Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Maryland City Directories

A guide to city directories for the state of Maryland.

Digitized Baltimore City Directories

Baltimore City Directories are available in microfilm, microfiche, or bound-book formats, and online.

See a complete list of all Baltimore directories


1800-1850                         1850-1890                        1900-1923


Digitized Baltimore City Directories - 1800-1850

Date

Description

Call Number

1816 ONLINE: The Baltimore Directory and Register for 1816. By Edward Matchett. Baltimore: Printed and sold at the Wanderer Office. M-Fiche F189.B1A125
and
MD Rare Book F189.B1A181
1822-23 ONLINE: The Baltimore Directory, for 1822 and 1823. Compiled by C. Keenan. Baltimore: Printed by Richard J. Matchett M-Fiche F189.B1A125
and
MD Rare Book F189.B1A181
1831 Matchett's Baltimore Directory (sic), corrected up to June 1831. Containing with or without a plan of the city. M-Fiche F189.B1A125
and
MD Rare Book F189.B1A183
1833-1834 ONLINE: Matchett's Baltimore Directory (sic), corrected up to May 1833. M-Fiche F189.B1A125
and
MD Rare Book F189.B1A183
1835-1836 ONLINE: Matchett's Baltimore Address Directory, corrected up to Sept. 1835. Also contains a historical sketch of Baltimore. M-Fiche F189.B1A125
and
MD Rare Book F189.B1A183
1837-1838 ONLINE: Matchett's Baltimore Directory (sic), corrected up to May 1837. For 1837 and 1838. M-Fiche F189.B1A125
and
MD Rare Book F189.B1A183
1842 ONLINE: Matchett's Baltimore Directory, or Register of Householders, corrected up to June 1842. M-Fiche F189.B1A125
and
MD Rare Book F189.B1A183
1842 ONLINE: Craig's Business Directory and Baltimore Almanac. M-Fiche F189.B1A125
and
MD Rare Book F189.B1A1835
1845 ONLINE: The Baltimore Directory, for 1845, The City Register. Baltimore: printed and published by John Murphy. M-Fiche F189.B1A125
and
MD Rare Book F189.B1A184
1849-1850 ONLINE: Matchett's Baltimore Directory(sic), for 1849 and 1850. Baltimore: Printed and published by Richard J. Matchett. M-Fiche F189.B1A125 Cards 1-8
and
MD Rare Book F189.B1A183

Digitized Baltimore City Directory - 1850-1900

Date

Description

Call Number

1851 ONLINE: Matchett's Baltimore Directory(sic), for 1851. Baltimore: Printed and published by Richard J. Matchett. M-Fiche F189.B1A125 Cards 1-6
and
MD Rare Books F189.B1A183
1860 ONLINE: Woods' Baltimore City Directory, containing a corrected engraved map of the city. Baltimore: Printed and published by John W. Woods. M-Fiche F189.B1A125 Cards 1-9
1863-1864 ONLINE: E.M. Cross & Co.'s Baltimore city business directory MD Rare F189.B1E3
1864 ONLINE: Woods' Baltimore City Directory MD Rare Book F189.B1A14
1865-66 ONLINE: Woods' Baltimore City Directory MD Rare Book F189.B1A14
1867-68 ONLINE: Woods' Baltimore City Directory MD Rare Book F189.B1A14
1868-1869 ONLINE: Woods’ Baltimore city directory Online Only
1870 ONLINE: Woods' Baltimore City Directory MD Rare Book F189.B1A14
1871 ONLINE: Woods' Baltimore City Directory MD Rare Book F189.B1A14
1872 ONLINE: Woods' Baltimore City Directory MD Rare Book F189.B1A14
1873 ONLINE: Woods' Baltimore City Directory MD Rare Books F189.B1A14
1874 ONLINE: Woods' Baltimore City Directory MD Rare Book F189.B1A14
1875 ONLINE: Woods' Baltimore City Directory MD Rare Book F189.B1A14
1876 ONLINE: Woods' Baltimore City Directory MD Rare Book F189.B1A14
1877 ONLINE: Woods' Baltimore City Directory MD Rare Book F189.B1A14
1878 ONLINE: Woods' Baltimore City Directory MD Rare Book F189.B1A14
1879 ONLINE: Woods' Baltimore City Directory MD Rare Book F189.B1A14
1880 ONLINE: Woods' Baltimore City Directory MD Rare Book F189.B1A14
1881 ONLINE: Woods' Baltimore City Directory M-Film F189.B1A14
and
MD Rare Book F189.B1A14
1882 ONLINE: Woods' Baltimore City Directory M-Film F189.B1A14
and
MD Rare Book F189.B1A14
1883 ONLINE: Woods’ Baltimore city directory M-Film F189.B1A14
and
MD Rare Book F189.B1A14
1884 ONLINE: Woods’ Baltimore city directory M-Film F189.B1A14
and
MD Rare Book F189.B1A14
1885 ONLINE: Woods’ Baltimore city directory M-Film F189.B1A14
and
MD Rare Book F189.B1A14
1886 ONLINE: Woods’ Baltimore city directory MD Rare Book F189.B1A14
and
M-Film F189.B1A14
1887 ONLINE: Baltimore merchants’ and manufacturers’ directory., 1 MD Rare Book F189.B1 W5
1888 ONLINE: R.L Polk & Co.'s Baltimore City Directory MD Rare Book F189.B1A18
and
M-Film F189.B1A18
1888 ONLINE: Rippey’s index map and business guide of Baltimore, Md. MD Rare Book F189.B1 R65 1888
1889 ONLINE: R.L Polk & Co.'s Baltimore City Directory MD Rare Book F189.B1A18
and
M-Film F189.B1A18
1889-1890 ONLINE: Blue Book MD Stacks F189.B1 B4
1890 ONLINE: R.L Polk & Co.'s Baltimore City Directory MD Rare Book F189.B1A18
and
M-Film F189.B1A18
1890-1891 ONLINE: R.L. Polk & Co.'s Baltimore City Business Directory; Containing the names of banks, insurance companies, railroads, newspapers, corporations, manufacturers, etc. MD Rare Book F189.B1A16
1891 ONLINE: R.L Polk & Co.'s Baltimore City Directory MD Rare Book F189.B1A18
and
MD M-Film F189.B1A18
1891 ONLINE: A Reciprocidade Commercial: Baltimore e Brazil MD Rare Book HF3403.B3 M4
1892 ONLINE: R.L Polk & Co.'s Baltimore City Directory MD Rare Book F189.B1A18
and
MD M-Film F189.B1A18
1892 ONLINE: Breed Publishing Co.’s directory of the Western Maryland railroad for the year 1892, from Baltimore to Williamsport MD Rare Book F187.F8 B7
1893-1894 ONLINE: R.L. Polk & Co.'s Baltimore City Business DirectoryMD Rare Book F189.B1A16 MD Rare F189.B1 A16
1895 ONLINE: Baltimore’s 400 business directory MD Rare Book F189.B1 W5

