Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Architecture: Design Research

This guide covers how to identify relevant and reliable sources for research, how to navigate online and in-person resources at the University of Maryland, and how to cite sources within a research product.

 

Other relevant databases include: 

Using Databases

Once you get into a database, take some time to explore the various search options, play with drop-down menus, and figure out what features will be useful to you.

To refine your search, some helpful limiters include: 

  • Academic "scholarly" journals
  • Publication date
  • Language
  • Subject Thesaurus Term

Databases do not rank search results by popularity, so try different keyword combinations. To search using multiple keywords, use Boolean operators:

  • AND (searches for both terms)
  • OR (searches for either word)
  • AND NOT (excludes the following word from search)
  • "....." (searches for words within the quotes as a phrase)
  • * (in the place of a suffix, searches for all possible word endings)

From many databases, you can export your chosen results list directly to a bibliographic citation manager; if not, you can e-mail it to yourself. Citation managers can also help you format your citations into the right style for a bibliography and insert them into your paper as you compose. Be careful using "Cite" buttons that generate automatic citations. These are not always correct! 

Some additional University of Maryland guides include: