Skip to main content

Identifying and Locating Musical Sources

A Guide to RISM and other Resources

RISM

RISM is a monumental undertaking to document the existence and location of printed and manuscript music before the year 1800. RISM publishes printed catalogs and computerized indexes. The project is divided into three subseries: A = Inventories of musical sources from 1600-1800 , in manuscript and printed editions, organized by composer. B = Bibliographies of materials organized by particular topic. C= Directories of music libraries around the world. An overview of the particular volumes follows.

  • A/I-II -- Inventory of printed music and manuscripts by composer, 1600-1800
  • B/I-II -- Printed music in collections, 1500-1799
  • B/III -- The theory of music from the Carolingian age (c. 9th century) to c.1500
  • B/IV -- Manuscripts of polyphonic music, 11th-16th centuries
  • B/V -- Manuscripts of tropes and sequences
  • B/VI -- Printed writings about music, to 1800
  • B/VII -- Lute and guitar tablatures
  • B/VIII -- The German hymn
  • B/IX -- Hebrew sources of music and music theory
  • B/X -- Arabic sources of music and music theory
  • B/XI -- Ancient sources of music and music theory
  • B/XII -- Persian sources of music and music theory
  • B/XIII -- Sources of hymnody (In preparation)
  • B/XIV -- Manuscripts of processionals (liturgical books)
  • B/XV -- Masses transmitted in sources from Spain, Portugal and Latin America
  • C -- Directory of music research libraries

For specifics within these individual volumes, scroll down to the respective box below.

A/I-II

A/I-II -- Inventory of printed music and manuscripts by composer, 1600-1800

  • A/I -- Einzeldrucke vor 1800 = Printed music before 1800, 15 vols. to date.(Kassel, 1971 - ).

  • A/II -- Music manuscripts after 1600. Four databases in one:

    RISM Series A/II: Music Manuscripts after 1600
    The RISM Series A/II Database contains bibliographic records of music manuscripts written after 1600. The records include information in standard bibliographic categories as well as graphical images of over 740,000 music incipits.

    RISM Composer
    The RISM Composer Database contains more than 28,500 composer names taken mostly from RISM series A/I and A/II. The composers are researched in standard music dictionaries as well as in local special literature.

    RISM Libraries Sigla
    he RISM Libraries Sigla Database identifies more than 6,250 libraries worldwide that hold music materials relevant to RISM series. All libraries are identified by name and RISM siglum. Other information provided may include the addresses.

    RISM Bibliographic Citations Database
    The RISM Bibliographic Citations Database contains references for all thematic catalogues and other secondary sources cited in the RISM A/II Music Manuscripts Database.

One RISM A/II database freely available online is
Music Manuscripts (1600 to 1800) in British and Irish Libraries
[http://www.rism-ukie.org/hms/home.php?publiclogin=1]

B/I-II

B/I-II -- Printed music in collections, 1500-1799

  • B/I -- Lesure, François. Recueils imprimés, XVIe-XVIIe siècles: liste chronologique = Printed collections, 16th-17th centuries: chronological list. (München-Duisberg, 1960).

  • B/II -- Lesure, François. Recueils imprimés, XVIIIe siècle. (München-Duisberg, 1961). [Note: Supplement in François Lesure, "Recueils imprimés, XVIIIe siècle (RISM, B II) Supplement," Notes 28 (1971-72): 397-418.

B/III

B/III -- The theory of music from the Carolingian age (c. 9th century) to c.1500

  • B/III/1 -- Waesberghe, Joseph Smits van. The theory of music from the Carolingian era up to 1400, I: descriptive catalogue of manuscripts(München-Duisberg, 1961).

  • B/III/2 -- Fischer, Pieter. The theory of music from the Carolingian era up to 1400, II: Italy(München-Duisberg, 1968).

  • B/III/3 -- Huglo, Michel, and Christian Meyer. The theory of music: manuscripts from the Carolingian era up to c.1500 in the Federal Republic of Germany(München, 1986).

  • B/III/4 -- Huglo, Michel, and Nancy C. Phillips. The theory of music: manuscripts from the Carolingian era up to c.1500 in Great Britain and in the United States of America(München, 1992).

  • [B/III/5] -- Meyer, Christian, et al. The theory of music from the Carolingian era up to c.1500: descriptive catalogue of manuscripts: Nachträge zu Deutschland, Österreich, Slowakei, Tschechei, Ungarn, Spanien, Schweden.(München, 1997).

  • [B/III/6] -- Ruino, Cesarino, et al. The theory of music from the Carolingian era up to c.1500: descriptive catalogue of manuscripts: Nachträge zu Italien und Frankreich. (München, 2003).

