|Produced by a commercial enterprise, trying to sell something or funded by advertisers|
|From an educational institution (college, high school, museum)|
|Network of computers|
|A military site|
|Produced by the government|
|Produced by a nonprofit organization|
|etc.||A country-sponsored site|
|A web site from the state of Maryland
There are many statistics-focused databases that you can find through UMCP's Database Finder. The ones listed here are some of the most relevant to African American studies. More statistical databases can be found here.
A full list of video resource databases available through the UMD Libraries can be found here. Below is a list of some excellent starting points for your research:
Newspapers serve as important primary sources, providing opinions, summaries, and details regarding changes in daily life and civil rights for African Americans. Below you'll find a selection of current news outlets accessible through the UMD Libraries, as well as tools for comparing different opinions on important issues. For tips on finding even more newspapers through the NexisUni database, check out the tutorial below.
You can find UMD's full collection of contemporary newspapers here.
Historical newspapers also serve as important primary sources, providing opinions, summaries, and details regarding changes in social, legal, and cultural norms across long periods of time. UMD provides students with access to a number of newspaper archives. Below, you'll find a list of historical newspapers covering topics of interest in African American Studies.
Find all pre-1990 newspapers accessible through UMD's Database Finder right here. Also be aware of UMD's own Gateway to Digitized Maryland Newspapers. For tips on finding even more newspapers through the NexisUni database, check out the tutorial on the Contemporary Newspapers tab.
UMD Libraries provides access to a number of databases specifically intended for researching case law and other legal matters. A full list of legal databases can be found here, and below is a list of useful starting points.
In addition to using the databases listed above, you can narrow a Google Scholar search to include only law-related results by selecting the Case law option below the search box. You can further narrow your search to cases from specific courts, as shown in the video below:
There are many e-journals available to UMD students through the library's Journal Finder, which lets you both search for a specific journal or article, or else browse a list of all the titles UMD subscribes to. Here are a selection of good e-journals to start with in African American Studies:
American Legacy: Celebrating African-American History & Culture (log in through EBSCO here)
African American Review (log in through EBSCO here)
Journal of Black Studies (log in with UMCP as your institution here)
The Black Scholar (log in with UMCP as your institution here)