It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Since 1965, when the immigration law was liberalized, over 200,000 Asians have arrived annually in the United States, increasing their total number to 7.3 million. While focusing on the Asian-American population as a whole, this collection also devotes a number of chapters to the major ethnic groups within that population, including Chinese, Japanese, Filipino, Vietnamese, Indian and Korean.
Asian Americans adopts the unique approach of examining the issues, and often obstacles, specific to each group, such as occupational and economic adjustment, intermarriage and settlement patterns. Attention is also given to the impact of migration on traditional customs and values of the groups, as well as their collective impa
Offering a rich and insightful road map of Asian American history as it has evolved over more than 200 years, this book marks the first systematic attempt to take stock of this field of study. It examines, comments, and questions the changing assumptions and contexts underlying the experiences and contributions of an incredibly diverse population of Americans. Arriving and settling in this nation as early as the 1790s, with American-born generations stretching back more than a century, Asian Americans have become an integral part of the American experience; this cleverly organized book marks the trajectory of that journey, offering researchers invaluable information and interpretation.
Part 1 offers a synoptic narrative history, a chronology, and a set of periodizations that reflect different ways of constructing the Asian American past.
Part 2 presents lucid discussions of historical debates -- such as interpreting the anti-Chinese movement of the late 1800s and the underlying causes of Japanese American internment during World War II -- and such emerging themes as transnationalism and women and gender issues.
Part 3 contains a historiographical essay and a wide-ranging compilation of book, film, and electronic resources for further study of core themes and groups, including Chinese, Japanese, Filipino, Hmong, Indian, Korean, Vietnamese, and others.
Asian American Studies After Critical Massis a dynamic collection that showcases the most exciting scholarship in the field from a critical and cultural studies perspective. Comprised of ten original essays written by a group of scholars at the vanguard of the discipline, this collection takes on a range of topics and concerns, including Asian American film and popular culture; Asian Americans at the dawn of the twenty-first century; globalization and transnational citizenship; and queer Asian America. Addressing some of the most exciting issues and ideas in Asian American studies, this book strikes a bold new path for the field.
This book can be used in conjunction with the Blackwell Companion to Asian American Studies.
Asian immigrants to America and their descendants have confronted numerous negative forces -- fear, arrogance, prejudice, and chauvinism -- and contributed many more positive elements -- courage, pride, tolerance, determination -- throughout their history in this country. This collection of key documents presents the rich Asian American heritage through primary sources -- speeches, diary entries, editorials, advertisements, court opinions, legislation, songs, and poems -- along with expert, concise editorial commentary. It testifies not only to the rapid expansion of the field of Asian American studies in the last decade but also to the innovations in scholarship on Asian Americans in many fields, including western history, feminist studies, political science, anthropology, and military history.
Selections from the early twentieth century and before treat mostly Chinese and Japanese experience. For the period after 1965, when patterns of Asian immigration to American changed dramatically in the wake of the 1965 immigration act, a variety of documents tell the story of South and Southeast Asians' transplantation to a new culture, enabling readers to grapple with such issues as gender relations and sexuality, racial profiling and stereotyping, and diasporic connections to homeland cultures. Here are excerpts from the 1898 Supreme Court decision United States v. Wong Kim Ark, which guaranteed citizenship to all individuals born in the United States; accounts of the 1970 International Hotel struggle in San Francisco's Manilatown, when socially conscious academics united with community activists to preserve vital social services for San Francisco's Filipino population; and the 2000 Hmong Veterans Naturalization Act, which provided a temporary window for Laotian immigrants to enter the United States, part of the long legacy of America's war in Southeast Asia.
Broad in scope and vividly multivocal, The Columbia Documentary History of the Asian American Experiencepresents the fullest picture to date of the historical fortunes and lasting influences of Asian peoples in America.
The study of Asian immigration to the United States and Canada is a relatively new interest that emerged in the 1960s, a century after the major emigrations from China and Japan. Haseltine's directory is designed primarily to contribute to the study of Asian immigration, assimilation, and ethnic distinctiveness. The cultural groups Haseltine examines are Chinese, Japanese, Filipino, and Korean peoples, whose migration across the Pacific began in the mid- and late 1800s. In Chapter One, Haseltine lists objects, as well as photographic and historical records, maintained in museums and historical societies in the United States and Canada. Chapter Two lists sites bearing significance to the lives of Asian immigrants and reflects not only their settlement primarily in Hawaii, California, and British Columbia, but their diffusion and concentration in various cities and geographical areas. Chapter Three focuses on the ways artistic and material culture traditions are maintained in Asian festivals primarily on the West Coast of the United States and in Hawaii. This directory is an excellent resource for those interested in the immigration and culture of Asian-Americans and Asian-Canadians. The book is also an excellent resource for courses in Asian History in North America.
One can hardly understand American history without knowing the crucial role people of Asian ancestry have played in shaping our past, politics, and culture. Exploding myths and stereotypes, with more than fifty pages of new material, this absorbing and accessible reference answers such questions as:
" Where and when did the history of Chinese America begin? " What is Zen? " Why do Filipinos have Spanish names? " How did the U.S. get involved in Vietnam? " What is the difference between Hindu and Hindi? " And much, much more.
In a lively question-and-answer format, Everything You Need to Know About Asian-American Historyprovides a complete understanding of the traditions and ideas that people of Chinese, Japanese, Vietnamese, Korean, Indian, and Pacific Island descent have contributed to American life.
This collection, designed to be the primary anthology or textbook for courses in Asian American history, covers the subject s entire chronological span. The volume presents a carefully selected group of readings that requires students to evaluate primary sources, test the interpretations of distinguished historians, and draw their own conclusions.
Min provides a critical overview of Asian American identity issues among second generation ethnic Asians. From the social constructionist perspective, the book is an anthology of empirical studies of Asian Americans' ethnic or pan-ethnic identities, examining ethnic attachments among second-generation Filipino, Vietnamese, Indian, Korean Americans, Chinese and Japanese Americans.