It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Doing research off-campus? Try out the UMD Libraries reload button! Add the button to your browser's bookmark toolbar (see instructions below), and whenever you come across a journal you think you should be able to access, click the button to reload the page through the UMD Libraries proxy.
Drag the button to the bookmarks toolbar or right click and select the "Bookmark This Link" option.
Chrome or Safari:
Drag the button to the bookmarks toolbar. If the bookmarks toolbar isn't visible, press Ctrl + Shift + B (in Chrome).
Right click the button and choose the "Add to favorites..." option. You may get a warning about adding unsafe links. While it's good practice to be wary, we believe this link is safe.
*Note: Reloading the page through the proxy still won't give you access if it's a resource we don't subscribe to. To verify access, look up the journal in journal finder.
Finding the Full-text of your Articles
When you find an article in any of the Libraries' databases for which there is no PDF or full-text link, click on the "Find@UMD" button to locate an electronic copy. You can also use "Find@UMD" to request items not owned by the UMD Libraries through interlibrary loan.
Be aware that the "Find@UMD" links mainly to electronic resources. Print books and some print journals cannot be identified through "Find@UMD". Use the link to identify print books, book chapters, and journal articles that are held in the UMD Libraries. The "Find in WorldcatUMD" link will help you locate a record for these items in Worldcat, along with the library location and call number.
Multi-disciplinary database providing information for nearly every area of academic study. Includes an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, as well as additional journals, magazines, newspapers and books. Multidisciplinary subjects including: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medicine, ethnic studies. 1965- present.
EconLit is a reliable source of citations and abstracts to economic research in over 400 books, journals, dissertations, and working papers. Provides comprehensive information on accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics. 1969 - present.
Do not attempt to search on authors by truncating the first name. Last, F? will often result in zero hits. Try searching on Last or Last, First ISSNs and ISBNs are not searchable in this database.
Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print archives, and university institutional repositories.
HINT: Search for an important book or article about your research topic in Google Scholar and use the "Cited by" and "Related articles" to locate additional related sources.
HINT: See directions below for setting "Library Links" to the University of Maryland.
Collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Full text database of a selected number of mostly peer reviewed Latin American journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Coverage is from 1993 to the present and articles are published in English, Portuguese or Spanish.
CUSTOMIZE GOOGLE SCHOLAR:
Go to Settings In the Library Links tab, search for University of Maryland Libraries and put a check mark in the University of Maryland Find@UMD button. Click Save button at the bottom right of the page. Now when you find an article in Google Scholar use the Find@UMD link to retrieve the full-text of the article