Skip to main content

Early Modern Works in Special Collections

A guide to works between 1500 and 1700 in Rare Books and Special Collections.

About the Rare Books Collection

Literature and Rare Books Collections in Special Collections and University Archives  are a rich resource open to students, researchers, and the general public.

Rare Books in Hornbake Library contain works dating from the 15th century to the present. These books, pamphlets, and other printed materials cover a wide range of topics, including history, literature, politics, science, and the history of the book. Modernism, Victorian, Early Modern, and Romantic literary genres are well represented.

Literary Manuscript collections contains photographs, correspondence, ephemera, and other primary source materials documenting the life and work of authors, editors, and literary organizations.

 

Searching Rare Books at UMD

Use the University of Maryland classic catalog to search for titles in the rare book collection by date of publication, author, or keyword. Select Advanced Search and select Marylandia and Rare Books to search the rare book collection in Special Collections and University Archives.  To narrow search results enter dates, language, or author if known.

Contact us with any questions about locating items in the rare book collections in Special Collections and University Archives at the University of Maryland.

All rare books can be requested online and viewed in the Maryland Room, located in Hornbake Library at the University of Maryland College Park. For more information about requesting rare books, visit the guide to Using Special Collections and University Archives.