Research Guides: LASC 458: Capstone Course in Latin American Studies: Announcing New Library Resources to Support UMD

Introduction

Thanks in part to our membership in BTAA, and with additional support from the Libraries and University administrations, we are happy to announce that we now have access to several new resources. All of these one-time purchases directly support the University of Maryland’s curriculum, and all have been requested by faculty to use in their teaching and research.

Below is a document containing all of the new library resources, along with some of the best resources for LASC 458 highlighted in the box below.

New Resources

PsycARTICLES
PsycArticles provides access to 119 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and affiliated journals, regarding social and behavioral sciences, including their flagship publication, American Psychologist. It includes access to current cutting-edge research from preeminent scholars, as well as historical underpinnings of the behavioral and social sciences.
Trends and Policy: U.S. Immigration
Primary sources including legislation, executive orders, Congressional Research Service reports, hearings, Government Accountability Office reports, data from the annual reports and the Statistical Yearbook of the Immigration and Naturalization Service, newspaper articles, and press releases. Resources are organized by topic, with a brief summary of how the issue has developed over time and a timeline showing important events.
History Vault: Immigration: Records of the INS, 1880-1930
Covers the investigations made by the Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) during the immigration wave of 1880-1930. The files cover Asian immigration, especially Japanese and Chinese migration, to California, Hawaii, and other states; Mexican immigration to the U.S. from 1906-1930, and European immigration. Also includes files on the INS’s regulation of prostitution and white slavery and on suppression of radical aliens.
Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996
Primary source documents derived from reports gathered between the early 1940s and 1996 by a U.S. government organization that became part of the CIA, including translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals and government documents. Provides local perspectives and global insight on immigration in the mid-to-late 20th century. Covers issues such as ethnic friction and xenophobia, religious movements, border issues, the treatment of refugees and more.
World Protest and Reform Movements: Global Perspectives 1945-1996
Primary source material offering insight into the protests and reforms that changed the course of world history. Coverage drawn from television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, newspapers, and government documents translated into English by a U.S. government organization that became part of the CIA. Covers influential protest and reform movements spanning decades as well as protests covering environmental movements, demands for nutrition and sanitation standards, strikes for workplace safety, demonstrations against nuclear war, and dozens of others that proved that social movements can shape international opinion as effectively as politics or government policy.