Research Guides: Tests and Measurements: Databases

Tests & Measurements - Databases

Which databases should I search in?

These databases deal specifically with tests, measurements, and assessment tools.

ETS Test Collection
This search engine for the Educational Testing Service (ETS), the ETS Test Collection database is an index to more than 25,000 tests; "With information about tests from the early 1900s to the present, the ETS Test Collection is the largest compilation of such materials in the world." This directory differs from Mental Measurements Yearbook in that it provides information about both published and unpublished measurement tools (for the latter of which it gives journal citation information as source data). Another difference is that unlike MMY, the ETS Test Collection does not provide reviews of the tests.
(Note: may not work well with all Internet browsers--seems to work best with Explorer).
more...less...
If not in Mental Measurements Yearbook, check here.

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
This resource is essential for evaluating contemporary testing instruments. It includes educational, psychological, and vocational tests and measurements commercially published in the English language. It consists of full-text descriptive entries, references, and full-text critical reviews of assessment tools. A useful tool in the fields of education, psychology, psychiatry, behavioral science, and speech, language, and hearing. 1938-present. This electronic version of Mental Measurements Yearbook provides information on tests that are described in volumes 1 -(1938-current) of this series.

These databases will contain a wide range of information about their respective subjects, including information about tests and measurements.

Academic Search Ultimate
Multi-disciplinary database providing information for nearly every area of academic study. Includes an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, as well as additional journals, magazines, newspapers and books. Multidisciplinary subjects including: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medicine, ethnic studies. 1965- present.
Education Source
Around 1,800 journals (full-text) and over 550 books and monographs in the field of Education. Access to conference papers and indexing and abstracts from thousands of journals. Book reviews and article citations (roughly 5 million).
MEDLINE
Provides abstracts and indexing using Medical Subject Headings (MESH) for about 4,600 biomedical journals published in the U.S. and 70 foreign countries. Created by the United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals. Users can effectively search and retrieve information with Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). Covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychiatry, pre-clinical sciences, medical education and health care planning and administration of services. 1966- present.
Do not attempt to search on authors by truncating the first name. Last, F? will often result in zero hits. Try searching on Last or Last, First
There are no ISBNs in this database.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database with nearly 470 full text titles. This database covers information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry + psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
PsycINFO
PsycINFO is the most comprehensive index in psychology and related fields, with more than 1.7 million citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters and books, technical reports, and dissertations. Its holdings include material from 1,700 periodicals in over 30 languages. Covering the entire range of psychology disciplines, PsycINFO also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as psychiatry, neuroscience, medicine, sociology, education, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. PsycINFO spans 1887 to the present. PsycINFO has links to the full-text articles in PsycARTICLES and the Psychology and in the Behavioral Sciences Collection (thus the user does not have to search each of these databases separately).
Social Sciences Citation Index
Problem description: Provides an index, abstracts, and cited references for articles in the social sciences. Covers anthropology, history, linguistics, philosophy, sociology, urban studies, women's studies, psychology, political science and other social sciences related fields. Provides some full-text materials.
Social Services Abstracts
Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Social Services Abstracts
Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
SocIndex with Full Text
The index features more than 1,300,000 records with subject headings from a 15,600 term sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. This product also contains informative abstracts for more than 620 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 500 "priority" coverage journals as well as over 1,390 "selective" coverage journals. Further, extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is included. Contains full text for 242 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 72 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for 547 books and monographs, and full text for 6,711 conference papers.
ERIC
Provides access to information from over 1000 education and education-related journals as well as a variety of non journal materials, or ERIC documents. All aspects and levels of education. 1966- present. Non-journal documents are available via microfiche; they are also online from 1993-present. The database includes an online thesaurus.

San Diego State University Test Finder
"Search the SDSU Library Database of Tests, Instruments, Rating Scales, and Measures."

Database Finder and Journal Finder are your portals to research databases and electronic journals.

Databases are subscription resources that bring articles from a variety of magazines and/or journals into one place with a sophisticated search engine. Many of the databases allow you to read the entire article online. Consult Database Finder for the full list of available subject databases.

Citation Finder is an additional resource to help find specific articles.

What if I'm off-campus and can't access something?

Try out the UMD Libraries reload button! Add the button to your browser's bookmark toolbar (see instructions below), and whenever you come across a journal you think you should be able to access, click the button to reload the page through the UMD Libraries proxy.

Firefox:
Drag the button to the bookmarks toolbar or right click and select the "Bookmark This Link" option.

Chrome or Safari:
Drag the button to the bookmarks toolbar. If the bookmarks toolbar isn't visible, press Ctrl + Shift + B (in Chrome).

Internet Explorer:
Right click the button and choose the "Add to favorites..." option. You may get a warning about adding unsafe links. While it's good practice to be wary, we believe this link is safe.

*Note: Reloading the page through the proxy still won't give you access if it's a resource we don't subscribe to. To verify access, look up the journal or database in the A to Z list.