https://www.reminetwork.com/articles/moving-towards-building-electrification/
To conduct a review and analysis of equitable incentive and financing programs for building electrification to inform CCAN’s efforts to promote building electrification policy in the 2024 Maryland General Assembly session. Building electrification will further efforts to achieve the goal set forth in the Climate Solutions Now Act, which became law in 2022, to reduce greenhouse gases by 60% by 2031 and to become net-zero by 2045 in Maryland.
Due to the high upfront costs of electrification of existing commercial and residential buildings, CCAN seeks to learn more about financing and incentive programs to support these programs, including in the recently passed Inflation Reduction Act. In particular, CCAN will use this research to prepare for the 2024 Maryland General Assembly session.
What equitable incentive programs exist to electrify existing homes, schools, and commercial buildings for Maryland?
Programs specific to heating?
Programs specific to cooking/stoves?
What financing programs exist to electrify existing homes, schools, and commercial buildings for Maryland?
Programs specific to heating?
Programs specific to cooking/stoves?
What other creative solutions may exist to promote reduction of greenhouse gases in buildings such as changes to ventilation?
What financing programs from the Inflation Reduction Act can Maryland take advantage of to fuel this transition?
The sources listed below are from your assignment page.
First off:
It is so important to follow up on references you find in relevant documents. And for journal articles, in addition to using the references, be sure to look forward and go to google scholar to see who has cited the article. See the tab: Citation Chasing.
Using Citation Chasing is such a great way to build your bibliography!
The reports listed on the Assignment Resources have links throughout the reports as well as a list of references. And those references in many cases have direct links.
There are many databases you can use to find scholarly journal articles and other types of documents.
Some of the databases are part of Ebsco, others are individual ones.
For the Ebsco databases, to remove duplicate titles, search the Ebsco databases together. See the tab: Searching Multiple Databases for instructions on how to search multiple databases.
Suggested Ebsco Databases:
Academic Search Ultimate
Business Source Complete
eBook Collection (there are several you can add)
EconLit
GreenFile
Military and Government Collection
Regional Business News
Other Databases:
Web of Science
PAIS - especially for policy
World Scientific eBooks (also has journal articles and book chapters)
Congressional Publications (topic pages, CRS reports, Hearings, House and Senate Reports...)
Greenwire
There are several search strategies you can use. Here are some:
electrif*
and
building* or home*
(the * is for truncation so electrif* = electrify or electrification; building* = building or buildings; home* = home or homes)
**Using that above search strategy in the Ebsco databases and limiting results to peer-reviewed articles, retrieves the following article which, if I were you I would look at asap because it is a literature review published this year!
Less, B. D., Casquero-Modrego, N., & Walker, I. S. (2022). Home Energy Upgrades as a Pathway to Home Decarbonization in the US: A Literature Review. Energies (19961073), 15(15), 5590
To get the full text either google the article title and use the Reload Button or use this shortened url https://ter.ps/zso that will bring you to the article in the database.
then add any other words such as:
policy or policies
incentive*
program*
Additional search strategies:
electrif*
and
program or intervention
---------
"greenhouse gas*" (the quotes will search for the phrase)
and
building* or home*
and
reduction or decrease or lowering or prevention or mitigation
---
Take keywords from your assignment page and the Questions to Answer.
Multi-disciplinary database providing information for nearly every area of academic study. Includes an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, as well as additional journals, magazines, newspapers and books. Multidisciplinary subjects including: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medicine, ethnic studies. 1965- present.
google using the document type limits: site:gov; site:org
site:.gov (documents produced/authored by the government at all levels (federal,state,local) and government-sponsored research)
site:org (organizations/associations / think tanks...)
Especially useful for information at the state level
electrif* building* site:gov
electrif* building* maryland site:gov
electrif* building* site:org
Using those search strategies, some results:
