Research Guides: AASP 202: Black Culture in the United States: eBooks

E-Books

Not sure how to download e-books to your device? Click the links below to learn how downloading works on these various devices. For more information on e-books at UMD, click here for eBooks downloading help.

Need help finding and using e-books at UMD? Check out this guide for more information! The links below will also help get you started using electronic resources at UMD.

ABC-CLIO Ebooks Online full-text reference books published by ABC-CLIO
Early American Imprints, Series I (1639-1800) This digital collection contains virtually every books, pamphlet and broadside published in America over a 160-year period. American History. Contains books, pamphlets, games, periodicals, etc. 17th and 18th Century
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker 1801-1819 Based on the noted American Bibliography, 1801-1819, provides a comprehensive set of American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the early part of the 19th century.
EBSCO eBook Academic Comprehensive Collection A multidisciplinary collection that includes over 200,000 e-books covering a large selection of academic subjects and features e-books from leading publishers and university presses.
EBSCO eBook Collection A collection of E-texts covering topics specifically chosen by Maryland Academic Libraries. Collection strengths include computer science, business, international relations, education, environmental science, psychology, and civil rights law and history.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online The Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Parts I and II) is a full-text searchable digital database of over 180,00 English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of works from the Americas. It includes a variety of materials, from books and directories, Bibles and sheet music to sermons and advertisements, Includes both well-known and lesser-known authors and canonical titles of the period as well as contemporary works that analyze and debate those same titles.
Cambridge Histories Online Cambridge Histories Online offers online accessibility to full text titles for any type of historical research or study of a subject that has a historical element. Includes all the latest editions of the print series with automatic updates.Coverage: complete set through 2024
Literature Online LION contains 500,000 primary literary texts spanning the eighth century to the present day. It also contains up-to-date, fully searchable criticism and reference resources. Contemporary criticism is available through the full text of over 425 literature journals. The literary index, the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL), is fully integrated and provides researchers one of the most important bibliographic sources for literature studies. Helpful companions and reference resources from key publishers such as Routledge, Oxford University Press, and Cambridge University Press help provide context to authors and works. Works of English and American literature, literary criticism and biographies. 8th century to the present. Only 25 simultaneous users allowed.
OECD iLibrary NOTE: Even though current access to the database ended on August 31, 2018, since we have perpetual access rights to OECD, there will be content available, covering 1998-2018. The online library of the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development. Comprises 20 book collections by theme, containing all OECD monographs and reports, most OECD periodicals, and the OECD statistical databases.
Open Research Library A comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed Open Access books and other types of scholarly content from a variety of sources. Content in the language originally published.
Oxford Handbooks: Political science Extremely useful reference source providing coverage of major topics in political science written by the world's leading scholars. Features include abstracts and keyword searching, reference linking from bibliographies, and footnotes to available online content. The Libraries have purchased the 2012-2022. Click on the unlocked availability option on the left hand side to access the available essays.
ProQuest Ebook Central Ebrary is a collection of thousands of online full text books and other materials in a variety of subject areas. In order to view, copy, or print you will need to install the ebrary Reader software. Links to download the reader are available from the main page after you connect. Truncation is not supported. Searches in ISSN, ISBN, and Year are done as Text searches. All searches report 'Hits were found' rather than the number of hits. Boolean NOT and OR searches are not supported.
Sage Reference Collection Online versions of published reference works from SAGE. A great place to begin your research.
Springer eBooks (2005-2011) Accurate reproductions of over 30,000 Springer print book publications, with search capabilities and bookmarks.
Women Writers Online Full text of women's writings in English or in English translation from 1400 to 1850. Includes novels, poems, drama, and non-fiction The Renaissance Women Online (RWO) database is a subset of this database.
Wright American Fiction 1851-1875 Full text of more than 2,800 novels published between 1851 and 1875.

EBSCO eClassics Collection Search and view the whole text of eBooks from a collection of classic literature.
Oxford Scholarship Online Oxford Scholarship Online offers access to thousands of academic works from the celebrated scholarly list of Oxford University Press. Titles available in this collection are from the 2019 front list in the areas of Classical Studies, History, Linguistics, Literature, and Music.

There are many free online collections of e-books, often featuring works in the public domain.

Bartleby.com Provides free access to classic texts as well as contemporary reference works.
Internet Archive "The Internet Archive is a 501(c)(3) non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format."
The Online Books Page More than 30,000 free books on the Web. (UPenn)
Project Gutenberg Provides free access to over 25,000 books in its catalog and links to affiliated projects.

HathiTrust Digital Library NOTE: Download of full book PDF files may require login with University ID. A shared, growing digital repository of millions of books and periodical volumes scanned from major research libraries, including those digitized by institutional effort and by both Google and the Internet Archive. Offers full-text searching and advanced bibliographic search capabilities (such as author, title, publisher, language, etc.), and full PDF downloading of works in the public domain. One feature includes the ability to select and place items from the database into a tailor made collection that may be kept private to the user or shared publicly with others. Items that are saved to collections can be searched independently of the rest of the repository, allowing users to perform focused searches on subsets of HathiTrust materials.