Selected Sources of Information - JOUR282 - Beyond Facebook: How Social Media are Transforming Society, Business, Culture and Politics - Research Guides at University of Maryland Libraries

WorldCat UMD - Books and Other Library Materials

The following are some of the types of materials you can locate using WorldCat UMD:

Articles
Journal titles
DVDs
Government Documents
Historical Manuscripts
Print Books
E-Books
Sound Recordings
Dissertations
Music Scores
Internet Resources

For best results: use the Advanced Search link from the front of the WorldCat UMD home page.

Other Resources of Note

The following resources may also be useful for locating background information:

Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print archives, and university institutional repositories.
Mintel Consumer Intelligence Reports
To download reports, authorized users are required to create a personal account. Mintel provides full-text reports on a wide range of market research studies, analyzing market sizes and trends, market segmentation, consumer attitudes and purchasing habits, opportunities, weaknesses and the future of the market. The reports cover the United States and feature such industries as: food service, food, drink, pursuits/hobbies, travel, clothing/fashion, health/medical, beauty/personal, household, services, publishing, automotive, and e-commerce. 1994-present.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Full text database covering social issues with topic overviews and pro/con viewpoints. Sources include news, journal articles, magazines, media, maps, websites and statistics.
PAIS Index
Covers public policy issues. For best results, search using Advanced Search and use the Find@UMD links on the results screen to locate materials in full-text or print.

Off-Campus Access to Library Resources

Most databases, reference works, and e-journals are restricted to current students, faculty, and staff at the University of Maryland.

In order to access databases and online journals remotely, use Database Finder. When prompted to select a campus, select the option for University of Maryland, College Park and then "Students, Faculty, and Staff". Then log in with your Directory ID, the same username you use for email and other campus services.

Sources for Media Research/Impact of Social Media

Try the following resources for background information from articles in scholarly, popular and trade publications:

Academic Search Ultimate
Multi-disciplinary database providing information for nearly every area of academic study. Includes an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, as well as additional journals, magazines, newspapers and books. Multidisciplinary subjects including: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medicine, ethnic studies. 1965- present.
America: History & Life with Full-Text
Core American history database now includes unique full-text coverage of nearly 200 journals and 100 books. Information on articles, books, book reviews, and dissertations on U.S. and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Covers more than 2000 international worldwide. All aspects of historical research. Time span: 1964-present.
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete is an upgraded version of Business Source Premier and replaces ABI/Inform. It is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Covers journals and trade publications in journalism, communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields.
EconLit
EconLit is a reliable source of citations and abstracts to economic research in over 400 books, journals, dissertations, and working papers. Provides comprehensive information on accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics. 1969 - present.
Tip: Do not attempt to search on authors by truncating the first name. Last, F? will often result in zero hits. Try searching on Last or Last, First ISSNs and ISBNs are not searchable in this database.
Education Source
Around 1,800 journals (full-text) and over 550 books and monographs in the field of Education. Access to conference papers and indexing and abstracts from thousands of journals. Book reviews and article citations (roughly 5 million).
MEDLINE
Provides abstracts and indexing using Medical Subject Headings (MESH) for about 4,600 biomedical journals published in the U.S. and 70 foreign countries. Created by the United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals. Users can effectively search and retrieve information with Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). Covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychiatry, pre-clinical sciences, medical education and health care planning and administration of services. 1966- present.
Do not attempt to search on authors by truncating the first name. Last, F? will often result in zero hits. Try searching on Last or Last, First
There are no ISBNs in this database.
SocIndex with Full Text
The index features more than 1,300,000 records with subject headings from a 15,600 term sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. This product also contains informative abstracts for more than 620 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 500 "priority" coverage journals as well as over 1,390 "selective" coverage journals. Further, extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is included. Contains full text for 242 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 72 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for 547 books and monographs, and full text for 6,711 conference papers.
PsycINFO
Provides access to research exploring the psychological impact of technology and social media.

News Sources (Current)

To locate articles appearing in print and other forms of news media, try the following:

Factiva
WARNING: Data mining and excessive downloading are prohibited and such activities cause the suspension of this service. NOTE: Use of Factiva requires login with University ID and is restricted to only current UMCP staff and students. Factiva recommends using Internet Explorer 5.01 or higher. Full-text access to over 8,000 business sources including the Wall
Street Journal and many other national and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, websites, and industry (trade) sources. Covers business news articles in a wide range of topic areas: companies, industries, markets, products, brands, and general financial articles.
Law Street
News and analysis about all aspects of law and policy in the United States and the world. Includes an Issues section that provides in -depth analysis and pro-con positions on at least eighty important issues of the day. Coverage begins November, 2013. All Law Street content is original and curated by a team of fulltime editors in Washington, D.C. Law Street describes itself as "being by and for Millennials and the issues they care about".
Nexis Uni
Full-text news reporting from 1980-present from major national and international sources. Note: Articles do not contain charts, tables or graphs. NOTE: Does not contain the Wall Street Journal.
National Newspapers Core
Full text articles from the Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, The New York Times, The Sun (Baltimore), and The Washington Post.

State and Federal Government Information

The following resources can be used to locate information on state and Federal laws, regulations, issues and publications:

Congress.gov
Provides the full text of the United States Congress legislation; Congressional Record, committee information, and historical documents. Congress.gov replaced the previously active Thomas.gov.

Congressional Publications
Congressional publications and documents from 1789-present. Includes CRS (Congressional Research Service) Reports from 1916-present. Use the Advanced Search screen to select from a variety of Congressional publications.

Selected Websites of Note

Pew Research - Social Networking
Research on social networking from Pew Research.
Research at Google
Published research papers from staff at Google on a variety of technology-related topics.
Research and Resources on Social Network Analysis (Stanford)
Research and resources from the Social Network Analysis Group at Stanford University.
Social Media Best Practices
From the GSA's Office of Citizen Services and Innovative Technologies.