Other Sources of Information - JOUR150 - Introduction to Mass Communication - Research Guides at University of Maryland Libraries

What if there is no full text?

Don't panic! Here is the best option for locating materials not available in full text:

Click the "Find It" button (gold or red) to locate items!
This link gives step-by-step instructions on using FindIt to locate items in the Libraries in either print or electronic format.

To locate articles appearing in print and other forms of news media, try the following:

Ethnic NewsWatch
Full-text bilingual (English/Spanish) database of 200 publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. 1990 to the present. Multidisciplinary - news, culture, and history.
Factiva
Full-text news focusing primarily on business issues. Includes the Wall Street Journal. WARNING: Data mining and excessive downloading are prohibited and such activities cause the suspension of this service.
Nexis Uni
Full-text news reporting from 1980-present from major national and international sources. Note: Articles do not contain charts, tables or graphs. Does not contain the Wall Street Journal.
National Newspapers Core
Full text articles from the Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, The New York Times, The Sun (Baltimore), and The Washington Post. Covers national, international and local news. The NYT provides text of important speeches and documents; WSJ reports on international finance; and WP offers strong political reporting, editorials and columnists.

The following resources may also be useful for locating background information:

CQ Researcher
A weekly publication providing original in-depth analysis of the most current major and controversial issues of the day. Coverage: 1991 - present.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print archives, and university institutional repositories.
Mintel Consumer Intelligence Reports
To download reports, authorized users are required to create a personal account. Mintel provides full-text reports on a wide range of market research studies, analyzing market sizes and trends, market segmentation, consumer attitudes and purchasing habits, opportunities, weaknesses and the future of the market. The reports cover the United States and feature such industries as: food service, food, drink, pursuits/hobbies, travel, clothing/fashion, health/medical, beauty/personal, household, services, publishing, automotive, and e-commerce. 1994-present.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Fulltext database covering social issues with topic overviews and pro/con viewpoints. Sources include news, journal articles, magazines, media, maps, websites and statistics.

Selected noteworthy Websites for Journalism and Journalism history:

American Journalism Review (AJR)
Website of AJR, published by the Merrill College of Journalism at UMD until 2015. Note: Copies of print articles from AJR are also available in Communication and Mass Media Complete.
Breaking News Media Factbook - From OnTheMedia
Guide to analyzing breaking news, designed for consumers.
Columbia Journalism Review (CJR)
Bi-monthly publication of the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism. Includes links to a Resources Guide (who owns whom). Note: Copies of print articles from CJR are also available in Communication and Mass Media Complete.
Journalism.Org
The Pew Research Center's Project for Excellence in Journalism. A credible source of news media analysis, statistics and reports.
Media History Links - from the American Journalism Historians Association (AJHA)
Links to online resources for media history from the AJHA.
Nieman Journalism Lab
Current information site from the Nieman Foundation at Harvard. Includes Encyclo - the encyclopedia of the future of news" and links to Nieman Reports.
Poynter
Website of the Poynter Institute (St. Petersburg, FL) - covering issues of journalism ethics, management and credibility.
Resources for Researchers - from the American Journalism Historians Association (AJHA)
From the AJHA History in the Curriculum Committee. A list of online archival sources for journalism and media history - including news media archives and oral history resources.