Skip to main content

History of the Book

A guide to resources on the the history of printing and the book using materials from University of Maryland Special Collections.

Introduction

Welcome to the Special Collections of UM Libraries
Guide to the History of the Book

This guide provides an introduction to special collection resources covering the history of the book.  It highlights materials available in the Maryland Room in Hornbake Library, as well as additional online resources. Topics include the historical development of the book, bookbinding, the printing press, book illustrations, the fine press movement, and typography.  To begin, consult the Getting Started menu below or use the tabs at the top of the page to browse the guide.   

The resources covered in this guide are available primarily in the Maryland Room in Hornbake Library.  However, the search strategies and resources discussed may serve as starting point for researching broader topics related to the history of the book.  Additional materials are located in the general collections in McKeldin Library as well as the Art Library.  Consult the Searching the Catalog section of this guide for more information on using the online catalog to locate resources available from the University of Maryland Libraries.  

Special Collections and University Archives

The Maryland Room is located on the first floor of Hornbake Library North and provides access to materials from Special Collections and University Archives.

The Maryland Room is open to University of Maryland students, faculty, and staff; faculty, students, and staff from other colleges and universities; local, national, and international scholars; and members of the general public.

Materials accessed in the Maryland Room are only available to view in the reading room, and do not circulate.  For directions, hours, and other information, please visit the Maryland Room homepage.  

Helpful links:

    Hours | Directions | Maps & Floor Plans | Jobs | Contact Us

    Information for: Visitors | People with Disabilities

    © 2015 University Libraries, University of Maryland
    McKeldin Library, Library Lane, College Park, MD 20742-7011
    (301) 405-0800
    Website Comments | Privacy Policy