Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

JOUR175 - Media Literacy

Resources to assist students completing the research paper in JOUR175.

Locating Other Full-Text Newspapers in Print or Microfilm

Another way to locate historic newspapers is to see if the UM Libraries own a print or microfilm subscription. Follow the steps below to search for a newspaper title in WorldCat UM:

Off-Campus Access to Library Resources

Most databases, reference works, and e-journals are restricted to current students, faculty, and staff at the University of Maryland.

In order to access databases and online journals remotely, use Database Finder. When prompted to select a campus, select the option for University of Maryland, College Park and then "Students, Faculty, and Staff". Then log in with your Directory ID, the same username you use for email and other campus services.

America's Historical Newspapers (Readex)

Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)

Historical Newspapers (ProQuest) provides searchable full-text of 24 major papers from the late 1800's to the mid-1900's. The New York Times and Historical Black Newspapers are searched separately using the links below. Individual links to The Washington Post and Wall Street Journal, which are included within the Historical Newspapers database, also appear below.

Newspaper ARCHIVE

Evening Star (D.C.) (Readex)

Considered the newspaper of record for the nation’s capital. Published under such titles as Washington Star-News and The Washington Star, this long-running daily afternoon paper was one of the highest profile publications in the nation.