B/IV

B/IV -- Manuscripts of polyphonic music, 11th-16th centuries

  • B/IV/1 -- Reaney, Gilbert. Manuscripts of polyphonic music: 11th-early 14th century(München-Duisberg, 1966).

  • B/IV/2 -- Reaney, Gilbert. Manuscripts of polyphonic music (c.1320-1400)(München-Duisberg, 1969).

  • B/IV/1-2 Suppl. -- Wathey, Andrew. Manuscripts of polyphonic music: the British Isles, 1100-1400(München, 1993).

  • B/IV/3-4 -- von Fischer, Kurt, and Max Lütolf. Handschriften mit mehrstimmiger Musik des 14., 15., und 16. Jahrhunderts(München-Duisberg, 1972).

  • B/IV/5 -- Bridgman, Nanie. Manuscrits de musique polyphonique, IVe et XVIe siècles: Italie (München, 1991)

B/V

B/V -- Manuscripts of tropes and sequences

  • B/V/1 -- Husmann, Heinrich. Tropen-und Sequenzen Handschriften(München-Duisberg, 1964)

  • [B/V/2] -- Deusen, Nancy van. Katalog der mittelalterlichen Sequenzen. (In preparation)

B/VI

B/VI -- Printed writings about music, to 1800

  • B/VI/1-2 -- Lesure, François. Écrits imprimés concernant la musique. (München-Duisberg, 1971).

B/VII

B/VII -- Lute and guitar tablatures

  • B/VII -- Boetticher, Wolfgang. Handschriftlich überlieferte Lauten- und Gitarrentabulaturen des 15. Bis 18. Jahrhunderts (München-Duisberg, 1978).

B/VIII

B/VIII -- The German hymn

  • B/VIII/1 -- Ameln, Konrad, et al. Das deutsche Kirchenlied: kritische Gesamtausgabe der Melodien: Verzeichnis der Drucke von den Anfängen bes 1800 (Kassel,1975); Register (Kassel, 1980)

B/IX

B/IX -- Hebrew sources of music and music theory

  • B/IX/1 -- Adler, Israel. Hebrew notated manuscript sources up to circa 1840: a descriptive catalogue with a checklist of printed sources(München, 1989)

  • B/IX/2 -- Adler, Israel. Hebrew writings concerning music in manuscripts and printed books from Geonic times up to 1800 (Kassel, 1975); Register (Kassel, 1989)

B/X

B/X -- Arabic sources of music and music theory

  • B/X -- Shiloah, Amnon. The theory of music in Arabic writings (c.900 - 1900): descriptive catalogue of manuscripts in libraries of Europe and the U.S.A.(München, 1979)

  • B/X A -- Shiloah, Amnon. The theory of music in Arabic writings (c.900 - 1900): descriptive catalogue of manuscripts in libraries of Egypt, Israel, Morocco, Russia, Tunisia, Uzbekistan, and supplement to B X (München, 2003).

B/XI

B/XI -- Ancient sources of music and music theory

  • B/XI -- Mathieson, Thomas J. Ancient Greek music theory: a catalogue raisonné of manuscripts (München, 1988)

B/XII

B/XII -- Persian sources of music and music theory

  • B/XII -- Massoudieh, Mohammed Taghi. Manuscrits persans concernant la musique: catalogue (München, 1996)

B/XIII

B/XIII -- Sources of hymnody (In preparation)

B/XIV

B/XIV -- Manuscripts of processionals (liturgical books)

  • B/XIV/I -- Huglo, Michel. Autriche á Espagne (München, 1999)
  • B/XIV/II -- Huglo, Michel. Autriche á France à Afrique du Sud (München, 2004)

B/XV

B/XV -- Masses transmitted in sources from Spain, Portugal and Latin America

  • B/XV -- Urchueguía, Cristina. Mehrstimmige Messen in Quellen aus Spanien, Portugal und Lateinamerika, ca. 1490-1630: Drucke, Handschriften und verlorene Quellen (München, 2005)

C

C -- Directory of music research libraries

  • C/I -- Kahn, Marian, et al. Canada and the United States, 2nd rev. ed. (Bärenreiter, 1983)

  • C/II -- Benton, Rita. Thirteen European countries[Austria, Belgium, Switzerland, Federal Republic of Germany, German Democratic Republic, Denmark, Ireland, Great Britain, Luxemburg, Norway, Sweden, Finland]. (Iowa City, 1970)

  • C/III -- Benton, Rita. Spain, France, Italy, Portugal. (Iowa City, 1972)

  • C/IV -- Hill, Cecil, et al. Australia, Israel, Japan, New Zealand. (Kassel, 1979)

  • C/V -- Moldovan, James B., and Lilian Pruett. Czechoslovakia, Hungary, Poland, Yugoslavia. (Kassel, 1985)