The Bible, Literature and Literary Criticism

This ready reference contains a wealth of information on the people, places, and religious practices in Judaism from 450 B.C. to 600 B.C.

Six years in the making, this state-of-the-art dictionary offers the most up-to-date and comprehensive treatment of biblical subjects and scholarship. An essential reference for every serious reader of the Bible. B & W illustrations and line-art throughout.

Hailed in theTLSas "lively, original, and thought-provoking," this is the most authoritative, accessible, and up-to-date dictionary of its kind available. Containing over 2,000 A-Z entries, it provides clear and concise information about the important places, people, themes, and doctrines of the Bible. Entries new to this edition include Zionism, Old Testament and New Testament Theology, Hannukah, Luther, Calvin, Jesus in the Koran, and much more. This dictionary features a detailed bibliography, biographies of Bible scholars, a conversion table of measures, weights, and values, a chronology of important dates in Biblical history, and historical maps. In addition, entries on the books of the Bible have been grouped in alphabetical order and conveniently located in a tinted center section for quick reference. Recommended web links--accessed and kept up to date via theDictionary of the Biblecompanion website--provide valuable extra information. Lively and informative, this dictionary is essential for students and teachers of theology and religious education, and it is an absorbing reference work for all readers of the Bible.

Compiling the results from contemporary and exciting areas of research into one single importanvolume, this book stands ahead in its field in providing a comprehensive one-stop handbook reference of biblical interpretation. Examining a wide range of articles on many of the recognized interpreters including Augustine, Luther, and Calvin, up to the modern figures of Martin Hengel and T.W. Manson, Professor Porter expertly combines the study of biblical interpretation with the examination of the theological and philosophical preconceptions that have influenced it, and surveys the history of interpretation from different perspectives. Key Perspectives studied include: * The historical dimension: Addresses how interpretation has developed at various periods of time, from early Jewish exegesis to the historical-critical method. * The conceptual approach: Looks at the various schools of thought that have generated biblical interpretation, and compares and contrasts competing conceptualmodels of interpretation, * The personal perspective: Addresses the reality of biblical interpretation by individuals who have helped plot the course of theological development. With relevant bibliographies and a guide to further reading,The Dictionarywill be an extremely imoprtant reference held for many years, not only by libraries, but also by students, scholars, clergy, and teachers of this fascinating and high-profile subject.

"The Dictionary of Deities and Demons in the Bible is the single major work of reference on the gods, angels, demons, spirits and semi-divine heroes whose names occur in the biblical books.

Rev. ed. of: A dictionary of the English Bible and its origins. 2000.

itle on t.p. verso: Encyclopedic dictionary of the Bible

This new edition of the prize-winning Encyclopaedia of Judaism is nearly double in size to the original three-volume edition. It features 52 new entries and includes the two separately published supplementary volumes and bibliographic updates.This second edition offers an authoritative, comprehensive, and systematic presentation of the current state of scholarship on fundamental issues of Judaism, both past and present. While heavy emphasis is placed on the classical literature of Judaism and its history, this edition also includes principal entries on circumcision, genetic engineering, homosexuality, intermarriage in American Judaism, and other acutely contemporary issues.Articles are written in essay form, and many are illustrated for further emphasis. The elaborate index facilitates ready access to significant people, places, and other factual information. This invaluable reference work is written for an audience from all backgrounds, scholars and general readers alike.

This website contains the complete contents of the 12-volume Jewish Encyclopedia, which was originally published between 1901-1906. The Jewish Encyclopedia, which recently became part of the public domain, contains over 15,000 articles and illustrations. This online version contains the unedited contents of the original encyclopedia. A later edition is available at McKeldin Library Reference Stacks DS102.8 .J65 1925