4". Black and white. Silverpoint by Thelma Wood), undated

*Photographic reproduction of silverpoint showing bushbuck among bamboo trees -- (8 3/4" x 6 1/4". Black and white. Silverpoint by Thelma Wood), undated

Saxon Barnes (1902-1991) was the fourth child of Wald and Elizabeth Barnes and a brother of Djuna Barnes. He was a successful banker at Citibank for thirty-six years. The collection includes photographs, correspondence, clippings, biographical information, and printed matter. Correspondents include Andrew Field, Edith Brownman, Silas Glossop, Fran McCullough, and others. Subjects of the photographs include Djuna Barnes, Miss Barnes's family and friends, and silverpoint drawings by Thelma Wood. Most of the correspondence relates to the estate or literary works of Djuna Barnes.

Frances McCollough Papers

Frances Monson McCullough (1938- ), editor and cookbook author, was born in Quantico, Virginia. She graduated from Stanford University in 1960 with a B. A. and completed post-graduate work at Brandeis University in 1960-1961. She began her career as an editor at Harper & Row in 1963, moved to Dial Press in 1980, and on to Bantam Books in 1986. She has worked with authors and poets including Djuna Barnes, Ted Hughes, Laura (Riding) Jackson, N. Scott Momaday, William DeWitt Snodgrass, and Robert Bly. This collection spans the years 1915-1994 and includes correspondence; proofs for Ladies Almanack and Creatures in an Alphabet by Djuna Barnes; a manuscript for a biography of Djuna Barnes; ephemera; and photographs. The collection is unprocessed, but a preliminary inventory is available.

Andrew Field Papers

Andrew Field (1938- ) is a scholar, translator, and author, who has published translations of Russian literature, critical studies, biographies, fiction, essays, and travel articles. He holds degrees from Columbia University as well as a Ph.D. from the University of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia. From 1977 to 1979, he was a professor at Griffith University, Brisbane, Australia. Dr. Field's papers consist of materials relating to the writing of his 1983 study of the life and work of Djuna Barnes, Djuna: the Formidable Miss Barnes (alternately entitled Djuna: The Life and Times of Djuna Barnes). Included in the collection are correspondence, manuscripts, research notes, clippings related to the book's publication and reception, and photographs. Also included is a handwritten manuscript of a poem by Barnes.

Elsa von Freytag-Loringhoven Papers

"Wheels are growing in rosebushes," illustrated poem for Djuna Barnes, undated. By Freytag-Loringhoven, Elsa von

* "Wheels are growing in rosebushes," illustrated poem for Djuna Barnes, undated. By Elsa von Freytag-Loringhoven

Elsa von Freytag-Loringhoven (1874-1927) was an avant-garde artist and poet associated with Djuna Barnes and the Dada movement. Her papers consist of correspondence, poetry, and biographical and autobiographical notes and manuscripts documenting her life and literary career. Among the significant correspondents are Djuna Barnes, Peggy Guggenheim, and Berenice Abbott.

James Stern Papers

James Stern (1904-1993) was an Irish-born author of more than fifty short stories, non-fiction, and translations. His works include The Heartless Land (1932); The Hidden Damage (1947); and The Stories of James Stern (1969). Stern's papers consist primarily of correspondence he received relating to Djuna Barnes, both from her and from others. The papers also include newspaper and magazine articles about Miss Barnes. Major topics include Nightwood, The Antiphon, mutual acquaintances, social events, personal affairs, and requests for information about Djuna Barnes.

Chester Page Collection

The Barnes family papers consist of the papers of Djuna Barnes's grandmother, Zadel Barnes Gustafson (1841-1917), her father, Brian Barnes (1865-1934) (born Henry Budington, but also known as Wald Barnes, Wald Gustafson, Brian Eglinton Barnes, and Harold Barnes), and her half-sister Muriel (b. 1899) and half-brother Duane (b. 1902). Zadel Barnes was a journalist, poet, and women's rights activist, and her papers consist of poems, a short story, two scrapbooks, correspondence which includes a letter from John Greenleaf Whittier, and legal documents. Brian Barnes was an amateur poet and composer. His papers comprise the bulk of the Barnes family papers and consist of numerous literary works and musical scores, as well as correspondence, artworks, and miscellaneous items. The papers of Duane and Muriel Barnes consist of four postcards from Djuna Barnes and miscellaneous items. The Barnes family papers also contain ninety-one family photographs, spanning four generations of the family, and sixteen photographs of artworks produced by Brian Barnes and his father-in-law John Faulkner. A collection of thirty-four books owned by Barnes family members and ranging from 1846 to 1973 has been transferred to the Marylandia and Rare Books Department.

Barnes Family Papers

The Barnes family papers consist of the papers of Djuna Barnes's grandmother, Zadel Barnes Gustafson (1841-1917), her father, Brian Barnes (1865-1934) (born Henry Budington, but also known as Wald Barnes, Wald Gustafson, Brian Eglinton Barnes, and Harold Barnes), and her half-sister Muriel (b. 1899) and half-brother Duane (b. 1902). Zadel Barnes was a journalist, poet, and women's rights activist, and her papers consist of poems, a short story, two scrapbooks, correspondence which includes a letter from John Greenleaf Whittier, and legal documents. Brian Barnes was an amateur poet and composer. His papers comprise the bulk of the Barnes family papers and consist of numerous literary works and musical scores, as well as correspondence, artworks, and miscellaneous items. The papers of Duane and Muriel Barnes consist of four postcards from Djuna Barnes and miscellaneous items. The Barnes family papers also contain ninety-one family photographs, spanning four generations of the family, and sixteen photographs of artworks produced by Brian Barnes and his father-in-law John Faulkner. A collection of thirty-four books owned by Barnes family members and ranging from 1846 to 1973 has been transferred to the Marylandia and Rare Books Department.

Irwin Cohen Collection

Irwin Cohen (1947- ), a bibliophile and book collector, is manager of the Time Warner, Inc., Bookstore in New York City. When was in high school, Mr. Cohen first encountered and read Djuna Barnes's Nightwood, which led him to collect works by and about her. He eventually met Miss Barnes, when his wife, Francesca Belanger, then senior designer at Dial Press was assigned to Miss Barnes's last book, Creatures in an Alphabet. The Cohen collection consists of artwork, clippings, manuscripts, proofs, photographs, and publications by and about Djuna Barnes and her era. Materials related to the publication of Creatures in an Alphabet form a large part of the collection. The books that came with the collection were transferred to the Marylandia and Rare Books Department and the reference collection of the Archives and Manuscripts Department.

Phillip Herring Papers

Phillip Herring (1936- ) is a scholar and biographer, who taught English at the University of Wisconsin at Madison, for over twenty five years. He attended the University of Texas at Austin where he was awarded a Ph.D. in 1966, and later worked at the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center. Herring is the author of Joyce's Uncertainty Principle (1987), Djuna: the Life and Work of Djuna Barnes (1995), and is the co-editor of Djuna Barnes' Collected Poems: With Notes Towards the Memoirs (2005). His papers consist of photographs acquired during the writing of his Barnes biography. Subjects include Djuna Barnes, her family and friends, and locations relating to Barnes' life.