Research Guides: Arabic Studies: Arabic Reference Sources

Arabic Reference Sources

Finding Background Information

Start your research by exploring the following resources:


UMD WorldCat & Catalog	Academic Search Complete

G oogle Scholar	UMD Libraries Databases

Looking for more advanced options?

If you are looking for works on a specific time period or genre, try using Advanced Search in the Catalog. Be sure the results are sorted by "Best Match" instead of "Library."

Tips for Organizing Your Research

Visit our Research Commons' Site for creative and practical suggestions.

A selection of the most useful reference sources - there are many more available in McKeldin Library. Not at Mckeldin? No worries! Many resources are also available through Interlibrary Loan.

Dictionary Al Kāfī double : English Arabic : Arabic English.
Call Number: McKeldin Library: PJ6640 .M86 2014

ISBN: 9789953544076

Publication Date: 2014

Dictionary Al Kafi Double English, Arabic & Arabic English More Than 40000 Words 2000 Drawings & Illustrations.
Lisān al-ʻArab by Muḥammad ibn Mukarram Ibn Manẓūr
Call Number: McKeldin Library: PJ6620 .I15 2011

Publication Date: 2011
Oxford Essential Arabic Dictionary by Oxford Dictionaries , Oxford Dictionaries
Call Number: McKeldin Stacks: PJ6640.O94 2010

The Oxford Essential Arabic Dictionary is a brand-new compact Arabic-English and English-Arabic dictionary that offers up-to-date coverage of all the essential day-to-day vocabulary, with over 16,000 words, phrases, and translations. This dictionary is easy to use and ideal for students,travel, and quick reference. Designed for both native English and Arabic speakers, the supplementary sections offer guidance on Arabic verbs and irregular verbs. Phonetic transcriptions are provided for each English entry, and phonetic respelling for irregular Arabic pronunciations. Arabic entries are also listed according toalphabetical order, not by root, in order to make word searches more user-friendly. Additional supplements give help with tricky areas, such as numerals and expressions of time. The Oxford Essential Arabic Dictionary is the ideal companion for anyone needing a reliable and portable Arabic-English and English-Arabic dictionary for study, work, or travel.
Lisan al-Arab by El-Ezabi, Y.A.
Call Number: McKeldin Stacks: PJ6640.E53 2008

"The most updated English-Arabic dictionary. More than 40,000 entries and examples. Contains appendices on common idioms, expressions, measurements, world currencies and geographic names."--Cover.
Arabic-English Thematic Lexicon by Daniel Newman
Call Number: McKeldin Stacks: PJ6640.N46 2007

Publication Date: 2007-09-25

The Arabic-English Thematic Lexicon is an invaluable resource for all learners of Arabic. It contains some 8,000 entries, arranged into themes, including flora and fauna, food and drink, the human body, health care, the family, housing, clothing, education, IT, sports, politics, economics and commerce, the law, media, language, geography, travel, religion, arts, science, and natural resources. Three appendices cover the names of Arab and selected non-Arab regions, countries and capitals, and international organizations. The entries in the Lexicon have been drawn from an extensive corpus of contemporary Standard Arabic vocabulary, based on authentic sources. In addition to verbs, nouns and adjectives, the Lexicon includes phrases and commonly used collocations, providing users with the necessary vocabulary in order to communicate effectively and confidently in both written and spoken standard Arabic. The Lexicon provides an indispensable complement to Arabic grammar instruction and also serves as a useful reference guide for all Arabic language users.
Arabic Practical Dictionary by Nicholas Awde; K. Smith
Call Number: McKeldin Stacks: PJ6640 .A934 2004

An essential resource for students of Arabic and English alike. This dictionary covers their needs with the most up-to-date entries in handy reference form. It includes more than 18,000 word-to-word entries in clear, easy-to-read format the Arabic is provided with Romanized transliterations and the English with phonetic transliterations.
al-Munjid fī al-lughah al-ʻArabīyah al-muʻāṣirah
Call Number: McKeldin Stacks: PJ6622 .M858 2001
Taj al-arus by Murtada al-Zabidi, Muhammad ibn Muhammad
Call Number: McKeldin Stacks: PJ6620.M87 1994