Digitized Baltimore City Directories - 1900-1950

Date

Description

Call Number

1901 ONLINE: R.L Polk & Co.'s Baltimore City Directory MD M-Film F189.B1A18
1903 ONLINE: R.L Polk & Co.'s Baltimore City Directory MD Folio F189.B1A18
and
MD M-Film F189.B1A18
1904 ONLINE: R.L. Polks & Co.'s Baltimore City Directory MD Folio F189.B1A18
and
M-Film F189.B1A18
1905 ONLINE: Baltimore City Directory for the Year Commencing MD Folio F189.B1A18
and
MD M-Film F189.B1A18
1905-1906 ONLINE: Polk's Baltimore City Business Directory MD Rare Book F189.B1A16
1906 ONLINE: Baltimore City Directory for the Year Commencing MD Folio F189.B1A18
and
MD M-Film F189.B1A18
1906 ONLINE: Blue Book MD Stacks F189.B1B4
1907 ONLINE: Baltimore City Directory for the Year Commencing MD Folio F189.B1A18
and
MD M-Film F189.B1A18
1908 ONLINE: Baltimore City Directory for the Year Commencing MD Folio F189.B1A18
and
MD M-Film F189.B1A18
1908 ONLINE: Blue Book MD Stacks F189.B1B4
1909 ONLINE: Baltimore City Directory for the Year Commencing MD Folio F189.B1A18
and
M-Film F189.B1A18
1910 ONLINE: Blue Book MD Stacks F189.B1B4
1912 ONLINE: Baltimore City Directory for the Year Commencing MD Folio F189.B1A18
and
M-Film F189.B1A18
1912 ONLINE: Blue Book MD Stacks F189.B1B4
1913 ONLINE: Baltimore City Directory for the Year Commencing MD Folio F189.B1A18 and M-Film F189.B1A18
1914 ONLINE: Baltimore City Directory for the Year Commencing MD Folio F189.B1A18
and
M-Film F189.B1A18
1915 ONLINE: Baltimore City Directory for the Year Commencing MD Folio F189.B1A18
and
M-Film F189.B1A18
1915 ONLINE: Blue Book MD Stacks F189.B1B4
1916 ONLINE: Blue Book MD Stacks F189.B1B4
1917 ONLINE: Baltimore City Directory for the Year Commencing MD Folio F189.B1A18
and
M-Film F189.B1A18
1918-1919 ONLINE: Baltimore City Directory for the Year Commencing MD Folio F189.B1A18
and
M-Film F189.B1A18
1920 ONLINE: Baltimore City Directory for the Year Commencing MD Folio F189.B1A18
and
M-Film F189.B1A18
1920 ONLINE: Blue Book MD Stacks F189.B1B4
1921 ONLINE: Baltimore City Directory for the Year Commencing MD Folio F189.B1A18
and
M-Film F189.B1A18
1921 ONLINE: Blue Book MD Stacks F189.B1B4
1922 ONLINE: Polk's Baltimore City Directory MD Folio F189.B1A18
and
M-Film F189.B1A18
1923 ONLINE: Polk's Baltimore City Directory MD Folio F189.B1A18
and
M-Film F189.B1A18