Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Voting Rights Resources in Special Collections and University Archives

A research companion guide to resources related to the exhibition "Get Out the Vote: Suffrage and Disenfranchisement in America" on display in Hornbake Library September 2021 - June 2022.

Highlighted Resources

Selected resources from our collections

Women's Suffrage

Use the tabs above to discover items related to other topics.

Disenfranchisement (19th and early 20th century)

Use the tabs above to discover items related to other topics.

Civil Rights and the Voting Rights Act

Use the tabs above to explore other topics.

1970s and 1980s Voting Issues

Use the tabs above to explore other topics.

1990s and 2000s Voting Issues

Use the tabs above to explore other topics.

Contemporary Voting Issues

Use the tabs above to explore other topics.

The following collections are a part of our University Archives collection of publications of student organizations. 

Secondary sources

For more books about voting rights issues, explore the catalog. 
These items are from the Special Collections and University Archives collections.

Web resources

Search Archival Collections at University of Maryland Libraries

Explore Digital Collections

Digital collections

Search the Catalog

Use the following terms as a guide for searching the catalog

  • Ballot
  • Disenfranchise / disenfranchisement
  • Disfranchise / disfranchisement
  • Election
  • Enfranchise / enfranchisement
  • Jim Crow
  • Polling
  • Poll
  • Precinct
  • Register
  • Registration
  • Suffrage
  • Suffragette
  • Suffragist
  • Vote
  • Voter
  • Voting