This 20-volume dictionary is arranged according to medieval tradition- in rhyming order, i.e. by root letters in reverse order.
Elias School Dictionary: Arabic-English & English-Arabic by Elias, Elias A.
Call Number: McKeldin Stacks: PJ6640.E6178 1992
A Learner's Arabic-English Dictionary by Steingass, Francis Joseph
Call Number: McKeldin Stacks: PJ6640.S8 1986
Supplement aux Dictionnaire Arabes by Dozy, Reinhart Pieter Anne
Call Number: McKeldin Stacks: PJ6636.F7D6 1967

A supplement to Lane, based on Dozy's Research. It is Arabic-French.
Dictionnaire Arab-Francais-Anglais (Langue Classique et Moderne) by Blachere, Regis
Call Number: McKeldin Library Folio: PJ6031.B4

3 Volumes

Encyclopedia of Arabic Literature by Julie Scott Meisami (Editor); Paul Starkey (Editor)
Call Number: McKeldin Stacks: PJ7510 .R76 2010

The Encyclopedia of Arabic Literature is an authoritative reference source on the most important authors, works, genres, key terms, concepts and issues in the Arabic literary tradition. The Encyclopedia covers the classical (pre-Islamic to 1258), transitional (1258-1798) and modern periods within a single work. In over 1300 separately-authored entries, many of the world's experts combine current research with traditional study to provide authoritative analysis and commentary on a wide range of areas. These include major authors, important works, and a variety of literary terms. Also covered are forms such as poetry, drama and newspaper writing and key critical concepts of Arabic literature.
Encyclopedia of Islam by Juan E. Campo
Call Number: McKeldin Stacks: DS35.53 .C36 2009

ISBN: 0816054541
Encyclopedia of Arabic language and linguistics by Lutz Edzard
Publication Date: 2009

Covers all aspects of the study of Arabic and deals with all levels of the language (pre-Classical Arabic, Classical Arabic, Modern Standard Arabic, Arabic vernaculars, mixed varieties of Arabic). It is interdisciplinary in scope, and supports study and research in the fields of linguistics, Islamic studies, Arabic literature and related fields.
The Literature of Islam by Rebecca Skreslet (Editor); Paula Youngman Skreslet (Editor)
Call Number: McKeldin Reference Stacks: Z7835.M6 S585 2006

This book introduces the literature of Islam as it is presented in English translation. For scholars in other fields who need to understand the vast and complex literary heritage of this erudite and vigorous faith community (but are unable to devote years of their lives to achieving a reading proficiency in classical Arabic), for faculty members called upon to teach introductory or survey courses outside their own disciplines, and for graduate students in theology, medieval studies, world religions, or related fields who need access to these primary sources in English translation, The Literature of Islam is a welcome resource. Even lay readers who are interested in understanding the modern Arab or Islamic world may grasp something of the currents of thought and belief through the centuries that produced these important works, which continue to exert a powerful influence upon Muslims today. The primary literatures of Islam are normally classified into several areas of study: the canonical literature, the interpretation of scripture and tradition, law, theology, philosophy, history, and mysticism. Entries here are organized into these areas of study and represent the most significant texts from important trends in the discipline. The volume also includes an extensive bibliography that lists the editions of primary sources analyzed in each chapter. There are also some suggestions for secondary reading, which might be helpful to a student seeking additional information about each genre of literature.
Encyclopaedia of the Qurʼān by Jane Dammen McAuliffe
Publication Date: 2005

Encyclopaedia of the Qurʼān is an encyclopaedic dictionary of qurʼānic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qurʼānic studies ... The online version includes ... the Qurʼān Concordance
Arabic Language Handbook by Mary Catherine Bateson
Call Number: McKeldin Stacks: PJ6095.B3 2003

