Skip to Main Content
University of Maryland Libraries Logo
RESEARCH GUIDES

ENSP 400: Capstone in Environmental Science and Policy

Research guide for ENSP 400: Capstone in Environmental Science and Policy

Protected Species & Justice

To conduct a review and analysis of how environmental justice concerns can be incorporated into programs that implement protection for listed species by examining potential impacts associated with a biological control program for saltcedar. To provide recommendations for USDA-APHIS analysis of potential environmental justice issues, and develop a case-study for educational purposes based on the EJ-IWG “Promising Practices” document.

---------- 

Please be sure to follow-up with references from the journal articles, books, book chapters and reports. This is one of the best ways to locate additional information.
Please see the tab labeled Citation Chasing for details.

Southwestern Willow Fly Catcher                                                            

https://www.fws.gov/southwest/es/arizona/documents/speciesdocs/swwf/econ_ana/draft_ea.pdf

 https://shepherdexpress.com/news/features/environmental-justice-advocacy-growing-in-milwaukee/#/questions

There are several Ebsco databases you can search together to eliminate duplicate documents.
Academic Search Ultimate
Greenfile
Business Source Complete
EconLit
SocIndex
Get into one database such as Academic Source Ultimate, once in, click on - Choose Databases - and add the others.
ebscohost choose databases

Possible Search Strategies:

1. "protected species" or "endangered species" or habitat*
and
"environmental justice" or "environmental injustice"

2. "protected species" or "endangered species"
and
"biological control"

3. add any other keywords such as:
Saltcedar
Tamarisk leaf beetle
Southwestern willow flycatcher

quotes around a phase = the whole phrase will be searched together and not the words individually
* = truncation = variations of the word so habitat* = habitat or habitats

For additional information on searching, see the Search Strategies under Library Overview.

 

For law review articles, on the landing page:
1. click on Law Reviews
2. In the search box the best search strategies
("endangered species" or "protected species") /s ("environmental justice" or "environmental injustice")= the words have to be in the same sentence 
("endangered species" or "protected species") /p ("environmental justice" or "environmental injustice")= the words have to be in the same paragraph

For Cases, on the landing page:
1. click on Cases
2. 2. In the search box the best search strategies
("endangered species" or "protected species") /s ("environmental justice" or "environmental injustice") = the words have to be in the same sentence 
("endangered species" or "protected species") /p ("environmental justice" or "environmental injustice")= the words have to be in the same paragraph
 

Use any combination of keyword/s as noted in the other databases tab. But, since Nexis Uni is a fulltext database, use /s or /p instead of and.

There will be overlap with results from the Ebscohost databases, but since  this is the major science database, it is worth it to search.

Possible search strategies:
 1. "endangered species" or "protected species" 
and
"biological control"

2.  "protected species" or "endangered species" or habitat*
and
"environmental justice" or "environmental injustice"

3. saltcedar
and
"biological control"