Historical News Sources - JOUR447 - Special Topics in Journalism: Sports, Protest and the Media - Research Guides at University of Maryland Libraries

America's Historical Newspapers (Readex)

Full-text of 710 Early American Newspapers covering 1690-1922, as well as African American Newspapers covering 1827-1998.

America's Historical Newspapers
Digitized and fully searchable collections of early American newspapers. Includes five databases, Early American Newspapers Series 1 - 3 and African American Newspapers which can be searched together or separately, as well as select Maryland newspapers including the Maryland Gazette (1728-1832) and Baltimore American (1861-1870, 1903-1922). Early American Newspapers includes more than 1,000 U.S. newspapers published between 1690 and 1922. African American Newspaper includes more than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.

Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)

Historical Newspapers (ProQuest) - first link below - provides searchable full-text of 24 major papers from the late 1800's to the mid-1900's.

The New York Times and Historical Black Newspapers are searched separately using the links below.

Individual links to The Washington Post and Wall Street Journal, which are included within the Historical Newspapers database, also appear below.

Historical newspapers
Searchable full-text of the Los Angeles Times (1881-1986); Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945); Chicago Tribune (1849-1986); Chicago Defender (1909-1975); Boston Globe (1872-1979); Christian Science Monitor (1908-2001); Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991); Detroit Free Press (1831-1922); St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-1922); Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005); Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002); San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922); New York Tribune (1841-1922); New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993); Hartford Courant (1764-1984); Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003); Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988); Baltimore Sun (1837-1989); San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922); Wall Street Journal (1889-1997); Washington Post (1877-1998)
Historical Black Newspapers
Once in ProQuest click on Databases link at top; click on Select all to de-select the entire list of databases; scroll down to ProQquest Historical Newspapers and select the titles of interest; return to top and click on Use selected databases.

Online full-text of: Chicago Defender (1909-1975); New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002); Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005); Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991); Norfolk Journal & Guide (1921-2003); Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001).
Baltimore Sun, the (1837-1994) (Historical Newspapers)
NOTE: The Baltimore Sun is included within the ProQuest Historical Newspapers database, OR can be searched separately using this link.
New York Times (1851-2016 )
NOTE: The New York Times Historical is NOT included in the ProQuest Historical Newspapers set and MUST be searched separately using this link.
Wall Street Journal (1889-2002 ) (Historical Newspapers)
NOTE: The Wall Street Journal is included within the ProQuest Historical Newspapers database, OR can be searched separately using this link.
Washington Post (1877-2003) (Historical Newspapers)
NOTE: The Washington Post is included within ProQuest Historical Newspapers, OR can be searched separately using this link.
There are no ISBNs in this resource. Subjects are searchable, but do not appear in the records.

Locating Other Full-Text Newspapers in Print or Microfilm

Another way to locate historic newspapers is to see if the UM Libraries own a print or microfilm subscription. Search for a newspaper by title in WorldCat UMD: