Architecture: Design Research

A comprehensive architecture reference, with emphasis on architectural processes and building technology.

Includes architects, terms, techniques, and materials. Provides bibliographic references.

Contains 210 brief articles written by experts in the field of building technology, each with bibliographic references.

This encyclopedia shows the remarkable diversity of the buildings constructed and lived in by the people of over a thousand cultures.

Photographs, plans, cross and vertical section drawings, and descriptive captions provide a comparative study of architectural styles by looking at the architecture of different cultures from ancient Egyptian civilization to the present.

Originated in a series of six talks broadcast by the BBC in 1963. Outlines the classical "orders," their expansion and use since the Renaissance and the relationship between the classical tradition and modern architecture. Highly illustrated.

Defines terms associated with building types, architectural details, and styles.

Gives definitions or brief articles on terms, styles, and major architects. Worldwide coverage. Major entries contain brief bibliographies.

Nearly 25,000 definitions for terms found in the practice of architecture, construction, and associated fields, including terms found on drawings and specifications. Includes 2,500 illustrations.

Provides information about architects and defines terms related to architectural and landscape elements, materials, periods, styles, techniques, and building types. Includes line drawings and an extensive bibliography.

Emphasis on terms used in British architecture. Excellent illustrations.

Includes 4,000 entries plus illustrations. Contains several useful appendices covering abbreviations, conversion tables, and basic technical data for building, framing, lumber, plywood, hardware, electrical and plumbing.

Information clustered around basic aspects of architecture allows for browsing illustrations while scanning for terms. Includes architectural design, history, and technology.