The demand for information on learning Arabic has grown spectacularly as English-speaking people have come to realize how much there is yet to know about other parts of the world. It is fitting that this Arabic Language Handbook, complementing Georgetown University Press's exceptional Arabic language textbooks, is the first in a new series: Georgetown Classics in Arabic Language and Linguistics. Sparked by the new demand, this reprint of a genuinely "gold-standard" language volume provides a streamlined reference on the structure of the Arabic language and issues in Arabic linguistics, from dialectics to literature. Originally published in 1967, the essential information on the structure of the language remains accurate, and it continues to be the most concise reference summary for researchers, linguists, students, area specialists, and others interested in Arabic.
Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures (EWIC) by Joseph, Saud
Call Number: McKeldin Reference Stacks: HQ1170.E53 2003

Examines in-depth the role and conditions of Islamic women in history, law, family, politics, sexuality, among other topics, by subject and by geographic region.
The Arabic Novel : bibliography and critical introduction, 1865-1995 by Hamdi Sakkut
Call Number: McKeldin Stacks: PJ7577 .S25 2000

This essential and monumental new reference work gives full bibliographical information for the first time not only on every Arabic novel published between 1865 and 1995 but also on all critical works related to every novel. Volume 1 contains an introduction in Arabic and English that beginswith the origins of the Arabic novel, then reviews the novel in Egypt, in the eastern Arab countries, and in North Africa. Volumes 2 to 6 contain the bibliographical entries of the novels and their associated works of criticism, arranged alphabetically by novel, and indexed alphabetically,chronologically, by country, and by author.
Other title: Riwāyat al-ʻarabīyah
Text in English and Arabic
Modern Arabic Literature by M. M. Badawi (Editor)
Call Number: PJ7538 .M58 1992

This volume of the Cambridge History of Arabic Literature provides an authoritative, comprehensive critical survey of creative writing in Arabic from the mid-nineteenth century to the present day. With the spread of secular education, printing and journalism, a new reading public emerged. Against the background of the disintegration of the Ottoman Empire, the rise of nationalism, and the conflict between Islam and increasing Westernization, the traditional conception of literature as a display of verbal skill was replaced by the view that literature should reflect and indeed change social and political reality. A significant translation movement resulted in the borrowing of Western ideas and literary forms: the novel, the short story and drama. This book examines the attempts made by Arab men and women to adapt the new imported forms as well as the indigenous literary tradition to meet the requirements of the modern world. Quoted material is given in English translation, and there is an extensive bibliography.

Routledge Handbook of Religion and Politics
This handbook provides a global survey of the interaction between religion and politics.

For quick reference, use the EIU Newswire database. A handful of countries are linked below.

Country Background

Background Notes: From the U.S. Department of State facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, etc.
Coface: Country Risk and Economic Research: Presents country risk findings in three main sections: Country Risks, Sectors (contain ratings of industries), and Business Climate.
Country Studies: From the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress, covers 102 countries and regions. Country Profiles are also available. Information is not updated on a regular basis.
Country Commercial Guides: From the United States Commercial Service - U.S. Department of Commerce, comprehensive look at a country's commercial environments, using economic, political and market analysis. Select "Country Commercial Guides" in the "Report Type" field.
Enterprise Surveys: Provides the world's most comprehensive firm-level data in emerging markets and developing economies for over 120,000 countries. Data are used to create indicators to benchmark quality of the business and investment climate across countries.
One World – Nations Online: A portal to the countries of the world - each country listed contains a country profile with facts and figures, geography, flag, statistics, maps, images, plus links to sources that provide more information such as: official government web sites, newspapers, tourism, travel advice, etc.
CIA World Factbook: From the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA, provides overviews on most countries of the world.
Country Data (PRS): Economic, financial, political and social data for over 140 countries, in most cases back to 1984. Note: You must turn off your pop-up blocker or permit pop-ups from this site in order to retrieve data.
Everything International: Provides links to a wide variety of international business, education, and research web sites.
Global Development Finance: From the World Bank provides direct access to more than 200 debt and financial flows indicators for the 129 countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt to the World Bank Debtor Reporting System. These data begin in 1970.
Human Development Report: From the United Nations an annual "In depth analysis and policy recommendations on a specific and important aspect of international development", includes statistical factsheets on many of the world's countries.

Country Data

Global Development Finance: From the World Bank provides direct access to more than 200 debt and financial flows indicators for the 129 countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt to the World Bank Debtor Reporting System. These data begin in 1970.
GlobalEdge: From Michigan State University's Broad College of Business. Contains a wealth of information on all countries, in-depth analysis of selected industries, teaching resources, etc. Free access, but registration will provide additional information.
Human Development Report: From the United Nations an annual "In depth analysis and policy recommendations on a specific and important aspect of international development", includes statistical factsheets on many of the world's countries.
International Comparison Program: From the World Bank, provides a collection of comparative price data and detailed expenditure values of countries gross domestic Products (GDP), and purchasing power parities (PPPs) estimates of the world's economies.
International Financial Statistics: From the International Monetary Fund. Covers all aspects of international and domestic finance, includes full-text statistical data from 1996-present.
Joint External Debt Hub (JEDH): From the World Bank. Provides external debt data and selected foreign assets from international creditor/market and national debtor sources.
NationMaster.com: National statistics for just about any country in the world, presented in over 20 categories and 10 regions, including Asia and South East Asia.
OffStats – Official Statistics on the Web: Collection of "free statistics from official sources" from around the world. Can be searched by country, region and topic or Industry.
One World – Nations Online: A portal to the countries of the world - each country listed contains a country profile with facts and figures, geography, flag, statistics, maps, images, plus links to sources that provide more information such as: official government web sites, newspapers, tourism, travel advice, etc.
Quarterly External Debt Statistics (QEDS/SDDS/GDDS): Provides detailed external debt data that are published individually by countries that subscribe to the IMF's Special Data Dissemination Standard (SDDS) as well as GDDS participating countries that are in a position to produce the external debt data prescribed by the SDDS.

Country Research

Doing Business Database: Provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 183 economies and selected cities at the subnational and regional level.
Everything International: Provides links to a wide variety of international business, education, and research web sites.
Human Development Report: From the United Nations an annual "In depth analysis and policy recommendations on a specific and important aspect of international development", includes statistical factsheets on many of the world's countries.
Kwintessential Country Profiles: Guide to international etiquette, culture, customs and protocol.
Market Research Library: From the U.S. Commercial Service, provides market research reports searchable by Industry, region or country. Note: You must create a free account in order to access these reports.
Media Freedom: Freedom House - Nations in Transit - Country Reports: Comprehensive, comparative, and multidimensional study of reform in the former Communist states of Europe and Eurasia - tracking the reform record. [Note: Formerly called Freedom of the Press.]
NationMaster.com: National statistics for just about any country in the world, presented in over 20 categories and 10 regions, including Asia and South East Asia.
OffStats – Official Statistics on the Web: Collection of "free statistics from official sources" from around the world. Can be searched by country, region and topic or Industry.
One World – Nations Online: A portal to the countries of the world - each country listed contains a country profile with facts and figures, geography, flag, statistics, maps, images, plus links to sources that provide more information such as: official government web sites, newspapers, tourism, travel advice, etc.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History: Over 900 articles from leading scholars with extensive bibliographies. Covers all time periods of human history and includes strong coverage of individual countries, regions, industries and economic concepts.
Passport [Note: This resource requires a campus login for access.]: Provides comparative statistics for 205 countries on economic indicators, health, foreign trade, environment, lifestyle, industrial and agricultural output, communications, and more. Also includes market size data for over 300 consumer products and services.
World Business Culture: Contains country profile information on a range of topics of immediate commercial relevance to anybody working in a global organisation, or studying international trade. The information has been compiled by some of the world's leading experts on global business culture.
World Development Indicators: From World Bank Group provides direct access to more than 550 development indicators, with time series for 200 countries and 18 country groups from 1960, where data are available. Time covered from 1960 - present in a wide range of areas, including social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. Data export options in Excel or ASCII.
World Economic Outlook: From International Monetary Fund (IMF), time covered from 1993 to present. Coverage similar to World Development Indicators data, but more limited in scope and history, includes commodity price data and regional data that's not easily available in World Development Indicators.
World Investment Report: From United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) World Investment Report focuses every year on the latest trends in foreign direct investment (FDI) around the world, at the regional and country levels and emerging measures to improve its contribution to development.